Request Booking

Villa Segreta, Etna, Sicily

Apartment with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and swimming pool in ETNA, Italy

From £365.75 per week

Request Booking

  • Apartment #75653
  • Sleeps: 6
  • Private pool
  • Car hire: recommended
  • Nearest beach: 6km
  • Nearest bar: 1km
  • Nearest restaurant: 1km
  • Nearest ski lift: 6km
  • Nearest supermarket: 1km
  • Catania Fontanarossa Airport: 32.5km
Overview

Lovely Villetta in Agriturismo, located Etna National park. Wonderful Mountain/Sea views. Centrally positioned for Taormina, Siracusa and sea. Private swimming pool with new caretakers for 2015

Overview

Set in the natural beauty of the National Parco di Etna, Villa Segreta is an ideal destination for your “secret” holiday. The accommodation is made up of a comfortable apartment in a 300 year old restored Sicilian Farmhouse and Vinery. Set on two floors with an open galleried bedroom upstairs, and a second bedroom and other facilities on the ground floor the holiday Villetta is ideally situated for holidays throughout the year.


Summer and Winter!
A beautiful shared swimming pool is available for use from May to September, and a cosy open fire available for those looking to use it as a base for skiing on Europe’s southernmost ski runs (usually from December to February ). If you come in December, you may have an opportunity to assist in making Olive oil, in October winemaking.


Grounds and location
The grounds are made up of approximately 15 acres of Olive groves, and vineyards with fig, sweet chestnut, cherry, peach, mulberry and apricot trees and lead directly on to some beautiful walks, good for serious ramblers and for those just fancying a stroll after dinner. In fact Villa Segreta is an ideal position to allow you to explore all of Mount Etna’s beautiful countryside and experience the untamed countryside. A walk in the spring surrounded by wild crocuses and a host of other flowers is a real delight.
If your intention is to visit the cultural heritage of Sicily, then you will be centrally located to visit Taormina, Siracusa and the so-far undiscovered gem that is Baroque Catania (with some fantastic restaurants!)

With new caretakers for 2015

There is a reasonable restaurant within walking distance and many more just a 5-10 minute drive.

There are two good double bedrooms and a cot is also available.

A gas BBQ is provided for guests (gas costs extra)

Reviews

25 verified reviews
Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities
23 out of 25 people recommend staying here
Stayed 02 Aug 2014 with Couple
Having read all the very positive reviews about Villa Segrata, my wife and I were very much looking forward to a relaxing week in the Sicilian countryside. We drove to the Villa and had no difficulty finding it from the directions provided. By chance, we arrived just as Benson, the caretaker, was returning to the property and opening the remote controlled gate. He seemed a little perplexed when I tried to drive in behind him and we soon established that he did not seem to know we were coming. We had an uncomfortable exchange in which he asked me to call the owner to confirm that we were expected. I tried this using the numbers provided but failed to get a response and so I sent an email. Benson then calmed down and told us that the property had been vacated earlier in the day but he had not cleaned it as he was not expecting guests. My wife and I decided to go out for a couple of hours and visit a supermarket and have a drink while the property was prepared. During this time I received a very apologetic call from the owner who assured me that Benson was aware that we were staying. It was a slightly awkward start to our week, but I must say that Benson was subsequently very polite and helpful. Having read all the reviews, and having met the owners son, I think that the property has probably suffered a bit from the owners no longer living there. It is a wonderful location and the facilities are very good, but there is some evidence of a lack of attention to detail and this needs to be addressed. As small examples, the inventory of equipment is no longer used properly and the glassware and crockery need replenishing. Around the excellent swimming pool, the tiling looks tired and the pool itself needed topping up which had we been staying longer would have been irritating. The dogs were great company, very friendly and good natured, but were quite noisy at night (in common with several others it seemed from nearby properties). Overall, we had a lovely week which was unfortunately slightly marred by our arrival and some relatively minor but nonetheless disappointing attention to detail issues.
Stayed 26 May 2014 with Family
We discovered that the end of May is not an ideal time to go to Etna as many recommended restaurants and excursions were closed/not available. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay in this charming apartment. Having got lost driving from Palermo we arrived an hour late at 9pm, but the caretaker, Benson, and the 3 dogs were there to greet us with smiles/barks and a very welcome bottle of Prosecco. We didn’t see Benson again (although we had his number for emergencies), so we just left the keys in the letter box when we left. That first evening, on Benson’s advice we walked down to the nearby restaurant but it turned out to be closed on a Monday so we had to get a takeaway pizza in Belpasso - the only place we found to be open. Tuesday evening we walked for 35 minutes (accompanied by the ever-present dogs) down to another recommended restaurant, only to find that that was closed too. We later discovered that the place to eat out is Nicolosi, a couple of miles away, which is more touristy with a variety of restaurants – we would recommend Antico Orto Dei Limoni. The apartment is joined to the house (which was unoccupied while we were there) but is a separate entity. It wasn’t perfectly maintained (eg none of the lamps in the living room worked and there were a few dead flies around) but the towels and bedding were perfectly clean and comfortable and the place itself was gorgeous and wonderfully peaceful. The kitchen had everything you would need if cooking, though we could have done with a washing line or tumble dryer to dry towels and trunks. The view of Etna is superb from the top window. Re facilities, parking is easy and safe. I should imagine the pool is lovely in summer, though at this time of year it was not pleasant. After half an hour of fishing out the bugs and debris with the net provided, my son and husband enjoyed a good couple of hours in it, but it was way too cold for me! The location of the villa is ideal for exploring Etna, but it is difficult to get anywhere else from there. Then again, driving anywhere in Sicily is a challenge!
Stayed 28 Apr 2014 with Family
Nice holiday home in a great location with view of the Etna volcano. The area is really quiet and a good starting point to explore eastern Sicily. Theres a huge private area around the house (garden, olive groves) which is excellent for kids to explore. The owner welcomed us at two in the morning after we got lost driving from the airport great service (whatever your satnav or description tells you, when leaving the airport first get onto the highway and only then drive towards Messina). There are three dogs and a horse roaming the area, the dogs are friendly, prefectly trained and OK with kids. You should definitely try baking your own pizzas in the traditional brick built pizza oven which is surrounded by a large outdoor kitchen and bar, we had great fun doing this and trying to get it right. The security camera on the terrace is a bit intimidating. While he was on business, the owner asked us to use the services of a caretaker but he was unavailable most of the time, unfortunately. Other than that: highly recommended.
Owner reply:

Thank you for your review. In reply to the mention of the security camera I would like to advise that the camera isn't activated when we have guests but is only ever activated when guests and owners are absent from the property for obvious security reasons. The care taker is there to welcome guests on their arrival to show them around the property, hand over keys and gate controllers and is there for any advice guests may need. Villa segreta is a self catering holiday rental not a B&B or a hotel so a concierge service isn't available. Contact numbers for the caretaker and the owners are given to guests should guests need to contact someone in emergencies or a problem has arisen with the property.

Stayed 04 Jun 2013
The house is set in a lovely area, good restaurants nearby, easy and quick access to Mt Etna. The man looking after the property for the owners was helpful and very pleasant. However there was no internet availability in the rental part of the place and the pool was too dirty to use. The poolside seating also had no cushions. The adverts should state that the house has three dogs roaming around, although friendly, they barked considerably during the night. Add to this a stubbon horse, also wandering around the property which might worry some would be rentees. Overall the place was adequate but no-where near as good as the other three places we stayed in this year in Sicily.
Owner reply:

Thank you for your review. We were saddened to hear your complaints regarding the pool being dirty, however during your stay we did have a volcanic eruption and the dust and ash was all over the patio area and obviously in the pool, the caretaker with the help of the pool robot were doing their best to clean out the volcanic ash but as you can appreciate this takes time. The dogs are normally kept inside the main family home of an evening but the caretaker had failed to do this for your stay which I apologise for, if you had mentioned to him your problem he could have sorted it out for you and kept them indoors of a night time.. Cushions for the patio furniture are kept inside the house to keep them clean during the eruption, if you had asked I am confident the caretaker would have put them out for your use and collected them in on an evening time.

Stayed 03 Jun 2012
We had a great stay at Villa Segreta. The location was excellent- rural yet within reasonable distances of the major sites to visit on the east coast of Sicily and of course Mt. Etna. Wonderful views from the garden. The hospitality of Maria, Jason and family was very welcoming and genuine and we enjoyed making pizzas in their their newly built pizza oven! They were also very helpful in providing recommendations for places to visit, shop etc. The Villa was comfortable and well equipped so although we enjoyed eating out, cooking at the Villa was a pleasure. We had a lovely time in Sicily, made all the more pleasant by our stay at Villa Segreta.
Stayed 19 Oct 2011
After a very long journey and an unexpected late arrival at the property, we were welcomed into a beautiful home for a week and couldnt have been happier with what we received. The log fire was lit and inviting and the proprietors had very kindly left us some supplies to get us through until the morning. The best thing about the property was the beautiful rural setting. We have travelled a lot and this is the first time we have actually been quite jealous of the life that somebody else has living abroad! We were on holiday with a toddler who was allowed to collect the eggs from the chickens, which she absolutely loved, and really get close to the animals. We enjoyed exploring the grounds, were called out to have a look when the volcano erupted (very cool) and were always made to feel like nothing was too much trouble. My husband even got invited on a camping trip up the volcano with the family! The only reservation that I did have was that the cot was on the gallery and was too heavy to move so with a slightly older and active child we did have some worries about her climbing out and falling down the stone steps. I would perhaps recommend to the owners to either move the cot to the downstairs bedroom or invest in a travel stair gate just for peace of mind but this really was a minor thing amongst a whole host of brilliant things about the place. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area - I have always vowed that I would never stay at the same place twice but I may have just changed my mind and go back for a visit soon.
Owner reply:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. A stair gate is a very good idea and will invest in one. However if you had asked we would have only been too happy to move the cot for you (I would have got Jason to do it !!!) We hope to welcome you back in the near future you were splendid guests.

1 - 6 of 25
3 other reviews
When I stayed in this gorgeous villa my family and I had a magnificent time. The view of Mt.Etna is spectacular.If you have the chance to go on the season that the olives come out, you will have a wonderful time and it will be a experience that you wont forget. I would definitely go there again. Im pretty sure that who ever goes their will be delighted by its enchanting views. Also the owners are really outgoing and nice. So I hope who ever goes there, will have a wonderful vacation! (:
Owner reply:

This review was sent to the owner 's email address and they have sent it to Villa renters who posted it on here.

We had the pleasure to stayed in this wonderful villa and share a unforgettable time with its lovely owners. Definitely we will return again. Ciao cari amici
Owner reply:

This review was sent to the owner's email and they sent it on to Villarenters who in turn posted it on their behalf on their website.

We arrived at the address and were surprised by the road side appearance of the property. Although it was positioned with a great view of the mountain from the road the villa doesnt look anything. However when we entered the gate and saw the pool and grounds we were not disappointed! It was great just like the photos on thw website. The pool and poolside has beautiful views of the mountain and (just about) the sea. The Villetta/Apartment is part of an old winery and farmhouse and has been restored in a cosy Sicilian cottage style (if there is such a thing). The bedrooms were a good size, but we probably could have done with 2 bathrooms for two couples rather than the just the one. We spent most of our time by the pool, although the owner pointed out some fantastic walks - the flowers were incredible. We took a trip to Taormina (45 minutes there but 1 hour back) and only went to the beach once. One thing I would recommend is talking to the owners (who live on-site) about restaurants. The quality is highly variable locally varying from excellent to dire. It was not the first time we had been to Sicily so we knew what to expect of the Island, although it was a lovely change to stay on the mountain -. peaceful! Would we go to Villa Segreta again? Yes
Owner reply:

Thanks for the lovely review. Since this was posted we have refurbished the side of the property roadside to the same high standard as the rest of the property as you can see from the photos on the advert. Electric gates to replace the manual ones are due to be installed in February 2011! Please note that we will probably have to ask for an extra €10 euro returnable deposit per controller.

This review was sent to the owner's directly who in turn sent it to Villarenters who poster it on their behalf

1 - 3 of 3

Location

Nearest beach: 6km
Nearest bar: 1km
Nearest restaurant: 1km
Nearest ski lift: 6km
Nearest supermarket: 1km
Catania Fontanarossa Airport: 32.5km
Taormina Harbour Airport: 65.3km
Taormina: 45km
Siracusa: 45km

Prices and availability

Last updated 01.06.2015

Unavailable
Your booking

Select travel dates

  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays See details
Arrival date range Minimum stay (nights)
1st July 2015 to 30th August 2016 2
1st September 2016 to 30th August 2017 2
1st September 2017 to 31st May 2018 2

Discounts

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st May to 30th May 30 Days 20%
1st January to 31st December 120 Days 5%
Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st May to 31st May 60 Days 20%

Extras

Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
final clean All year N/A £25.00 per booking

Paid with booking

Optional extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
cot inc linen All year N/A £10.00 per booking

Paid with booking

beach towels All year Occupancy: per person £5.00 per person per week

Paid with booking

High Chair All year N/A £10.00 per week

Paid with booking

basket of logs for log burner All year per basket

Paid locally

extra bedlinen for sofabed and set of towels All year N/A £30.00 per booking

Paid with booking

Pets (per animal) All year N/A £5.00 per week

Paid with booking

Gas bottle for central heating in winter months All year N/A £22.00 per week

Paid locally

Laundry service All year €5 per load inc wash,dry & ironed

Paid locally

Facilities

Property type:

Apartment

Sleeps:

6

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed

Additional beds:
1 double sofa bed located in Sitting room
1 cot
Dining area:
Seats 4
Living area:
Seats 4
Bathrooms:
1 bathroom, 1 Separate WC
Suitable for:
Children
Infants
Entertainment and IT:
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet
TV Languages in Local
Leisure:
Table tennis
Heating and air conditioning:
Central heating
Open fire
Household:
Clothes drier
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Fridge
Glassware
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Kettle
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine
Swimming pool:
Private: Dimensions 11m x 6m, Depth 1m to 2m,
Other:
Barbecue
Parking
Private garden
Extra information:
Beautiful views from garden and pool area and amongst the olive groves of Mount Etna. Guests have use of the owners washing machine or can indulge in the laundry service that we provide for a small charge your load of washing will be delivered back to you clean and pressed.
Sports and activities:
Boat Hire
Climbing
Fishing
Flying
Golf
Sailling
Scuba Diving
Sports Center
Tennis
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing
Sights and attractions:
Historic Site
Museum
Shopping
Theatre
Theme Park
Zoo
Cinema
Waterpark

Owner

About the owner
Owner score 1465
Calendar updated: 29 days ago
Last logged in: 3 days ago
Located in: Italy
Joined: July 2010