Request booking

Contact owner

Overview

Set in the natural beauty of the National Parco di Etna, Villa Segreta is an ideal destination for your “secret” holiday. The accommodation is made up of a comfortable apartment in a 300 year old restored Sicilian Farmhouse and Vinery. Set on two floors with an open galleried bedroom upstairs, and a second bedroom and other facilities on the ground floor the holiday Villetta is ideally situated for holidays throughout the year.


Summer and Winter!
A beautiful shared swimming pool is available for use from May to September, and a cosy open fire available for those looking to use it as a base for skiing on Europe’s southernmost ski runs (usually from December to February ). If you come in December, you may have an opportunity to assist in making Olive oil, in October winemaking.


Grounds and location
The grounds are made up of approximately 15 acres of Olive groves, and vineyards with fig, sweet chestnut, cherry, peach, mulberry and apricot trees and lead directly on to some beautiful walks, good for serious ramblers and for those just fancying a stroll after dinner. In fact Villa Segreta is an ideal position to allow you to explore all of Mount Etna’s beautiful countryside and experience the untamed countryside. A walk in the spring surrounded by wild crocuses and a host of other flowers is a real delight.
If your intention is to visit the cultural heritage of Sicily, then you will be centrally located to visit Taormina, Siracusa and the so-far undiscovered gem that is Baroque Catania (with some fantastic restaurants!)

There is a reasonable restaurant within walking distance and many more just a 5-10 minute drive.

There are two good double bedrooms and a cot is also available.

A gas BBQ is provided for guests (gas costs extra)

Summary:

Lovely Villetta in Agriturismo, located Etna National park. Wonderful Mountain/Sea views. Centrally positioned for Taormina, Siracusa and sea. Fantas

Facilities

Property type: Apartment

Room details

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms, sleeps 6

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed

Additional beds:
1 double sofa bed located in Sitting room, 1 cot
Seats:
Room for 4 in the dining area
Room for 4 in the living area
Bathrooms:
1 bathroom, 1 Separate WC

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet
TV Languages in Local
Leisure:
Table tennis
Heating and air con:
Central heating
Open fire
Household:
Clothes drier
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Fridge
Glassware
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Kettle
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Swimming pool:
Private: Dimensions 11m x 6m, Depth 1m to 2m,
Other:
Barbecue
Parking
Private garden

Suitability

Suitable for
Children
Infants

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Climbing
Fishing
Flying
Golf
Sailling
Scuba Diving
Sports Center
Tennis
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Historic Site
Museum
Shopping
Theatre
Theme Park
Zoo
Cinema
Waterpark

Prices and availability

Last updated 26.03.2015


...Unavailable
...Your booking
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £752.40 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
  • From £365.75 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Minimum stay (nights)
4th January 2015 to 31st March 2018 2

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Discounts

Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 120 Days 5%

Extras

Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
final clean All year N/A £25.00 per booking

Paid with booking

Optional extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
cot inc linen All year N/A £10.00 per booking

Paid with booking

beach towels All year Occupancy: per person £5.00 per person per week

Paid with booking

High Chair All year N/A £10.00 per week

Paid with booking

basket of logs for log burner All year per basket

Paid locally

extra bedlinen for sofabed and set of towels All year N/A £30.00 per booking

Paid with booking

Pets (per animal) All year N/A £5.00 per week

Paid with booking

Gas bottle for central heating in winter months All year N/A £22.00 per week

Paid locally

Laundry service All year €5 per load inc wash,dry & ironed

Paid locally

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest beach: 6km
  • Nearest bar: 1km
  • Nearest restaurant: 1km
  • Nearest ski lift: 6km
  • Nearest supermarket: 1km
  • Taormina Harbour Airport: 65.3km
  • Taormina: 45km
  • Siracusa: 45km

Reviews

25 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities
23 out of 25 people recommend staying here
Verified
Stayed Saturday 02 August 2014 with Couple
Having read all the very positive reviews about Villa Segrata, my wife and I were very much looking forward to a relaxing week in the Sicilian countryside. We drove to the Villa and had no difficulty finding it from the directions provided. By chance, we arrived just as Benson, the caretaker, was returning to the property and opening the remote controlled gate. He seemed a little perplexed when I tried to drive in behind him and we soon established that he did not seem to know we were coming. We had an uncomfortable exchange in which he asked me to call the owner to confirm that we were expected. I tried this using the numbers provided but failed to get a response and so I sent an email. Benson then calmed down and told us that the property had been vacated earlier in the day but he had not cleaned it as he was not expecting guests. My wife and I decided to go out for a couple of hours and visit a supermarket and have a drink while the property was prepared. During this time I received a very apologetic call from the owner who assured me that Benson was aware that we were staying. It was a slightly awkward start to our week, but I must say that Benson was subsequently very polite and helpful. Having read all the reviews, and having met the owners son, I think that the property has probably suffered a bit from the owners no longer living there. It is a wonderful location and the facilities are very good, but there is some evidence of a lack of attention to detail and this needs to be addressed. As small examples, the inventory of equipment is no longer used properly and the glassware and crockery need replenishing. Around the excellent swimming pool, the tiling looks tired and the pool itself needed topping up which had we been staying longer would have been irritating. The dogs were great company, very friendly and good natured, but were quite noisy at night (in common with several others it seemed from nearby properties). Overall, we had a lovely week which was unfortunately slightly marred by our arrival and some relatively minor but nonetheless disappointing attention to detail issues.
Verified
Stayed Monday 26 May 2014 with Family
We discovered that the end of May is not an ideal time to go to Etna as many recommended restaurants and excursions were closed/not available. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay in this charming apartment. Having got lost driving from Palermo we arrived an hour late at 9pm, but the caretaker, Benson, and the 3 dogs were there to greet us with smiles/barks and a very welcome bottle of Prosecco. We didn’t see Benson again (although we had his number for emergencies), so we just left the keys in the letter box when we left. That first evening, on Benson’s advice we walked down to the nearby restaurant but it turned out to be closed on a Monday so we had to get a takeaway pizza in Belpasso - the only place we found to be open. Tuesday evening we walked for 35 minutes (accompanied by the ever-present dogs) down to another recommended restaurant, only to find that that was closed too. We later discovered that the place to eat out is Nicolosi, a couple of miles away, which is more touristy with a variety of restaurants – we would recommend Antico Orto Dei Limoni. The apartment is joined to the house (which was unoccupied while we were there) but is a separate entity. It wasn’t perfectly maintained (eg none of the lamps in the living room worked and there were a few dead flies around) but the towels and bedding were perfectly clean and comfortable and the place itself was gorgeous and wonderfully peaceful. The kitchen had everything you would need if cooking, though we could have done with a washing line or tumble dryer to dry towels and trunks. The view of Etna is superb from the top window. Re facilities, parking is easy and safe. I should imagine the pool is lovely in summer, though at this time of year it was not pleasant. After half an hour of fishing out the bugs and debris with the net provided, my son and husband enjoyed a good couple of hours in it, but it was way too cold for me! The location of the villa is ideal for exploring Etna, but it is difficult to get anywhere else from there. Then again, driving anywhere in Sicily is a challenge!
Verified
Stayed Monday 28 April 2014 with Family
Nice holiday home in a great location with view of the Etna volcano. The area is really quiet and a good starting point to explore eastern Sicily. Theres a huge private area around the house (garden, olive groves) which is excellent for kids to explore. The owner welcomed us at two in the morning after we got lost driving from the airport great service (whatever your satnav or description tells you, when leaving the airport first get onto the highway and only then drive towards Messina). There are three dogs and a horse roaming the area, the dogs are friendly, prefectly trained and OK with kids. You should definitely try baking your own pizzas in the traditional brick built pizza oven which is surrounded by a large outdoor kitchen and bar, we had great fun doing this and trying to get it right. The security camera on the terrace is a bit intimidating. While he was on business, the owner asked us to use the services of a caretaker but he was unavailable most of the time, unfortunately. Other than that: highly recommended.
Owner reply:

Thank you for your review. In reply to the mention of the security camera I would like to advise that the camera isn't activated when we have guests but is only ever activated when guests and owners are absent from the property for obvious security reasons. The care taker is there to welcome guests on their arrival to show them around the property, hand over keys and gate controllers and is there for any advice guests may need. Villa segreta is a self catering holiday rental not a B&B or a hotel so a concierge service isn't available. Contact numbers for the caretaker and the owners are given to guests should guests need to contact someone in emergencies or a problem has arisen with the property.

Verified
Stayed Tuesday 04 June 2013
The house is set in a lovely area, good restaurants nearby, easy and quick access to Mt Etna. The man looking after the property for the owners was helpful and very pleasant. However there was no internet availability in the rental part of the place and the pool was too dirty to use. The poolside seating also had no cushions. The adverts should state that the house has three dogs roaming around, although friendly, they barked considerably during the night. Add to this a stubbon horse, also wandering around the property which might worry some would be rentees. Overall the place was adequate but no-where near as good as the other three places we stayed in this year in Sicily.
Owner reply:

Thank you for your review. We were saddened to hear your complaints regarding the pool being dirty, however during your stay we did have a volcanic eruption and the dust and ash was all over the patio area and obviously in the pool, the caretaker with the help of the pool robot were doing their best to clean out the volcanic ash but as you can appreciate this takes time. The dogs are normally kept inside the main family home of an evening but the caretaker had failed to do this for your stay which I apologise for, if you had mentioned to him your problem he could have sorted it out for you and kept them indoors of a night time.. Cushions for the patio furniture are kept inside the house to keep them clean during the eruption, if you had asked I am confident the caretaker would have put them out for your use and collected them in on an evening time.

Verified
Stayed Sunday 03 June 2012
We had a great stay at Villa Segreta. The location was excellent- rural yet within reasonable distances of the major sites to visit on the east coast of Sicily and of course Mt. Etna. Wonderful views from the garden. The hospitality of Maria, Jason and family was very welcoming and genuine and we enjoyed making pizzas in their their newly built pizza oven! They were also very helpful in providing recommendations for places to visit, shop etc. The Villa was comfortable and well equipped so although we enjoyed eating out, cooking at the Villa was a pleasure. We had a lovely time in Sicily, made all the more pleasant by our stay at Villa Segreta.
Verified
Stayed Wednesday 19 October 2011
After a very long journey and an unexpected late arrival at the property, we were welcomed into a beautiful home for a week and couldnt have been happier with what we received. The log fire was lit and inviting and the proprietors had very kindly left us some supplies to get us through until the morning. The best thing about the property was the beautiful rural setting. We have travelled a lot and this is the first time we have actually been quite jealous of the life that somebody else has living abroad! We were on holiday with a toddler who was allowed to collect the eggs from the chickens, which she absolutely loved, and really get close to the animals. We enjoyed exploring the grounds, were called out to have a look when the volcano erupted (very cool) and were always made to feel like nothing was too much trouble. My husband even got invited on a camping trip up the volcano with the family! The only reservation that I did have was that the cot was on the gallery and was too heavy to move so with a slightly older and active child we did have some worries about her climbing out and falling down the stone steps. I would perhaps recommend to the owners to either move the cot to the downstairs bedroom or invest in a travel stair gate just for peace of mind but this really was a minor thing amongst a whole host of brilliant things about the place. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area - I have always vowed that I would never stay at the same place twice but I may have just changed my mind and go back for a visit soon.
Owner reply:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. A stair gate is a very good idea and will invest in one. However if you had asked we would have only been too happy to move the cot for you (I would have got Jason to do it !!!) We hope to welcome you back in the near future you were splendid guests.

Verified
Stayed Friday 19 August 2011
Lovely villa in a beautiful location which exceeded expectations. Swimming in the pool watching Etna erupt is quite something. The owners, Jason and Maria and family, are extremely kind and convivial the atmosphere is always relaxed and comfortable. We had a wonderful afternoon and evening altogether which was very special. Getting to know them all was a real highlight and our children rarely wanted to leave the property. The animals do not intrude in any way and, if anything, enhance the experience. We visited the newly opened pizza restaurant many times (great for kids) and the owner and staff also became friends by the end of the holiday. About a three minute walk but only open in the summer months. We hope to return again soon to catch up with everyone and continue exploring the area. Thanks very much to the lovely Smith family! PS Come on Chelsea !!!
Owner reply:

Thank you for your review, you were very easy guests and such fun can't wait to see you all again. All say hi from Pegasus!

Verified
Stayed Friday 05 August 2011
The location of the property was stunning with amazing views of Mount Etna. The property was clean and well maintained, although the kitchen could have been better equipped and the fridge was very small with no freezer. The washing machine was also broken, although we were able to use the owners facilities instead. The only other negative was the lack of sun loungers by the pool, as there were only two, even though the property could accomodate up to six people. The instructions on how to get to the property could also be improved. However, despite a few minor negatives, overall this was a fabulous villa and we had a great holiday. David and Alice looked after us very well in the owners absence and we had a really fantastic holiday.
Owner reply:

Thanks for the review as mentiond the washing machine has been replaced. There are 6 sunloungers around the pool(Alice and David didn't know where the extra sun loungers were stored...sorry!)Glad to hear you had a great holiday.

Verified
Stayed Saturday 02 July 2011
The house is situated very beautiful with a view to Etna. Because it is about 1.000 m. above sea level the temperature was a bit lower which one learn to appreciate if you are there in the summer where it can be very hot. Maria Smith and her husband Jason are exceptional kind and helpful. As danes with only poor skills in understanding and speaking italian it was a grat help for us that we could speak english with them. The kitchen in the house is well equipped.
Verified
Stayed Sunday 01 May 2011
We had a wonderful three-week holiday at this terrific property: a comfortable & cosy villetta within a truly dramatic setting. The considerate, friendly owners were happy to share their expert local knowledge. We particularly enjoyed local walks on the wooded slopes of Mt Etna but also found it easy from this location to visit mountain towns on the Etna tourist train - nearest station about 15 minutes drive.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 05 March 2011
This is a great, spacious, nicely decorated villa with everything that you would need. Lovely scenery and really good that it is so close to Mount Etna. The owners make you feel welcome and are very helpful and friendly, cant recommnend enough.
Verified
Stayed Sunday 20 February 2011
The villa is spacious and well equipped. The views are simply to die for. The hosts were incredibly generous and helpful - I punctured my tyre on my way to the villa - the following morning they replaced my tyre for me. The next day my wife had severe dental pains - our hosts drove her to the dentist who saw her for free and cooked for us the same day as they knew she was unwell. I cannot recommend either the villa or its hosts enough.
Verified
Stayed Tuesday 13 May 2008
This is a lovely property, located in a great position for exploring the Mount Etna National Park. Suitable for a couple or a small family. There are opportunities for walking directly from the property, or a short drive will take you to a very interesting volcanic landscape. Also a good base from which to explore Catania or Taormina. The property is adjacent to the family home of the hosts who are extremely accommodating and very keen that their guests should enjoy the best of the area. Highly recommended - we loved our visit.
Verified
We stayed for a week at the Villa - very good stay and Id definitely recommend! Great view of Etna from the garden (and from the upstairs bedroom) the garden is fine and the pool looked lovely (very cold though, according to my partner - the weather in our week wasnt brilliant). Facilities are fine - my MIL stayed in the downstairs bedroom and we had the upstairs mezzanine (Id agree that if you were 2 couples this might not work so well, but it worked fine for us). Reasonably well equipped kitchen for those who want to cook (and they provide a range of cookbooks as well which was helpful!). The chilled bottle of fizz on arrival was much appreciated! Area - the pizzeria Feudo Delizia was good Pegaso not open I think when we were there. It took quite a while to get anywhere by car - you need to assume 30-45mins to get to the main roads / motorways, and the road to Catania is very busy. We failed to find much in Belpasso - it was very confusing with many one-way systems! - but found a good veg shop in Nicolosi. Definitely recommend - the dogs were very friendly, and the horse was interested in what was going on (!) - and Benson (caretaker, as owners were away) was helpful and friendly.
Verified
We had a lovely weeks stay in the Villa Segreta. The accsommodation was excellent with comfortable beds and stylish decor. Most importantly were the hosts Jason and Maria who made us so welcome but although living next door were very discreet but quickly supplied us with any need. We reccommend the meal provided by Maria which was delicious and very reasonable. Swimming in the pool and watching Mount Etna was something I will remember for a very long time. We would certainly go again.
Verified
Villa Segreta is a charming place with great views of Etna. It is well-equipped and spacious there is a good-sized pool and all the amenities to make a great vacation. The house is located in a peaceful location, ideally placed for sightseeing trips to Catania, Taormina, Syracuse, Etna etc. or just for relaxing around the pool with a book and a glass (or two) of cold Prosecco … We stayed there for 10 days in June and loved it it was a great place to come back to after our daily trips the pool provided a wonderful respite and the views of Etna exceeded our expectations. There are a number of inexpensive restaurants within a walking distance (e.g. Pegaso or Feudo Delizia) plus there are good local shops in Belpasso to get cheese, wine, local produce, pasta etc. if you fancy a home-made dinner. The villa definitely offered a good value for money and we would recommend it to anyone who is looking for great location and unbeatable views. We were lucky that the owners (Maria and Jason) were on site during our stay. Their hospitality, sound advice and a warm welcome made our holiday really memorable… And who can forget those bottles of chilled Prosecco near the pool or a wonderful Sicilian dinner we have been invited to:)
Verified
We booked this property for our honeymoon, and unfortunately it was not quite what we had expected or hoped for. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, but we were hoping for something rather more secluded and private. The property is attached to the family home, and while the entrance door is screened off, and the property itself is quite private and separate, it is in the grounds of a family home, with all of the usual traffic that this entails. The presence of security cameras overlooking the outside dining area was also rather off-putting. The inside of the property was very pleasant, clean and well kept, and had plenty of space - exactly as it had appeared on the pictures. We couldnt fault the helpfulness of the owners, who when we explained our dilemma, very graciously helped us to find other, more suitable accomodation.
Owner reply:

For all other guests. Before booking please read the description and other reviews - something sadly these guests admitted that with the hussle and bussle of preparing for a wedding they didn't have time to do. Villa Segreta is an Agriturismo holiday destination - by definition a holiday in an Agricultural property. We are happy that we were able to find something that suited you better. Best wishes for a happy married life and your baby.

Verified
We have just return from a lovely weeks stay at Villa Segreta. The villa is located approx two Miles from Belpasso and three from Nicosia, on the main road to Mount Etna. 40 Mins from Catania Airport. Sat Nav a must. Although car hire is needed to get around this area. We feel that the villa is located in an ideal location to do this. The driving in Sicily is mad at times but if you ignore the horns and people up your back side and take your time. You should be fine. I hired through Economy car hire who are the broker for Maggiore. They where great and we got a free upgrade to a new jeep.As long as no issues arise now that we are home. I would recommend them. The villa is a beautiful extension to the family home and houses Two double rooms, kitchen/Living area (Sofa bed) and Bathroom. There is a number of animals on site, all of which where great around my two baby daughters. There is also a horse who has been trained to be around children with special needs. Maria, Jason and their family are fantastic and to be honest welcome you in to their very close and friendly home. A great privledge to be around. Overall I would really recommend this Villa if you are planning to hire a car and dont have any issues with having animals on site. We hope to come back soon and thank you Maria and Jason for all you did for us.
Verified
We had a wonderful stay at Villa Segreta over Easter 2012. The Smith family were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable and nothing seemed like too much trouble. The villa adjoins their home which made it easy for our children (boy aged 7 and girl aged 2) to become part of the family playing football, hide & seek and collecting eggs for breakfast etc. The villa is beautifully furnished and has everything you need for a relaxing stay Maria has achieved her aim of ensuring it is cosy and comfortable. On arriving late we were greeted with a roaring fire, a bottle of prosecco and some well needed nibbles to sustain us. The villa is conveniently located for Etna and Catania where we thoroughly enjoyed trips to the local markets. I would recommend Villa Segreta without hesitation and would like to return at some point in the near future.
Verified
This was the best place we ever rented. The house is clean and nicely decorated, the kitchen has everything you need (even salt and olive oil :)). February nights were cold and we used the real fire place every evening. The view to the Etna mountain from upstairs is fantastic. The villa is nicely placed between places worth visiting. Would definitely stay there again if we decide to go to Sicily.
Verified
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at villa segreta. The views were spectacular, the villa fully equipped with everything that we needed and the location ideal. The owners were great and could not have done more to help us, although they were also very unobtrusive. Overall, it is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.
Verified
This is a great find with nothing too much trouble for the owners. Very well equipped villa with extra special touches. The pool is great and the furniture around it is lovely. We thourougly enjoyed our stay here in nice surrundings and plenty to do or just time to chill. lovely free range eggs supplied from the owners chickens. Supermarket 5 mins drive away and local eating places within walking distance. We had a lovely holiday and enjoyed every minute of it. We hope to be back!!
Owner reply:

Thank you for your kind comments it was a pleasure having you all stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Verified
Very comfortable and well furnished small villa, ideal for one couple or couple with child (two couples may not feel comfortable as second bedroom is on open plan mezzanine floor). Very welcoming and accommodating British hosts live in attached accommodation but this is not a problem. Enjoyed having the dogs, horse and chickens and geese on the land. Pretty big pool for your sole use with great views of Etna. Excellent value for money. Only issue for us was lack of decent eateries close by. You do have to drive to pretty much everything and the traffic was heavy almost all of the time.
Verified
Property is joining the owners private home and the swimming pool is in the owners garden. House is beautiful and furnished in a very welcoming, friendly and cosy manner. My kids loved it. Swimming pool is lovely with a very nice seating area next to it. We saw Mount Etna arrive the first night we were there which was amazing. So view wise this place is perfect. Lots of grounds for guests to walk through with varying fruit trees. Everything was in the villa that we needed. However the washing machine and wi-fi didnt work. Also be aware that there are animals at this location which arent mentioned including 2 dogs, cat, horse, chickens and geese, the dogs did like to go in the pool in case this puts anyone one off, and the cat came into the house quite a lot, even jumped through the upstairs skylight one night and scared the kids. One downside is the amount of dogs barking through the night, not the owners dogs as they are put inside but I am guessing wild dogs or others in the area, making it noisy with the windows open at night. Maria the owner is very helpful and welcoming, although we didnt see much of her when there as she was away on her vacation too. However they had a very friendly and helpful set of friends for whom we asked questions. Great base for exploring Etna, Taormina and Catania. Would recommend this property to others as long as they are aware of the above points. I imagine in winter time the property is very cosy with the wood burner in the living room.
Owner reply:

Thank you for the review. The description of Villa Segreta is very accurate and said it was set in an "Agriturismo" which translated is a Farm holiday so the presence of animals should really be expected and adds to the charm of a traditional sicilian farm house. The mentioned washing machine has been replaced with a new one Wi-fi does work but is slow as we are 1000 metres above sea leve and on a volcanol!. As for the animals they aren't a problem and don't interfere with your stay and we don't expect guests to look after these in any way this is all done by the owners. The horse is available to guests if intrested in pony- treking and the chickens and geese offer guests the opportunity to have fresh free range eggs. The Kitten probably was feeling a little lonely with us all away on holiday...sorry! The dogs NEVER swim in the pool (as they are scared of water) but do sit on the first 2 steps to cool off... it's a dog's life

Verified
We had a wonderful week and enjoyed the great hospitality of the host family, who were very helpful and gave good local advice. Very interesting location with lots of possible trips. Very nice atmosphere in the house, very comfortable.
3 other reviews
When I stayed in this gorgeous villa my family and I had a magnificent time. The view of Mt.Etna is spectacular.If you have the chance to go on the season that the olives come out, you will have a wonderful time and it will be a experience that you wont forget. I would definitely go there again. Im pretty sure that who ever goes their will be delighted by its enchanting views. Also the owners are really outgoing and nice. So I hope who ever goes there, will have a wonderful vacation! (:
Owner reply:

This review was sent to the owner 's email address and they have sent it to Villa renters who posted it on here.

We had the pleasure to stayed in this wonderful villa and share a unforgettable time with its lovely owners. Definitely we will return again. Ciao cari amici
Owner reply:

This review was sent to the owner's email and they sent it on to Villarenters who in turn posted it on their behalf on their website.

We arrived at the address and were surprised by the road side appearance of the property. Although it was positioned with a great view of the mountain from the road the villa doesnt look anything. However when we entered the gate and saw the pool and grounds we were not disappointed! It was great just like the photos on thw website. The pool and poolside has beautiful views of the mountain and (just about) the sea. The Villetta/Apartment is part of an old winery and farmhouse and has been restored in a cosy Sicilian cottage style (if there is such a thing). The bedrooms were a good size, but we probably could have done with 2 bathrooms for two couples rather than the just the one. We spent most of our time by the pool, although the owner pointed out some fantastic walks - the flowers were incredible. We took a trip to Taormina (45 minutes there but 1 hour back) and only went to the beach once. One thing I would recommend is talking to the owners (who live on-site) about restaurants. The quality is highly variable locally varying from excellent to dire. It was not the first time we had been to Sicily so we knew what to expect of the Island, although it was a lovely change to stay on the mountain -. peaceful! Would we go to Villa Segreta again? Yes
Owner reply:

Thanks for the lovely review. Since this was posted we have refurbished the side of the property roadside to the same high standard as the rest of the property as you can see from the photos on the advert. Electric gates to replace the manual ones are due to be installed in February 2011! Please note that we will probably have to ask for an extra €10 euro returnable deposit per controller.

This review was sent to the owner's directly who in turn sent it to Villarenters who poster it on their behalf

Owner

About the owner
Owner score 1429
Calendar updated: 14 days ago
Last logged in: a day ago
Located in: Italy
Joined: July 2010