2 properties

50 reviews

Expert owner

Direct booking - no fees

Joined 2006


Owner from Gullaug, Norway


My wife Anne and I love Almunecar and the Costa Tropical and have been coming here since 2004. We originally visited as a winter break from our home in Norway although this is a great year-round destination and we have even enjoyed some mild and sunny Christmas weather here. We find that Almunecar and the Costa Tropica have a more authentically Spanish vibe than the Costa del Sol further west. We have always known Almunecar as an attractive town in a beautiful area with favourable weather. During the last ten years Almunecar has invested well in improving its beaches, landmarks, cultural monuments, shops and public services, and it now has an excellent selection of restaurants and access to a wide range of outdoor activities. When we first started coming our children were young teenagers, now they are adults and they still enjoy the area and keep coming back with their friends. In recent years we have usually visited Fuentes de Almunecar at Easter and again in October, and enjoy renting our property out to holidaymakers during the rest of the year.

2 properties

50 reviews

Couple from Allerød, Denmark


Couple from Allerød, Denmark · September 2021
We had a great stay. The apartment was fine, and very clean. We enjoy the roof terrasse upstairs as much as the one outsite the bedrum. Only thing we would had liked to know, was that there are no elevator and a lots of stairs. Absolutly a cosy and interessting town - Almuneca. A good spot to take out from. Lots of possibility near by. We sure want to come back some day.

Couple from Charlottenlund, Denmark

Simone Louise

Couple from Charlottenlund, Denmark · August 2021
Nice House, we had a great stay. many stairs so I would recommend that children are at least 2 years old. unless you have child safety locks for the stairs.

Family from Dragør, Denmark


Family from Dragør, Denmark · July 2021
Absolut fantastic. We will like to come back. best wishes Peter Gall

Reply from Michael

We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return.

Family from Hørning, Denmark

Alexander Brund

Family from Hørning, Denmark · June 2019
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely apartment/house. Very nice terrace with amazing view. We had to rent an extra baby-chair for our youngest son, and also extra security for the stairs. I do think this apartment better suits family’s with older children 3+. Will however highly recommend to friends, family etc.

Family from Charlottenlund, Denmark


Family from Charlottenlund, Denmark · July 2018
Everything was like we expected, The house was clean, not a finger to put on it.

Family from Farum, Denmark

Marie Bro

Family from Farum, Denmark · June 2018
Very nice apartment with a super roof terrace. Nice pools. However, we had trouble opening the front door on arrival, and in fact it was only my husband who could open it from the outside our entire stay. It required lifting the door while turning the key in a very special way. Apart from that we were very pleased with the apartment.

Reply from Michael

We are glad you enjoyed the apartment. We did, of course, fix the door as soon as we became aware of this problem.

Couple from Polegate, United Kingdom


Couple from Polegate, United Kingdom · September 2017
We have been here several times before and are always pulled back to it by the warmth and friendliness of the village and the charm of this house. The house itself has a unique design. The bedrooms are en-suite and there are two roof balconies to sit on and bask in the sun. A small shop within a minute's walk contains all the basic essentials and in the other direction is the village square with some bars. Further down are some nice restaurants and a swimming pool which is open during the school holidays. The view from the balcony of the village square is simply breath-taking and I never get bored of gazing across the velvet like mountain range with its meandering roads and splashes of white Spanish villages, that unfolds into the haze of the distant sea. The local Spanish are very friendly and are always accosting you with an "hola" or a "buen dia". Although not completely necessary it is helpful to know some basic Spanish. A car is necessary and be prepared to drive up steep narrow roads to get to Comares, but it is well worth the effort. Parking is easy and you can leave the car within a couple of minutes walk to the house. Depending on how much driving you wish to do you can reach Malaga, Granada, Cordoba, Ronda and Nerja all quite easily. There are agents that live nearby the property who are friendly and very helpful and on the few occasions we have run into problems they have always been on hand to help out, so don't feel as though you are completely cut off. This property offers excellent value for money for those who really wish to get away from it all and also have a taste for adventure and stunning scenery. I strongly recommend that you give it a try.

Reply from Michael

We are very pleased you enjoy our home in comares as much as we do!

Family from Worthing, United Kingdom


Family from Worthing, United Kingdom · August 2017
We arrived early, but we could leave our cases in the house while we went to do some shopping. The inside of the house was ideal, but the outside terrace hadn't been cleaned. The parasol was damaged and the base was broken, so it was unsafe to use. As commented in a previous review there are 40 steps down to the front door, so wouldn't be suitable for young children or less mobile adults. The infinity pool is probably a good 5-10 minute walk away and doesn't open until 12pm and you do need to arrive at 12 otherwise you won't get a sunbed. We didn't visit the other pool which is a bit further and is up a hill, so you probably need to use the car. It would've been helpful if there was more information about the villa and surrounding area e.g. pool locations, as we had to find them ourselves. This house was ideal to use as a base for visiting Granada, which takes about an hour in the car. We were happy with interior of the house, which had a fully equipped kitchen and lovely bedrooms, although there was a problem with the master bedroom door, as if it was closed it would sometimes lock, so we had find something to open the lock from outside the room, this didn't affect our stay and we just left the door ajar. We would stay here again, but only for a short stay, as the outside terrace was a disappointment.

Reply from Michael

We'll start by saying that we just checked with our local manager who told us that your arrival day (mid August) was incredibly busy and the terrace may indeed not have been cleaned thoroughly, which is inexcusable. We would have taken care of this (as well as the door lock) immediately had you informed us, but unfortunately you didn't - I don't know why as you had our emails and phone numbers. We found out the parasol was broken just before you arrived and we certainly should have removed and then replaced this. It's a real pity this happened as the outside terrace is, in our view and that of most guests, one of the absolute highlights of the property with its glorious views, and we spend many hours out there. We're very unhappy that you seem to have had a disappointing experience and we will renew our efforts to make sure nothing like this happens again. The time required to get to the pools and the number of steps around the property are clearly described on our web site (there are no more than 20 steps to the front door and the Infinity Pool is less than 250 meters from the house). We've never previously had guests unable to find the Upper Pool and no one else has ever suggested driving there, least of all my 85-year old parents. Certainly our property might not suit less mobile adults, which we do clearly explain on our web site. You are very welcome to return and try again.

Friends from Monnickendam, Netherlands


Friends from Monnickendam, Netherlands · September 2016
Prachtige omgeving, mooi huis met alles erop en eraan. Zeer goede bedden en uitstekend ingerichte keuken. Het enige probleem zat het in het feit dat je alles met de auto moet doen. Er is in de buurt helemaal niets, geen winkel o.i.d. Je bent dus verplicht om alles met de auto te doen.

Reply from Michael

Here is this review in English via Google Translate: "Beautiful setting, beautiful house with all the trimmings. Very good beds and well equipped kitchen. The only problem was in the fact that you do with the car to do. There is nothing around, no shopping or the like You are therefore obliged to do everything by car." We do recommend on our web site that guests hire a car, as we always do when we are at the property. However, we also go for long walks in the hills behind the house, enjoying fabulous views of the coast and mountains while exploring the countryside. We also walk to and from the nearest beach although the path is steep and not to everyone's taste. There are several other beaches within 5-10 minutes drive, plus supermarkets and restaurants only 10 minutes away by car, or reasonably-priced and always-available taxi if you prefer. Finally, our community has two excellent swimming pools within a short walk from the property.

Large Group from Fredericia, Denmark


Large Group from Fredericia, Denmark · July 2016
We had a really greate stay in the house with a very lovely view. The house is very well equipped with comfortable garden furniture, furniture in the house and very good beds. The kitchen is also so equipped that we could make food in the house with food from the local market. Everything in the house functioned perfectly. We were 3 generations (8 grown up) and the house was a good base for the stay in the nice and quiet urbanization. We will love to come back.

Reply from Michael

We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. Welcome back!