Contact Owner

Villa Amarelo

Beach villa with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and private pool in Marim, Algarve

From £689 per week

Villa to rent in Marim, Algarve

Stunning traditional villa with private swimming pool and surrounded by extensive gardens. Ideal for families as all amenities are within walking distance.

  • Villa
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Private pool
  • WiFi
  • Near beach
  • Air conditioning
  • Parking
  • Private garden

Villa overview - owner's description

This lovely traditional villa has three good sized bedrooms - two doubles, one with an en-suite bathroom and a twin room. There is a large lounge with dining area that seats six. In a delightful rural area that can be used as a central base for sightseeing - within a mile of the entrance to the national park. The villa has a large garden, most of which is lawn, a large and private 9x4m swimming pool. There is a barbecue built into the wall outside kitchen. Very well equipped for families that want to get away from it all. Stunning outdoor pool table, table tennis, badminton, ball games, hundreds of books, DVDs, board games, Nintendo Wii, Playstation, Sony PS2 and PS3, Nintendo DS and broadband internet access.

Local Amenities
Two restaurants and a local shop with all the essentials within a few minutes walking distance. Local walking beaches (where boats are moored) a close walk (400m). 2km from the town of Olhao (6 supermarkets, cinema, hundreds of restaurants) with water-taxi to the surrounding islands and their more tourist beaches from Fuseta or Olhao. Many families don't hire a car and simply take the occaisional local taxi but also a great base for exploring the Algarve by car.

Perfect For Families
In addition to all the facilities in the house we have included everything you need for family outings and outdoor dining including coolbox and chiller packs, flasks, plastic cutlery and more.


This villa has 37 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money

35 out of 37 people recommend staying here


Couple from Billingborough, United Kingdom Oct 2022

We tried very hard to be positive and ignor the disappointing elements to this villa but wouldn’t come back. The villa is comfortably furnished albeit there’s a few maintenance issues and it looks pretty tired however, the real downside for us was that it wasn’t very relaxing outdoors. There was lots of traffic noise in the garden (very close to the busy EN125) and also the pool was freezing (it felt colder than the sea, mid Oct). Although we knew it wasn’t heated, we didn’t expect it to be so cold as the week before we’d stayed in another villa with unheated pool which was much warmer. The 3 huge palm trees which are close keep most of the pool shaded for much of the day so that probably doesn’t help. Most of the sun bed mattresses need replacing as they are lumpy and torn in places so water has got in and makes the filling clump and also the cushions on the 2 relaxers are also not very comfortable. The sun umbrella was broken.
There are several feral cats that come into the garden but we didn’t mind them as they usually just ran away when they saw you. There is slightly raised decking at one end of the pool and one day I saw a rat go under there. My husband said he thought it smelled like there may be a nest under the decking.
Unfortunately (not the owners fault) we had to be very careful where we put any food as we had a few tiny ants everyday on the kitchen worktop. We think they were coming from the sink overflow as they were spotted coming out of there which made it awkward to put a stop to.
Kitchen equipment wasn’t brilliant. There were lots of plastic cups in the kitchen and lots of big glass tumblers but strangely only 2 odd glass wine glasses , ok for us but not if there’s more than 2 adults. There was enough crockery but most mismatched and some chipped. Some of the towels were past their best and frayed and very rough.
Thankfully from reading previous reviews we knew about the narrow, bumpy track leading to the villa so we made sure to rent a small car and you do have to be careful. Some of the problems are not the end of the world and are easily rectified but ultimately due to the location we wouldn’t return

Reply from Steve

Firstly, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our villa as much as you were hoping. Below, we’ve taken each of your points and looked to address them each in turn. We pride ourselves on ensuring guests have the best time whilst on holiday and wish you would have reached out to Sara or ourselves on these issues sooner as some of these we could have rectified straight away.

The Unheated Pool
As you say the description for the villa clearly explains that this is not a heated pool and in October the water temperature can be cold. The three very tall palm trees provide vital and responsible shade from the midday summer with temperatures reaching into the mid 40’s this year. Between around 12 noon and 3pm half of the pool is in the shade. The other half is still in the open for those that don’t mind the summer heat.

Sun Bed Mattresses
This issue is within our control and we only wish you had raised it at the time and we could have replaced these for you. Water can get inside the mattresses when they blow into the swimming pool or we have overnight rain. This is why we try to encourage guests to fold them away and/or bring them inside when they are done for the day. Of course, some guests forget to do so. The cushions for the two relaxers came with the reclining chairs and should be extremely comfortable. We’ve stayed at the property twice ourselves this year and laid these same cushions out on the sunbeds. However, we will try and find some alternatives.

The Sun Umbrella
The breeze can get quite heavy on the coast and from time to time the large sun umbrella needs replacing. Again, we do our best to remind guests to pull down the umbrella and seek shade elsewhere when the wind is particularly strong and not let the umbrella needlessly break for the next guests. If you had brought this to our attention we would have immediately replaced the umbrella for you. We also have two spare sun brollies just inside the french doors which also provide good sun protection.

Coastal Road and Traffic
The google map shows the location of the house being set back a bit from the main coastal road. During peak commuter times and/or if there is a problem with the motorway which diverts traffic to the coastal road, it is possible to hear traffic from part of the garden area when the wind is blowing in a particular direction. However, we’ve been renting the property for over 15 years and for most people this traffic has been acceptable. I wonder if there might have been roadworks on the motorway which caused additional traffic during your stay.

Village Life - Feral Wildlife and Animals
The house is in the rural, national park part of the Algarve and feral wildlife and animals will roam. As you say, the most sensible precaution you can take is not to leave rubbish or food lying around. The deck is only marginally raised and I think it more likely, if there is any family of animals living there that it would be field mice. We have asked our gardener to check and deal with any issue if there is one. Ants do tend to get in almost anywhere and is again why we have plenty of ant killer and other deterrents under the sink.

Kitchen Equipment and Towels
We do have lots of plastic cups as we take guest safety very seriously and prefer that guests are not using glass outside. The Algarve can get very windy and can easily topple empty glasses. For indoor dining we will make sure there are more wine glasses - there were eight at the beginning of the season. Obviously, if there are chipped plates then these need to be replaced and we will do this asap. However, being environmentally conscious we don’t throw away perfectly good crockery even if it doesn’t quite match and is why most of the crockery is white. We tend to get through at least one set of towels a season and because these often get used by guests to take to the beach etc. they can get worn fairly quickly. These will be replaced asap.


Family from Knutsford , United Kingdom Jun 2022

Excellent loads for the kids to do you couldn’t ask for anymore


Friends from Chesterfield, United Kingdom Jun 2019

We absolutely loved our stay at this villa - so much so that we barely left it! There was so much outside space - a big swimming pool, a BBQ and seating area and a lawn - and the inside was also spacious, comfortable and clean. The photos of this villa just don't do it justice - it's so much better in real life! The only teeny tiny downside was that it was a bit of a squeeze to get the car on the drive, but that's the same for a lot of villas I've stayed in and didn't taint my experience at all. A great week of sun, swimming and sangria!


Family from Shenley, United Kingdom Oct 2017

We have just returned from a fabulous week here with our 12 and 9 year old children. There was always something to keep everyone busy and great family time was had by all.

The Churrasqueira de Marim restaurant, literally across the road is the best food/value for money you can imagine. Four main courses of the best quality meat and fish, 2 deserts, a coffee and carafe of white wine for €36!

The best day trip is to one of the local islands - we went to Armona; empty beautiful white sandy beaches on the Atlantic coast!

The villa and its facilities are exactly as described and we will most definitely be returning.


Family from Stevenage, United Kingdom Aug 2017

We booked a villa holiday for the fist time as a family @ Villa Amarelo and specifically booked this property for its facilities to keep the children amused (13 & 10) and was vey happy with everything it had to offer regarding the Swimming Pool, Wi-Fi, Playstation, Nintendo Wii and all the other extras which were available. I was slightly disappointed on arrival with the Villa Gardens and surrounding areas from looking at the advertised pictures of what the Garden did look like to what it was when we was there, it was overgrown, untidy and in need of some major TLC. The Swimming Pool was almost Green on arrival but was soon sorted out with some cleaning fluid and a good clean by Stuart certainly helped and we spent many hours having fun it in whilst there. The area is a bit too remote for my liking and there is not really anywhere you can walk to of any note and without a car it would have been a problem, and also as a note for anyone else booking the Villa with a car, be mindful of the size of car as access to the Villa is extremely tight and driving in and out is difficult. All in all though I would recommend the property and had a really relaxing time away from it all and the Villa had everything needed so was not an issue to leave the property.


Couple from Princeton, Canada Jun 2017

It was wonderful to be back at Villa Amarelo after 10 years. The pool was a wonderful addition. The location is perfect for exploring the Algarve without being right in one of the busy towns. Very handy to excellent shopping east or west of the Villa. Its a very roomy villa with comfortable places to relax inside and out. We used the BBQ on the patio quite a bit. It is fast using charcoal. The "Delta" (Keurig for those from North America) is a nice addition too. Appliances are all up to date and kitchen is well equipped.
We were a little disappointed that the exterior and particularly the garden is not maintained as well as it was 10 years ago. The gardens need pruning, there appears to be discarded items collecting around the back of the villa and during our visit the automatic irrigation system wasn't working properly. All in all though we enjoyed our stay again!

3 other reviews

Dan Sizer Jul 2016

My family and I stayed at the villa during July 2016. We found the villa to be of an excellent standard with a fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms and large bedrooms. We spent a few days of our stay around the pool as it was a great size with plenty of room around and in the gardens for the kids to play around. There was also a huge array of things to keep them entertained with tennis rackets, badminton rackets, golf clubs, darts and the pool table to keep them entertained if the pool didn't. There is also a full UK sky package as well as a PlayStation. We would certainly stay again, and Angie and her husband certainly looked after us during our stay if ever we needed help. Thanks again. Dan, Laura and the kids

Villa lovely with nice clean pool. Any queries answered very promptly. Really enjoyed it. Isabel and Andy, June 2012

Just wanted to say thanks for all your help with booking etc with regards our hols. It really was a lovely break and we all enjoyed Portugal very much. Lucky to have had a good journey home and even come home to good weather this weekend but non of us are looking forward to getting back to the routine of work and school tomorrow! Oh well all good things must come to an end I guess. Thanks again and as Thomas said on the way to the airport can we come back and stay! So, hopefully we will find ourselves returning to Portugal maybe next year.....Kind regards, Alison

1 - 3 of 3


This villa is:

3km from the nearest beach 1km from the nearest bar 500m from the nearest restaurant 2km from the nearest supermarket 15km from Faro airport 2km from Olhao
Outside this villa in Marim, Algarve
This villa is in the countryside near the beach. It has a pool, a barbecue, outside lighting and a garden. Car hire is recommended as the villa is less than a 15 minute walk to at least a couple of shops, bars and restaurants; however parking is available if required.

Prices and availability

Updated 6 December 2022

  • Unavailable
  • Your booking
  • Available start/end date

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 6 December 2022 - 31 May 2024: the minimum stay is 5 nights.



3 bedrooms, Sleeps 8:

  • 1 double bed and en suite
  • 1 double bed
  • 2 single beds

There is also 2 single sofa beds in One in each main bedroom, 2 cots


2 bathrooms including 1 en suite, 2 Separate WC's

Swimming pool

Private pool


CD player, DVD/Blu-ray player, WiFi / WiFi, TV Languages in Local, Satellite / cable


Living area seats 6, Dining area seats 6, Air conditioning, Open fire, Clothes drier, Hair dryer, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire recommended


Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Microwave, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster


Barbecue, Outside lighting, Parking, Private garden


Snooker / pool table

Suitable for


Extra information

The villa has extensive gardens and a large plot of land behind [secluded behind large hedges] also belonging to the villa which has several fruit trees including lemons, figs, pomegranets, peaches, and plums. Stunning slate bed outdoor pool table with pagoda and cover above so you can play in the heat of the day, and lights so you can play at night. Pool table converts into a table with benches. Inside there is a playstation with Singstar karaoke microphones and Buzz quizzes and dozens of games, There is also a Nintendo Wii with 4 controllers and games, a poker table with cards and chips and many board games. Outdoor games include croquet and badminton. Broadband Internet access, Portable Sony PSP (lots of movies and games), Nintendo DS, even more books, DVDs, board games, more sun loungers.


Average rating from 37 reviews

Private Owner From Friern Barnet, United Kingdom Member since May 2005

Sharon and Steve have had their home in the Algarve for fifteen years. As such the villa is truly their second home and has been stocked and furnished to a very high standard. They visit several times a year and on each visit listen to guest feedback and add new things to the house.

Past bookings: 119 bookings

Response rate: 100%

Response time: within 9 hours

Last seen: 9 hours ago

Number of properties: 1

Sharon and Steve have had their home in the Algarve for fifteen years. As such the villa is truly their second home and has been stocked and furnished to a very high standard. They visit several times a year and on each visit listen to guest feedback and add new things to the house.

Similar holiday rentals around Algarve, Portugal

View all properties in Algarve