Contact Agent

Cheviot View - Luxury Apartment Northumberland

Apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms in Rothbury, England

From £357 per week

Apartment to rent in Rothbury, England

Country House converted into Luxury Apartments in picturesque Northumberland countryside, within reach of Alnwick Castle and Lindisfarne and beautiful

  • Apartment
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • WiFi
  • Parking
  • Shared garden
  • BBQ
  • Washing machine
  • Open fire

Apartment overview - owner's description

Visit Northumberland and discover the best Northumberland has to offer. Whatever your interest Northumberland can accommodate; this historic county has amazing castles such as Bamburgh, Walkworth, Alnwick and Dunstanburgh to name a few; country houses such as Cragside, Wallington and Belsay offer fantastic insight into the great industrial revolutionists of the area , such as Lord Armstrong.
Rothbury is situated adjacent to Cragside House which was the home of Lord Armstrong and was the first house in the world to be lit by hydroelectricity. Currently owned by the National Trust there is plenty to do for everyone. With one of the largest rock gardens in Europe Cragside House has an iron bridge, formal gardens, lakeside walks, adventure play area and labyrinth especially for the children.
Other National Trust properties in the area include Wallington, Dunstanburgh Castle, the Farne Islands and Lindisfarne Castle on Holy Island.
A short journey from Rothbury you can find Alnwick Gardens and Alnwick Castle. The Castle is still the home of the Duke of Northumberland and has been used as a film location for films such as Harry Potter, Blackadder and Elizabeth.
The Northumberland coastline offers some fantastic sandy beaches such as Embleton and Alnmouth to either spend the day or simply have a leisurely walk along. Bamburgh Castle located near Seahouses offers a great insight into the turbulent history of Northumbria from medieval times to more recent history with Lord Armstrong's family.
Rothbury is situated on the outskirts of the Northumberland National Park and offers an excellent base in which to explore the beauty of the park. The National Park offers something for everyone whatever your interest. Walkers love this area because of the spectacular trails throughout the area.
Kielder Water is less than 30 miles away and has a range of activities including; walking trails, mountain biking trails, fishing, horse riding, water activities, wildlife and adventure activities. Whatever your preference Kielder is an ideal location for a daily excursion.

Reviews

This apartment has 38 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities

36 out of 38 people recommend staying here

David

Friends from Amesbury, United Kingdom Aug 2021

A lovely apartment in a stunning location. All very clean and COVID safe, a well equipped kitchen but could have done with a few more basic essentials e.g spare toilet rolls, more than one towel per person. A few small problems like a DVD player that didn't work, very limited tv channels and a kick board in the kitchen that kept falling off. To be fair though we didn’t ask for these to be fixed during our stay.
Overall the good bits massively outweighed the not so good. Highly recommended and excellent value for money during this staycation year.

Reply from Andrew

Thank you for review and I'm pleased to see you rated us five stars! I'm always happy to fix any issues guests have if they're reported to me I'm always on it the same day. I'm sorry that I wasn't able to sort the DVD player and kick board out for you, it would have taken no time at all if you had let me know during your stay. I hope the item returned after your stay reaches you safely and thanks for staying.

Stephen

Family from Lutterworth , United Kingdom Jul 2021

This was our second visit to Northumberland and I doubt our last. It was our first stay at this property. The area is very nice and lots to do. We stayed closer to Alnwick last time and travelled towards the coast area. This property is a little further out if most of your planned activities are costal. Not an issue for us overall as we found walks and things to do close as well.

Communication pre-stay was very good. Travel cot and high chair made available. Communication post stay not good when I reported some snagging, not even an acknowledgement.

The second bedroom smells strongly of damp. Master bedroom en-suite has a cracked floor tile and the extractor fan stays on constant if you don’t manually turn off. Ironing board cover needs replacing, main light bulb was not working in the master bedroom and the DVD player not working properly (we have kids so took some). I know some of these points are minor but I messaged the owner to advise and didn’t want to leave it on a review. However without comms back (I’ve left it two weeks) I want to ensure future guests and the owner is aware.

The main issue was the damp smell in the bedroom which was evident on arrival. I think we would stay again or recommend once assured the above issues were sorted. Would have likely been 4 stars if assurance re issues given and not for the poor comms post stay.

Reply from Andrew

Thank you for your review and I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the area. We are always happy to resolve any issues for guests wherever possible and encourage them to let us know during their stay. This gives us the opportunity to put right everything we are able to. I am only able to find correspondence from after your stay - which I did reply to on the same day - and the issues you mentioned have been immediately rectified. All the best, Andrew

Mary

Family from Freshford Bath, United Kingdom Jul 2021

Very spacious flat, in a lovely position. Well equipped and comfortable.

Nikki

Family from Hampton Hill, United Kingdom May 2021

We had a lovely stay at Cheviot View. The accommodation was very well equipped, spacious and comfortable and in a beautiful spot with fantastic views across Coquetvale! Look forward to returning.

Karen

Solo from Horncastle , United Kingdom Apr 2021

This was my second stay at Cheviot View in the last twelve months and once again I couldn’t fault it! The apartment is large, airy and well equipped and makes a perfect base, whether you just want to chill, explore the local countryside or venture further into Northumberland. There are fabulous walks from the front door, through pretty villages, surrounding hillsides and along the riverside paths. Rothbury itself has a good selection of independent shops, several pubs, a couple of art galleries and a great Indian Restaurant.
The owner, Andrew, is easy to contact and very helpful if you need him....I’m looking forward to my next stay.

Clare

Family from Nottingham, United Kingdom Oct 2020

The apartment was in a fantastic location with great views and within easy reach of numerous destinations, such as the coast, National Trust properties and hill walking. Rothbury village centre is within walking distance.
We were a bit uncertain about the parking space to begin with, as the literature we received stated it was under the tree and clearly marked, however the tree appears to have been chopped down! This was a minor point though and the parking space was a good size.
The apartment was spacious and warm. The kitchen was well equipped and it was good having the double doors into the living room so that we could still be together whilst cooking. It was useful to have the porch to take off muddy boots.
The owner/agents communicated well, and we were grateful to have been able to change our booking from Easter to the October half term due to the lockdown restrictions.
We would definitely recommend this property.


3 other reviews

Lovely apartment with wonderful views. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and visited some picturesque places. Truely Great!The Ball Family, Bedfordshire

Had an excellent time. The apartment is first class, weather good and there are a lot of great places to visit - will certainly come again.R. & S Webster, Shipley

Excellent apartment. Wonderful view. We had a fantastic week's holiday. There's no where like Northumberland!Mr & Mrs Clifford, Glouestershire

1 - 3 of 3

Location

This apartment is:

45km from the nearest beach 1km from the nearest bar 1.5km from the nearest restaurant 1.5km from the nearest supermarket 40km from Newcastle airport

Local activities

Boat hire 45km Climbing 15km Fishing 15km Golf 15km Horse riding 15km Sailling 45km Sports center 15km Swimming 15km Tennis 45km Water skiing 45km Wind surfing 45km

Sights and attractions

Historic site 15km Museum 45km Shopping 15km Theatre 45km Cinema 45km

Show more Show less

Outside this apartment in Rothbury, England
This apartment is in the countryside and in a quiet area. It has a barbecue, outside lighting and a shared garden. Car hire is not necessary as the apartment is less than a 15 minute walk to a large selection of shops, bars, restaurants; however parking is available if required.

Prices and availability

Updated 9 September 2021

  • Unavailable
  • Your booking
  • Available start/end date
-

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 21 September - 20 December 2021: changeover day is Friday, bookings must be for whole weeks only and the minimum stay is 7 nights.
  • 21 December 2021 - 5 January 2022: changeover days are Tuesday and Wednesday, bookings must be for whole weeks only and the minimum stay is 7 nights.

Extras

Compulsory

  • Minimum Booking Amount

    £100.00 per booking if the booking is for less than 5 nights, paid with booking

Optional

  • Pet Fee

    £20.00 per booking, paid with booking

Facilities

Bedrooms

2 bedrooms, Sleeps 4:

  • 1 king size bed and en suite
  • 2 single beds

There is also 1 cot

Bathrooms

2 bathrooms including 1 en suite, 3 Separate WC's

Entertainment

DVD/Blu-ray player, WiFi, Radio, TV Languages in Local, Satellite / cable

General

Living area seats 4, Dining area seats 4, Central heating, Open fire, Clothes drier, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire optional

Kitchen

Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Dishwasher, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Microwave, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster

Outside

Barbecue, Outside lighting, Parking, Shared garden

Suitable for

Children, Infants, Pets

Extra information

This is an Imposing Country House that has been lovingly converted into holiday cottages. Each have private Patio area and shared landscaped grounds and Woodland. The National Trust Property at Cragside is just 2 miles away.

Andrew

Average rating from 101 reviews

Property Manager From Morpeth, United Kingdom Member since Mar 2010

Past bookings: 428 bookings

Response rate: 0%

Last seen: 8 hours ago

Number of properties: 3

Similar holiday rentals around Rothbury, England

View all properties in Rothbury