Book now

Contact owner


Capel Maentwrog is a wonderful piece of the North Wales’ history………

An early 19th century Calvinistic Chapel, used for over 150 years as a place of worship, the chapel was very popular with local residents and a lot of wedding ceremonies took place here.

The building started deteriorating in the 1980’s and was completely derelict by the early 2000. The only salvaged piece of internal decoration is the now the white painted, mahogany ceiling rose, which enhances the beauty of the nine metres high lounge.

The full reconstruction began in January 2002 and was completed by May 2005. During the 41 month project, the chapel was stripped to its stone shell, which was then reinforced, underpinned and insulated.

A new roof was constructed and tiled. New floors were created and a custom-made staircase now unites the three levels. Once a rectangular, open plan building with a suspended ceiling rose, the chapel now has a variety of luxurious rooms: bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, utility etc., all of which are kept snug and warm using an under-floor heating system.

To preserve the feeling of airiness and lightness, as well as the building’s good acoustics, the front of the property has been left open plan in a mezzanine format.

There are two suspended landings on the first and second floors, each of which commands magnificent views over the valley and the surrounding mountains.

In the latter stages of the project, all the groundwork was prepared and new stonewalls erected. The area around the building was covered with paving slabs and new fire escape was added.

The main and side gates are hand made and incorporate pieces of the original railing.


Luxurious four bedroom, three bathroom converted chapel. 3 floors. Sleeps up to eight people. WiFi. Short breaks welcomed . 20% discount for four people or less. Also discounts for 14+ day bookings.


Property type: Village house

Room details


4 bedrooms, sleeps 8

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 3: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 4: 2 Single beds

Additional beds:
Room for 8 in the dining area
Room for 8 in the living area
3 bathrooms, 4 Separate WC's

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
Internet (WI-FI)
TV Languages in Local
Heating and air con:
Central heating
Clothes drier
Iron / board
Pots / pans
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Outside lighting
Private garden


Suitable for
Restricted mobility (Wheelchair ramp from road level right up to the property. Washroom/WC on ground floor. Luxury sofa-bed (not normally available to able-bodied guests) in lounge means disabled guests do not have to leave the ground floor.)

Sports and activities


Sights and attractions

Historic Site

Prices and availability

Last updated 11.02.2015

...Your booking
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £888.25 per week
  • From £888.25 per week
  • From £1,013.65 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £679.25 per week
  • From £804.65 per week
  • From £804.65 per week
  • From £1,348.05 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Whole weeks only Minimum stay (nights)
12th April 2015 to 26th April 2015 Yes 7
24th May 2015 to 31st May 2015 Yes 0
1st June 2015 to 4th July 2015 No 7
18th July 2015 to 29th August 2015 Yes 7
20th December 2015 to 31st December 2015 Yes 7
12th April 2016 to 26th April 2016 Yes 7
24th May 2016 to 31st May 2016 Yes 0
19th July 2016 to 29th August 2016 Yes 7

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 27 Days 15%
1st January to 31st December 20 Days 10%
1st January to 31st December 13 Days 5%


Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Cleaning charge for short breaks of five days or less. All year Booking length: Duration less than 6 days £50.00 per booking

Paid with booking


This is exact location

  • Nearest beach: 10km
  • Nearest bar: 0.25km
  • Nearest restaurant: 250m
  • Nearest supermarket: 12km
  • Liverpool Airport: 90km
  • Blaenau Ffestiniog: 10km
  • Porthmadog: 12km
  • Chester: 70km


23 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money
23 out of 23 people recommend staying here
Stayed Friday 11 October 2013 with Family
We had a brilliant five-day stay at Capel Maentwrog in mid-October. Its a wonderful place to stay. The location is great - in Snowdonia National Park, but right on the A-road on the edge of Maentwrog means you can drive to several attractions within 15 minutes (Portmeirion, Harlech Castle), or walk to the pub if youre having a quiet day in. The property is in very good condition, especially considering the significant renovations were done nearly 10 years ago. We look forward to visiting again!
Stayed Friday 12 April 2013
The chapel was amazing inside, finished to a high standard with modern decor. it felt really spacious given the tall arch windows and high ceilings on the ground floor. All the bedrooms was spacious and the beds comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights and felt that it was value for money for a group of 8 people. The property is a few miles away from Porthmadog and Ffestiniog and other places of interest. I would definitely recommend this chapel to stay in if you are looking for the wow factor in a property.
Stayed Friday 30 September 2011
As a group of four married couples we have stayed in North Wales on many occasions(three or four times a year),but we have never stayed anywere as nice as CHAPEL MAENTWROG.It met with all of our expectations,indeed it excelled them.The photos and diiscription just did not do it justice.We were looked after by STEVE GOLD(what an a fitting name)and his team from start to finish,and would recommend anyone to have a break thereThe total area including pubs/restaurants/ places of interest/and snowdon are just the best.Thanks Steve and well be back soon. Terry Broome.
Stayed Friday 08 July 2011
Inside, the property looks amazing but a few things let down this initial impression. There was a lack of maintenance with blown light bulbs and the shower in the master room was almost blocked. There is no shower to the top floors shared bathroom so access to the 1st floor ensuite bedrooms is required. Although there was a washing machine, there was no tumble dryer. A lack of pots and pans and other utensils. No tea towels supplied on our visit. Outside is dissappointing with only two chairs at the front door and though elevated from the busy road a large lorry will wip up the dust and blow away your crisps so watch out! No where for kids to play outside and I wouldnt recomend for young children due to the spiral stairs insode. The property is at a great location with good views, two pubs near by and plenty to do. I hope this review will improve the properties maintenance issues which took the edge off it a little as I definitely want to return.
Owner reply:

Sorry to hear abut your problems Mr Kent.The light bulbs issue is a perennial one for the area I'm afraid - the voltage does vary considerably in the area - we did a major light bulb swap earlier in the year and another is scheduled for the end of July. This is also the reason why there is no tumble drier - we did have one (ywo actually), but they keep breaking down, so we decided that it was easier for guests to dry their clothes the eco-friendly way and not have to call out an engineer to retrieve their clothes. I'm sorry about the lack of pots and pans - and tea towels - this puzzles me and suggests they may have gone walkabout. Again, this will be addressed next week as part of our regular review of the property.We do maintain the property on a regular basis, so thanks for pointing out the shortcomings - I'm glad you were satisfied, despite the minor issues.Kind Regards

Stayed Monday 31 May 2010
Excellent accomodation in a great location
Stayed Thursday 01 April 2010
Could do with a dishwasher - and also takes 4 weeks to get damage deposit back which is excessive - but the property was excellent and enjoyed by all
Owner reply:

Thanks for the feedback - a new dishwasher was fitted at the end of April, replacing the old one which burned out recently. It actually only takes two weeks for a security deposit refund - this allows for clients to return the keys by post, which is a free service we offer for customer convenience.The two weeks is fairly standard in the holiday rentals business - it allows for resolutions, repair quotes and other issues to be sorted in the unfortunate event any major accidental damage occurs.Kind Regards / Steve Gold, company secretary

Stayed Saturday 24 October 2009
A wonderful property in an excellent location.
Stayed Monday 14 September 2009
Property was in overall excellent condition very centrally located for our intended day trips. It appears that the property had at one time both a dishwasher and electric clothes dryer, neither of which are currently included. We were disappointed in missing clothes dryer but were able to satisfactorily air dry our clothes. The absence of a clothes dryer was certainly a concern initially. We would recommend addition of maps/ directions for local restaurants/ pubs/ grocery stores it would prove helpful for future guests. Minor nits overall a very nice rental.
Stayed Saturday 19 July 2008
Great place to stay, has everything you need for a great holiday.
Stayed Thursday 28 December 2006
seven of us stayed at the chapel and had a wonderful time over new year 2006/2007. The chapel is very spacious, warm and comfortable with an up to date feel about it. Location is excellent, with fantastic views and some excellent walking locations nearby. We would have liked to seen some history about the chapel and some before and after photo's of the chapel conversion. Our wives would have liked to see a few more kitchen utensils i.e casserole dishes and plastic measuring jug. Other than that the place is well kitted out. A very big thank you to Steve Gold for his excellent and friendly service. We would rate this property a 5 star, brilliant thanks, Steedman and Constable family.
Stayed Friday 28 July 2006
The property is good on the web site, but it's even better in person. Immaculately clean and furnished to a high standard. It's a beautiful family home, really. In a perfect location for sightseeing. There is plenty in the area to do for both young and old. Our party ranged from 10 years to 83 years, and everyone was absolutely thrilled with their week in Wales.
Stayed Friday 21 October 2005
A truly stunning property. A fantastic setting and a great position for exploring the region. Hope to visit again.
Stayed Monday 26 September 2005
Superb roomy property in a good central location which coped with 8 people brilliantly. It's unique and seeing is believing - the owners have gone that little step further - tea and coffee in cupboards, numerous towels, lots of books, videos even a games console - and thats just a few of the extra touches which earn the chapel its 5* award. As an added bonus theres a pub serving good food just around the corner.
Stayed Saturday 10 September 2005
The chapel was absolutely gorgeous. I would recommend it to anybody. The high spec that the chapel has be refurbed with was beyond my expectations and meant we had a 5* weekend away. The surrounding area is beautiful and a trip to The Grapes is a must! The main bedroom is beautiful and very decadent. A huge thank you to Steve Gold for all his hard work before our visit, it certainly made for a worry free break away.
Stayed Friday 22 July 2005
I have never before seen such a beautiful place. What can I say - unique, amazing, it certainly deserves a 5 star rating and more. We were very well looked after and the chapel was wonderfully equipped. It was complete luxury. The bathrooms and bedrooms were out of this world. I believe it has won an award and rightly so. We are going there again because a weekend break just wasn't long enough.
My husband and I had the an unforgettable time at Capel Maentwrog. Everything was wonderful and the only negative was that we could not stay longer. When we first walked into the chapel, we probably said wow a hundred times - we were so impressed with the stylish, tasteful furnishings and appliances. And then the views ... since we enjoyed superb weather, it was a joy just to sit on the couch on the ground or second floor and look through the large windows. In sum, the chapel is one of the nicest and most spacious places we have ever stayed and we will enthusiastically recommend it to everyone. PS: I showed a friend some pictures and she asked if we rented a chic loft somewhere in Manhattan! As for location, Maentwrog is the perfect base for touring Snowdonia and the Lleyn peninsula. For dinner, we very much enjoyed The Grapes - only 300 yards from the chapel. We hope to return soon!
Great property, finished to a high specification. Excellent as a base for exploring North Wales. Customers will not be disappointed!
The property was visually stunning and very well furnished with everything that one would need for a comfortable stay. It is located near a good pub if you dont want to cook, and all the regions attractions are close at hand. The only downside is the location on a relatively busy main road. However, double glazing was very effective and noise wasnt an issue. Recommended!
Capel Maentwrog is beautiful, especially being located in an idyllic natural setting, which my family (of 6 adults) and I thoroughly enjoyed. We really loved staying in such a fabulous place, surrounded by such enchanting scenery. It was good value and though the advert description of the property was accurate, the whole experience still exceeded all of our expectations. We would definitely recommend it to friends and also look forward to returning ourselves someday!
Superb property. Very spacious , easily accomodated 7 of us , unusual for properties in UK. Nicely furnished with every convenience we needed during our stay.
We were 8 friends (4 couples) traveling together. This property offered us the space and privacy we needed with the added bonus of elegant surroundings. On arrival the property was generally clean and tidy however a few things had been overlooked. The microwave needed to be cleaned before it could be used and it would be more pleasing if the refrigerator had been cleaned out. We needed to throw away quite a few suspicious looking containers of what had once been food before we could load in our own provisions. The neighbors told us we should have been provided with a wheely bin for our recyclables. The beautiful and functional laundry room was a godsend. Bedrooms and baths were immaculate upon ariival and well provisioned. The kitchen had plenty of plates, flatware, glasses and cooking utensils. The pub (:Oakely Arms) and Restaurant (Mo's) near the property should be classified as national treasures. They both provide convenient and tasty meals with genuine warmth and hospitality. The parking was excellent and althought the road was busy we had no trouble entering or exiting the spaces provided. The highway noise was ever present but not bothersome. We were more interested in the lovely pastoral view with mountains rising beyond pastures filled with bouncing baby sheep. We hope to return someday.
Eight of us stayed at the Chapel for a week over the Easter period in 2007, and we loved it - it really made our holiday very special indeed, and we have all missed having such lovely views to wake up to every morning! The place is so luxuriously spacious and the design and decor of the place is beautiful, very unique, and a good example of a modern design working well in an ancient building. Although it faces a busy road it is surprisingly quiet; none of the bedrooms are on that side of the building anyway. The only real criticism for us, and it's a minor one, is that we found the electric hobs a bit annoying (in that all electric hobs are annoying compared to gas!). If you suffer from vertigo I suggest you don't stay in one of the second-floor rooms, it's quite high up!! Also of note to visitors in 2007 is the pub in the village (called the Grapes I think?) is closed for a major refurbishment at the moment - but there is another pub a short walk on the road towards Porthmadog which is very nice too. We recommend going white-water rafting at Canolfan Tryweryn - see - which is about 30-40mins drive away. Great fun!
Hi - it was terrific. I left a detailed note in the kitchen regarding a few bits and pieces you should likely address re things that aren't working properly. But overall, it was delightful. Regards - Shari
4 other reviews
We stayed at the Chapel over new year and it really is as good as it looks in the photos. We had an excellent time and enjoyed some short walks nearby and also visiting nearby towns for shopping. The grapes pub round the corner do excellent home made food and it is literally 5 minutes from the chapel. i could not fault the chapel at all the standard of decor is fantastic. As others have mentioned there is no dishwasher which we were expecting so i think its better to know beforehand than expect something that isnt there. there were also no wine glasses which we were suprised at - we have left 8 platic champage flutes for future guests though. We had a baby and they were happy to provide a cot and we just pushed something up aganst the base of the spiral staircase to prevent climbing. Steve Gold who deals with bookings is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. We would definately visit again.
Owner reply:

A new dishwasher was fitted at the end of April after the old one burned out late last year.

For some reason the wine glasses were tucked away in the kitchen cupboard - thanks for leaving the extra glasses, however - Im sure they will come in handy :)

Thanks for the kind words, which are appreciated!

Kind Regards, Steve G, company secretary.

We spent Easter 2008 in Maentwrog and it was fantastic! we were with our 3 children and the Capel is well situated for visiting Wales. We enjoyed everything, except the cold weather!! the decoration is lovely and we had such a good feeling staying there together with an eye on the white mountain in front of us. We would like to come back one day.
We stayed in Capel Maentwrog from 27th May until 4th June and had a fabulous holiday. The accomodation is superb and to a very high standard. The location is very central for visiting lots of places of interest and the whole area is stunningly beautiful. I would highly recommend this accomodation as the perfect place to enjoy a truely peaceful holiday. Well done to the owners who I believe won an award for the conversion, well deserved!
We're new - but check back soon for a review or six!...


About the owner
We are a family-run firm that rebuilt the Chapel - a process that took around two years - around nine years ago. We realised early on in our renovation that we needed to equip the Chapel to a high standard in order to meet the needs of modern clients. As a result, the Chapel has three bathrooms, a washroom, a utility room, Villeroy & Bosch bathroom furniture, triple glazing and a 42 inch flat screen TV. We hope you enjoy your stay at the Chapel.
Owner score 1804
Calendar updated: 22 days ago
Last logged in: 22 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: May 2005