The Beach House

Beach house with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms in Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka

From £549 per week

House to rent in Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka

  • House
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathroom
  • Near beach
  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony / terrace
  • Parking
  • Private garden
  • BBQ

House overview - owner's description

The Beach House sleeps up to six people in three rooms. This comfortable, quiet and private house is situated right on Hikkaduwa beach just 10 mins walk to surf spots, beach bars and restaurants.

The Beach House is situated right on the beach with a beautiful garden full of palm trees out front. The house is private and secluded, and offers a wonderfully tranquil environment for a relaxing family beach holiday on the exquisite tropical south coast of Sri Lanka.

It has 3 air-conditioned bedrooms and sleeps six. It is self-catering and serviced daily.

The beach house is traditionally furnished with beautiful hardwoods and modern fittings.

The tropical garden has a BBQ and outdoor shower.

It is a two-minute ride in a tuk-tuk or 10-minute walk down the beach to the surf spots and the main Hikkaduwa strip of beach bars, restaurants and craft shops.

The historic town of Galle – with its famous cricket ground and majestic 17th Century Dutch fort is just 20 minutes’ drive away.

Inside The Beach House
All bedrooms have four poster beds with mosquito nets, airconditioning and overhead fans. The main bedroom, which has sea and sunset views, has an ensuite bathroom with modern fittings - shower, toilet, washbasin. There is a second bathroom with the same fittings. The open plan kitchen/dining area seats six and is fully equipped. Double French-style doors open onto a large covered verandah with magnificent views of the sea and sunset through the palm trees. This is the lounging area with day bed and loungers. It can be enclosed with wicker blinds.

Things to do
Besides relaxing on the beach or at The Beach House, there are a lot of other things you can do in the area. The manager can arrange day trips or longer tours for you.

Around Hikkaduwa there are surf spots with some of the best surf in the country in season (October-April), there are lakes, forests, waterfalls, paddy fields, Buddhist temples, silk factories, turtle sanctuaries and much more. It is a garden of Eden with fireflies, butterflies and beautiful birds. This enigmatic island nation is a land of beautful people, ancient history, delicious food, silk, saphires, tea, spices and art.

Fishemen still launch there traditional outrigger boats from the beach in front of the Beach House . You can help them pull in their nets.

There is a custom-made guide for guests in The Beach House with recommended things to do and see on day trips.


This house has 23 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money

21 out of 23 people recommend staying here

Friends from Brenchley , United Kingdom Feb 2016

This is probably a house for younger people. We were 4 people in their 60 s and found the property to be tired and run down and poorly equipped. Little storage in bedrooms and a bucket hanging from the ceiling in place of a fan which was most annoying as we hadn't wanted to use the a/c all night. There is a very noisy road behind the villa with traffic that hoots all night and locals who use the side access to the beach for fishing etc would spend many hours well into the evening drinking and shouting at the bottom of the garden thus disrupting any privacy we may have had. On the plus side we were far enough outside the main town to enjoy the uncrowded beach and the hotel next door who supplied us with meals when required. Mahinda and his team were very helpful and supportive and we enjoyed a bbq cooked by them for us.

Family from Nice, France Feb 2016

Area very good for us, we didn't want to be in the middle of the surf spot, but only 10 minutes away walking on the beach.
Very clean, Chamdana was here every day if we asked him to , to clean the house and help in anything.
It is an expensive rental for the country, but compare to european price, good value and we were happy to have 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, the veranda and the garden for us. We can make bbq, breakfast.
Mahinda arranged our transfer to Kandy just the night before, for good price.
Thank you , we had very nice rest in the beach house.

Reply from Callan

You're welcome Dominique. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Chandana is the housekeeper and will clean at your convenience as well as generally look after you. Mahinda, the beach house manager, is your go-to man for anything you need. The rates for the villa are really good compared to other beach houses in Sri Lanka. And returning guests can request 10% discount.

Family from Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates Jan 2016

The Beach house was even better than we thought. The outdoor area just wonderful with grass right down to the beachfront. Lounges for relaxing and daybeds on the verandah... all with stunning views. It was hot so very grateful for airconditioners at night when sleeping. Swam each day (although could be very rough directly in front of house) then could shower outside, get all the sand off and then dry off with a book on the lounge. Chandana was wonderful and provided some fabulous meals on our verandah. easy to get tuk tuk to town and appreciated being a little way away from the main town. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Reply from Callan

We're really happy you enjoyed your stay at the beach house. You are always welcome back at the house and returning guests can request a 10% discount.

Family from Sigulda, Latvia Apr 2015

Our stay in HIkkaduwa Beach house was outstanding. The house is located right on the beach with direct ocean access, a 5-minute walk along the beach to Hikkaduwa center, and a 30 minute drive to Galle. Comfortable stay for our family and friends.

The facility is very clean and tastefully decorated. Spectacular sea views, large terrace overlooking the beach offers ample seating for meals or relaxing in either sun or shade. We fell asleep each night and awoke each morning to the sound of the waves rolling up onto the beach.

Even better yet was the warm, Srilankian hospitality of manager Mahinda and house keeper Chanada. They took care to ensure that our every need was met, and served as expert guides to the local area and further. We were free to lunch or dine in any of the local restaurants, but we much preferred to stay in and enjoy the delicious meals they prepared for us, especially the fresh seafood excellently prepared Srilankian style by Chanada, on the terrace overlooking the water.

Our stay at Hikkaduwa Beach house is among our most memorable vacations and we definitely hope to return.

Family from Ahetze, France Feb 2015

The house is on the beach but the kitchen was not clean : dishes to do...
We stay 3 nights : there is an hotel/restaurant/night-club very closed. We can't sleep... Amazing !!! Music so strong... Incredible ! Our children (4,7,10) can't sleep too....
Noone for the check out... The worst expérience in Sri Lanka !

Reply from Callan

Hi Cocagne we are sorry you had a bad experience. The small hotel next door is very quiet usually (we have never had a complaint about it) and is actually a great benefit for guests as they will deliver delicious food to the house if you don't feel like cooking. We have a housekeeper who services the house daily - guests are asked to arrange a convenient time for him to clean. And with regards check-out we ask guests to let the house manager know beforehand when they plan to vacate the house and to arrange return airport transfer.

Family from Berkhamsted, United Kingdom Feb 2015

We had a fantastic 9 night stay at the beach house - absolutely fantastic location and one of the best holidays I've ever had. Nothing quite like relaxing in the garden and watching the sun go down with a cold beer!

4 other reviews

Sharon, South Africa (May 2009)Absolutely idyllic! Serviced daily, cheerfully furnished with all necessary mod cons and hot water, right next to tranquil Cinnamon Gardens hotel, which has great local and western meals, step out onto the palm-lined beach on one side and hire a tuk tuk on the other. Huge sheltered verandah to languish on and a manager who organises transport any and everywhere. Travel guides also provided. Beach houses really don't come much more enticing than this!

Nigel, Dubai (March 2009)I have visited Sri Lanka three times and this is by far the nicest place I have stayed in. It is in the perfect location - right on the beach in a very private area but just a few minute's walk away from the central beachfront area which offers a range of restaurants and funky beach bars. The house is amazing - pretty small but with a wonderful varandah and garden with a perfect view of the waves beyond the palm trees. There is a charming little hotel right next door that serves great food in a relaxed setting and even delivers right to your verandah! It is the perfect chilled beach holiday - with everything you could want at your fingertips.

Chris, Bangalore (May 2009)From the time of arriving at The Beach House after been collected by the organised taxi service until the time we left we could not have asked for a better place to recharge our batteries. Life in Bangalore lends itself to needing a break to a place like the Beach House. A fully equipped spot with aircons, huge comfortable beds and a massive veranda for those afternoon beers. Stepping from the veranda onto the beach and within walking distance of the beach bar strip makes you feel part of the action but just far enough away to enjoy a peaceful strip of the beach. What was great for us was the fact that by just hiring a scooter we could explore the jungle in a few minutes and visit a few monasteries, we even landed up having lunch with the high priest on the day the war ended with the Tamil Tigers.

From Dalouka Jack, Dubai (May 2009)My family and I spent six blissful days in the Beach House at Hikkaduwa earlier this month. The house is perfect for a beachy holiday with very effective air conditioning units and fans in all the bedrooms, good sunflower-head showers, an outdoor shower, and a well-equipped kitchen area. Our favourite area of the house was definitely the large veranda where we chilled out day and night, whether it was sunny or stormy.We loved the decor of the house, with large wooden four-poster beds, colourful kitchen and a homely dining area. There is a CD player, so take your music (there are some good mixed CDs provided), but no TV - good idea to take a laptop and some Disney's if you have kids.The beach infront of the house is clean, quiet and beautiful. We saw a few children playing and some old fishermen walking but that was about it.Food wise, there are little grocery stores for the basics but imported stuff can be pricey. We took cereal, coffee and baked beans, next time we'll also take snacky food like biccies and crisps. Fresh produce is available from markets. We didn't bother cooking big meals as we ate out most of the time. The Cinnamon Gardens hotel and restaurant next door to the Beach House is perfect for when you don't want to venture far. (Lunch for family of four big eaters approx $15)Pick up and dro p off to airport went without a hitch and the guy looking after the house was very helpful and accessible.We were there at the start of the monsoon season, which was amazing. The weather was warm but bearable and the storms were fantastic. The highlight of our trip was sitting on the veranda in the evening, listening to music, drinking good cheap beer, watching lightning light up the beach and wave crests while the heavens chucked it down. Perfect.

1 - 4 of 4


This house is:

500m from the nearest supermarket 100km from Colombo Intl airport 20km from Galle 1km from Hikkaduwa reef surf spot

Local activities

Boat hire 3km Fishing 3km Scuba diving 5km Wind surfing 5km Surfing 0km

Show more Show less

Outside this house in Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
This house is in a village near the beach. It has a balcony, a barbecue, outside lighting, a garden and a sea view. Car hire is not necessary as the house is less than a 15 minute walk to a large selection of shops, bars, restaurants; however parking is available if required.

Prices and availability

Updated 1 October 2016

Your booking

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 15 December 2016 - 15 January 2017: the minimum stay is 6 nights.

Long stay discounts

  • Receive 10% off if the booking is for 15 days or more.

If more than one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.



3 bedrooms, Sleeps 6:

  • 1 double bed and en suite
  • 2 single beds
  • 2 single beds

There is also 1 single sofa bed


1 bathroom, 1 en suite bathroom, 1 Separate WC


Living area seats 8, Dining area seats 6, Air conditioning, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire optional


Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Pots / pans, Toaster


Balcony or terrace, Barbecue, Outside lighting, Parking, Private garden, Sea view

Suitable for

Children, Infants, Single gender groups, Smoking

Extra information

outside garden shower

Private Owner From Cape Town, South Africa Member since Jun 2008

We are a family of 4 and live in Cape Town. We travel to Sri Lanka regularly to surf, relax and immerse ourselves in the local culture. After several trips to the beautiful island we decided to buy and renovate a sturdy old beach house with tons of character in Hikkaduwa. We have decided to open it up to other families and surfers visiting Hikkaduwa to help generate some income for the local community and make it self-sustainable.

Past bookings: 131 bookings

Response rate: 100%

Response time: within 15 hours

Last logged in: 16 days ago

Number of properties: 0

We are a family of 4 and live in Cape Town. We travel to Sri Lanka regularly to surf, relax and immerse ourselves in the local culture. After several trips to the beautiful island we decided to buy and renovate a sturdy old beach house with tons of character in Hikkaduwa. We have decided to open it up to other families and surfers visiting Hikkaduwa to help generate some income for the local community and make it self-sustainable.

Similar holiday rentals near Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka

View all properties in Hikkaduwa