Request booking

Contact owner

Casa Cindrel Sibiu

Overview

Beautifully restored 4 bed (1 double, 1x2 singles/bunk, 1 double/sofa) village house, with all modern conveniences, includes two bathrooms (one is a wet room). The house comfortably accommodates four people. Enjoy the rustic, imperfect charms of this ancient house - a world away from the sterilised style of a chain hotel - with the smells of restored old wood mixed with natural beeswax, uneven floors, original wooden window shutters, the hustle and bustle and sounds (and smells!) of peasant village life - but most of all the careful effort to keep true to the original form of the building, the barn and the orchard.

Nestled in a valley with stunning views over the hills and forests of the Carpathians, large fruit orchard and restored barn, vines and with large courtyard - perfect for barbecues.


The area
Gales (pronounced Gah-lesh) is an intriguing Romanian village which has maintained age-old traditions. There is a museum of rural life, a working water mill and a traditional hat-maker (he is a relative, we can arange complimentary visits, please ask).

The village is on the edge of mountain pastures, with cows, horses and goats passing by the house every day on the way to and from pasture.



Places to go and things to do
Gales is situated a convenient short drive from amazing medieval Sibiu, the 2007 European Capital of Culture.

Well-placed for visiting Saxon Transylvania (including Brasov, Biertan, Cluj, etc) and next to the Carpathian mountains, ideal for skiing in Winter and hiking in Summer.

Summary:

A charming 4-bed* holiday home on the edge of the Cindrel Mountains just 20km from Sibiu, European Capital of Culture 2007 - with barn and orchard (* see description)

Facilities

Property type: Cottage

Room details

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms, sleeps 6

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 2: 1 Single bed

Additional beds:
1 double sofa bed located in Living room, 1 cot
Seats:
Room for 4 in the dining area
Room for 4 in the living area
Bathrooms:
2 bathrooms, 2 Separate WC's

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
TV Languages in Local
Household:
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Fridge
Glassware
Iron / board
Kettle
Microwave
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Other:
Outside lighting
Parking
Private garden

Suitability

Suitable for
Infants
Restricted mobility (Not suitable for wheelchairs - sorry!)

Sports and activities

Climbing
Fishing
Horse Riding
Skiing

Sights and attractions

Historic Site
Museum
Shopping
Theatre
Theme Park
Cinema

Prices and availability

Last updated 01.01.2013


...Unavailable
...Your booking
  • From £250.80 per week
  • From £250.80 per week
  • From £250.80 per week
  • From £250.80 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Arrival and departure days Whole weeks only Minimum stay (nights)
1st June 2015 to 28th September 2015 None set No 4

Discounts and extras

This property does not have any discounts or extras set

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest bar: 0.3km
  • Nearest restaurant: 15km
  • Nearest supermarket: 15km
  • Targu Mures: 120km
  • Cluj Napoca: 90km
  • Bucharest: 360km

Reviews

1 out of 1 people recommend staying here

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Facilities
Communication
Area
Value for money
Verified
Bedrooms are nice, kitchen and livingroom is in one room and therefor a bit small, but cosy at the same time. The kitchen had a lot of things to use for cooking. Entering the house is was very humid inside. Besides the smell also the beds felt humid. One of the showers did not work properly. Half of the water came out on the back of the showerhead. Other then that, everything was just fine. We enjoyed our stay very much for the 5 nights that we were there.
Owner reply:

Thanks for your feedback Natalie, we are delighted you had a nice time staying in our house.The humidity and smell is only caused by the very hot weather this August - which is easily rectified by opening a window when you are in the house.We're sorry the showerhead was leaky, but if you had told us about it at the time we could have fixed it quickly. It is of course fixed now.

Owner

About the owner
Owner score 142
Calendar updated: 2 years ago
Last logged in: 6 months ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: October 2007