Contact Owner

Casa Vista Do Ledo, Madeira

Villa with 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and private pool in Ledo, Madeira

From £743 per week

Villa to rent in Ledo, Madeira

*New Kitchen*Our lovely airy Villa, with *Private Pool* & free wi-fi has been *renovated* in 2019. It is set in peaceful countryside with Fabulous Sea Views, 5 mins from Madeira's golden Sandy Beach

  • Villa
  • Sleeps 12
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Private pool
  • WiFi
  • Balcony / terrace
  • Parking
  • BBQ
  • Washing machine

Villa overview - owner's description

Our Villa is located in the rural southwest of Madeira, near Arco da Calheta, 40 minutes from Funchal airport. It is only a 5 minute drive away from the golden sandy beach in Calheta.

Since renovating the property, and changing the property management to be family run, we have received many 5* reviews via other booking channels.

Our Villa has its own private, south facing swimming pool (9m x 4m) and beautiful sea views, with tiled patio bathing area, sun beds, umbrellas and outside shower. Pool towels are also provided. NB: Swimming Pool access is via steps down to the lower level and the pool will not be shared.

All of the bedrooms are large and spacious and have large king-sized double beds (3 rooms) or twin beds (3 rooms) all with special matresses of high resilience foam to ensure an excellent nights sleep. We rent our villa as a 3,4 bedroom villa or a 6 bedroom villa depending on the number of guests staying at the villa.

The living room has a private balcony with amazing sea views, perfect for those evening drinks when all the village lights come in the valley on below. The large family kitchens have big solid wood kitchen tables and chairs, microwave, cooker and fridge/freezer and a very well stocked selection of pans & cooking utensils.

*** Our Villa has a Games Room available for all bookings. It includes table-football, full sized Pool table, games table and darts board.

The villa has free wifi and is within easy access to good levada walks - such as Rabacal.

Baby & Child facilities.
We have a Chicco cot (with bed linen) and Chicco high chair available on request for babies and provide colourful plastic plates, dishes and cutlery for young children.

The property is situated in 1600m2 of lush banana groves and has been built in the tradional terraced style on the mountainside in the peaceful and tranquil hamlet of Ledo. The main living accomodation is at street level and thus enjoys magnificent panoramic views of both mountains and sea.

The local café is a 5 minute walk away and the village of Arco da Calheta is just a short 10min walk. Here you will find a post office, a fruit & vegetable shop - selling local produce - cafés and bars, a church, a cash machine and a childrens play area.

If you have any questions why not drop us a line!

The local villages & Activities
Just 15 minutes away is the picturesque village of Ribeira Brava, with its famous Poncha bars (the famous Madeiran drink of sugar cane rum, honey & lemon).

The busiest time of the year in Calheta is the week of July 24th when the parish celebrates the festival of St John (Sao Joao). Madeiran's travel from around the island to experience the many local food stalls and live music. It's truely an evening event not to be missed.


Walking, Diving, big game fishing & Paragliding are very popular in Madeira and Casa Vista do Ledo is ideally situated for you to enjoy all of these.
Please contact us if you would like more information on these activities.

Rental licence or registration number: 20782/AL


This villa has 15 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money

13 out of 15 people recommend staying here


Family from Loughborough, United Kingdom May 2018

Great villa very spacious lots to do with the games room for the younger ones. Local area very nice we attended a festival in the village on our last night and was blown away by the friendliness of everyone would love come again.


Large Group from St Neots, United Kingdom Jul 2015

it is a really lovely villa in a beautiful location among all those banana trees.
I only gave 3* for cleanliness because my wife washed all the floors so that we could walk around barefoot, and they looked a whole lot better. there are a few cosmetic blemishes. but you get with any villa.
as for communication or lack of maybe a quick visit a couple of days into the first week just to see that we knew where everything was and to ask if there are any questions.
But in conclusion it was a lovely place for two heavenly weeks.


Large Group from York, United Kingdom Aug 2014

When we arrived we were given a very rushed tour around the villa and asked to say if everything was ok to let them know now as it was a long way back to see anything. On first sight all looked fine. But once we had time to settle in we found the villa to be in need of a good clean, As we were a group of 12 adults from 2 families and booked in as such we would have expected to have 12 glasses 12 cups etc but this is not the case and most of the cups provided had no handles. When we went down to the pool
we found that there was only 7 sunbeds set out around the pool, we did find some more hidden away in the games room, which after a good wash down we were able to use. One of the shower rooms had glass in the shower tray - which indicates that this room was not cleaned before our arrival, the shower room on the second floor is dangerous as the water from the shower head aims directly at the overhead light which just a bulb hanging from the ceiling. The socket behind the double bed on the second floor is dangerous and hanging out of the wall. I did try to call Quinn but got no answer and as he said he would be back on the Friday with clean towels decided it could wait, however as Quinn came on the Thursday when all but 2 were out I never got the opportunity to speak to him. As the holiday had taken a lot of organizing we decided to make the most of it and had a really great time. The island is beautiful and Nelson - the taxi driver- is a must if you want to take a tour of the different areas. -

Reply from Madeira Villa Holiday

We appreciate our guests taking the time to leave a review or to give us constructive feedback about how we may improve our villa. However, this review is very perplexing and is full of inaccurate or misleading statements. Taking the time to get our names right would have also been curteous. With regards to the implied "rushed" tour of the house, we think some consideration might have been give to the lateness of the arrival of these guests and also the nervousness of having show people around your home whilst trying to communicate in a language which you are no way fluent in i.e. in English, not Portuguese. There was no intention to "rush" the "tour" and as can be seen from other reviews by non-English guests we take time to properly welcome our guests and to try and make them feel at home. We are completely confused by the comments about the things we have in our kitchen i.e. not having 12 glasses or 12 cups etc. We counted these after we saw the review and found we had over 30 glasses, 21 cups and 25 dinner plates. As can be seen by other reviews our villa has well stocked kitchens. We are also in the process of stocking our third kitchen in the games room to better enjoy the outside brick BBQ. All the cups we provide have handles, however, reading the review left by these guests in the guest book we see this comment is actually about the plastic beakers we supply for use by toddlers or for drinking by the pool. These items were bought without handles and are not broken as may be implied by this review. We have no idea what the comment regarding only 7 sunbeds around the pool refers too. We had 12 sunbeds out by the pool for the previous guests to use and didn't remove any after they left that day and before these guests arrived the same evening. We can't even begin to imagine how there could be glass in any of the showers, and this does not indicate the room was not cleaned. We hire a cleaner, as well as checking the cleaning ourselves and take great care to ensure that the bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchens are clean before guests arrive. To say we have a shower where the shower head points to the light bulb is extremely confusing as this would mean our shower points to the ceiling and not down to the shower tray. To point to the ceiling would make it unusable - hence the confusion for us about this comment. We are glad to see that even though there were one or two minor things (especially considering the size of the house and facilities provided) which weren't to the liking of these guests, this hasn't detracted from their holiday and they did have a really great time. We have taken notice of all the comments and will do everything we can to make sure all future guests can also enjoy a lovely holiday with us.


Family from Brackley, United Kingdom Jul 2014

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner.
Initially the property looked amazing, however on inspection the property was dirty so we spent our first afternoon in Madeira cleaning. The games room was particularly bad and when you opened the drawers it had collections of dead bugs and cobwebs.
There was no cleaner provided throughout our 3 week stay, and when I asked about changing the bedlinen, I was advised that I had a washing machine!
We have stayed in many villas over the years and all have provided cleaning services, changes of bed linen and the pool was regularly cleaned, so I was quite disappointed about this response.

It is such a shame as if the property was clean and better mainintained it would be a pleasure to stay in as the views and location are spectacular, although the steps to the pool are very challenging!!
The locals are extremely friendly and Nelson the Taxi driver and his crew were brilliant!

Reply from Madeira Villa Holiday

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our villa. We make every effort to ensure our guests are happy when staying in our villa and pay particular attention to cleaning and maintaining it. We accept that the old ‘kitchen’ area in the games room wasn’t cleaned, we have only just put the games in that room and it wasn't included (as you know) in the costs you paid for your stay. We thought it was better to open the room for you to better enjoy your stay, however as it was only just set up we had thought of it just as a play area and as a separate part to the living areas of the villa itself - it is in a completely separate lower ground area. Therefore we didn’t consider that someone might go through the cupboards and draws or find a need to use them and hence they weren’t cleaned. Please accept our apologies for this. We have noted this and have now paid particular attention to cleaning that area. We take the trouble to ensure the fridges, microwaves, bathrooms, pool etc. are fully cleaned at the end of each stay ready for the next guests. In particular we had also stripped all the sofa coverings along with the bedding and sent them to the laundry to be cleaned immediately before your stay. So we were surprised to read you thought things weren't clean and you felt the need to clean. However, on asking you to tell us what wasn't cleaned you haven't been able to provide us with any detail.As you mentioned, we don’t provide a daily cleaning service for guests, although we will look into providing this service. However, we also did not advertise that we did provide this service so we are surprised you expected it. This is a rental villa not a bed & breakfast or a small hotel. We are sorry you were disappointed this service wasn’t available, but this is also reflected in the price of our villa. When you asked, upon arrival, about the cleaning service we explained politely this was not a service we provided and also politely advised there was a washing machine available if you needed it. The washing machine is an item we are regulary asked for by our guests, hence us letting you know it was there. With regards to maintaining our villa, we assume your reference is to us not providing the daily cleaning service, as we did provide you with a change of clean towels and came to clean the pool during your stay. We do most definitely take time and make an effort to ensure that the villa is regularly painted and that anything which has been damaged or broken is replaced with new items.Thank you for your appreciation of our villa and it's location. We'll let Nelson know you were happy with his service, we are sure he will be pleased. Best wishesEmma & QuimMadeiraVillaHoliday


Friends from Middelburg, Netherlands Nov 2013

We have had a wonderfull time staying in Madeira thanks to this appartment. The weather in December is not the best but weve absolutely enjoyed it.
Good place to start exploring the island, and a magnificent view over the banana trees and the ocean..


Couple from Cardiff, United Kingdom Oct 2013

We had a lovely week . It is far enough away from the hustle of big towns but the communication is so good its easy to visit anywhere on the island.
Stunning views and all the facilities we needed,
Its not ultra modern but it did not detract from the holiday or let us down in any way.
I will return as soon as I can

2 other reviews

We came back from Casa do Vista in Calheta a couple of weeks ago and wish we had never had to leave! The villa was lovely - clean, spacious, very well equipped for us and the kids and set in such an amazing location! The views were stunning and so peaceful. Pool area was lovely and relaxing and our two little girls (aged 2&3) loved it. I could have sat on the balcony looking at the views all day every day! The local taxi driver Nelson was fantastic and so helpful. He took us out to eat almost every night and regular trips to the beach and supermarket. Everything is close by, the sandy beach is the only one on the island and the girls loved it. Local cafes along the marina promenade were great and the supermarket stocked everything we needed. Weve been looking for this holiday for years, staying at many differnet villas, this one beats them all! We will definitely be going back as soon as we can! Thank you for a lovely time.

Thanks so much for a lovely holiday! Just like to say how amazing the view is from this place! We stayed on the ground level at the Porto Mare in Funchal for the first part of our holiday (although great, we could have been anywhere). The location of this villa gave us a sense of the true Madeira. It is such a peaceful and calm place that we have felt really relaxed as a family. Our 3 year old loved the swimming pool area and we really enjoyed spending time on the sunbeds looking out at the sea. The facilities for our 9 month old were great and all good quality. The local supermarket has nice fresh produce which was handy for lunch but we tended to eat out in the evenings. Will definitely be back!A.Mitra, Leeds, UK.

1 - 2 of 2


This villa is:

4.5km from the nearest beach 500m from the nearest bar 5km from the nearest restaurant 5km from the nearest supermarket 45km from Funchal airport 4.5km from Calheta Beach 4.5km from Restaurants 4.5km from Supermarket & Bank 30km from Funchal Centre to drive

Local activities

Boat hire 5km Cycling 45km Fishing 5km Golf 45km Sailling 5km Scuba diving 5km Sports center 1km Swimming 5km Water skiing 15km Walking 15km Paragliding 10km

Sights and attractions

Local food market 45km Museum 45km Shopping 15km Park 1km Theatre 45km Cinema 45km Casino 45km

Show more Show less

Outside this villa in Ledo, Madeira
This villa is in the countryside and in a quiet area near the sea and mountains. It has a pool, a balcony, a barbecue, outside lighting and a sea view. Car hire is recommended as the villa is less than a 15 minute walk to at least a couple of shops, bars and restaurants; however parking is available if required.

Prices and availability

Updated 23 February 2020

  • Unavailable
  • Your booking
  • Available start/end date

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 4 August 2020 - 13 September 2022: the minimum stay is 7 nights.
  • 9 January - 29 January 2023: the minimum stay is 7 nights.
  • 28 February - 14 May 2023: the minimum stay is 7 nights.
  • 26 June - 16 July 2023: the minimum stay is 7 nights.

Early booking discounts

  • Receive 5% off if the booking is made 5 months before the arrival date.

Late booking discounts

  • Receive 5% off if the booking is made within 7 days of the arrival date.

Long stay discounts

  • Receive 15% off if the booking is for 1 month or more.

If more than one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.



  • Extra guest(s)

    17 December - 8 January: £20.69 per night for each additional person if there are more than 5 people, paid with booking

  • Extra guest(s)

    7 January - 31 March: £20.69 per night for each additional person if there are more than 2 people, paid with booking

  • Wood for the fire

    1 January - 9 April: £4.50 per night, paid with booking

  • Wood for the fire

    16 October - 16 April: £0.00 per nightpaid with booking

  • Extra person(s)

    3 April - 14 May: £20.69 per night for each additional person if there are more than 5 people, paid with booking

  • Extra guest(s)

    15 May - 21 July: £22.49 per night for each additional person if there are more than 6 people, paid with booking

  • Extra guest(s)

    20 July - 13 September: £20.69 per night for each additional person if there are more than 8 people, paid with booking

  • Extra Guest(s)

    16 September - 15 December: £20.69 per night for each additional person if there are more than 4 people, paid with booking

  • Long stay Service Charge (for one change of bedding and towels)

    £89.96 per booking if the booking is for more than 15 nights, paid with booking


  • People Carrier transfers to and from the airport can be arranged for a discounted rate of €70 each way (normal price €90+) payable directly to the taxi driver. 1 people carrier = 6 people + 6 Suitcases

    People carrier per journey, paid locally

  • Taxi transfers to and from the airport can be arranged for a discounted rate of €50 each way (normal price €70+) payable directly to the taxi driver. 1 taxi = 3 people + 3 Suitcases.

    Taxi per journey, paid locally



6 bedrooms, Sleeps 12:

  • 1 king size bed and en suite
  • 1 king size bed
  • 2 single beds
  • 1 king size bed
  • 1 king size bed
  • 2 single beds

There is also 1 cot


4 bathrooms including 1 en suite

Swimming pool

Private pool, Size 9m x 4m


DVD/Blu-ray player, Internet / WiFi, TV Languages in English, German, French, Spanish, Local, Satellite / cable


Living area seats 12, Dining area seats 8, Open fire, Clothes drier, Hair dryer, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, High chair, Car hire recommended


Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Dishwasher, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Microwave, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster


Balcony or terrace, Barbecue, Outside lighting, Parking, Sea view


Snooker / pool table

Suitable for

Children, Infants

Extra information

We have a large 10 seater table by the outside BBQ - near the swimming pool and 2 further 6 seater tables outside - one near the kitchen to enjoy meals on and one on the patio area with magnificent mountain and sea views. Winter Time - We provide portable heaters for the bedrooms and an electric radiator for the living room to keep you warm and cosy during the evening and night time. We also provide an electric heated towel rail for that warm luxurious feeling when you come out of the shower/bath. For large bookings there is an additional dinning area available which includes a large 8 seater table. NB: The villa will be rented as either a 3 bedroom villa or a 4 bedroom villa, therefore the swimming pool will not be shared by 2 different parties/groups. The fourth bedroom is in the second floor living area and has a large south facing balcony. The second floor area incorporates 2 living rooms (with Cable TV), 1 double bedrooms, shower room and a private patio.


Average rating from 15 reviews

Private Owner From Calheta, Portugal Member since Jul 2009

Myself and my Madeiran Husband are based in Madeira and really enjoy looking after our Villa with help from close family.

We decided to start renting out our villa, for holidays, because we wanted to show what it was like to holiday in the real Madeira - not the busy city. Arco da Calheta has the really typical, rural, Madeiran feel, just right to experience what it would be like to live in Madeira and be a local!

We hope we can make your stay with us every bit as enjoyable as it is to live in Madeira.

Past bookings: 76 bookings

Response rate: 0%

Last seen: 5 months ago

Number of properties: 1

Myself and my Madeiran Husband are based in Madeira and really enjoy looking after our Villa with help from close family.

We decided to start renting out our villa, for holidays, because we wanted to show what it was like to holiday in the real Madeira - not the busy city. Arco da Calheta has the really typical, rural, Madeiran feel, just right to experience what it would be like to live in Madeira and be a local!

We hope we can make your stay with us every bit as enjoyable as it is to live in Madeira.

Similar holiday rentals around Madeira, Portugal

View all properties in Madeira