Book now

Contact owner


Our Villa is located in the rural southwest of Madeira, near Arco da Calheta, 40 minutes from Funchal airport. It is only a 5 minute drive away from the golden sandy beach in Calheta.

* Our Villa has its own private, south facing, salt water swimming pool (9m x 4m) and beautiful sea views, with tiled patio bathing area, sun beds, umbrellas and outside shower. Pool towels are also provided. NB: Swimming Pool access is via steps down to the lower level and the pool will not be shared by 2 different parties.

All of the bedrooms are large and spacious and have large king-sized double beds with special matresses of high resilience foam to ensure an excellent nights sleep.

The living room has a private balcony with amazing sea views, perfect for those evening drinks when all the village lights come in the valley on below. The large family kitchen has a big solid wood kitchen table and chairs, microwave, cooker and fridge/freezer and a very well stocked selection of pans & cooking utensils.

*** Our Villa now has a new Games Room available for all bookings. It includes tablefootball, full sized Pool table and darts board. ****

The villa has free wifi internet and is within easy access to good levada walks.

Baby & Child facilities.
We have a Chicco cot (with bed linen) and Chicco high chair available on request for babies and provide colourful plastic plates, dishes and cutlery for young children. We also have a none-slip mat for inside the bath for babies/toddlers to sit on whilst bathing. The Nick Jnr and Nickelodeon TV channels are also available - we can also provide a DVD player.

The villa will be rented as either a 3/4 bedroom villa or a 6 bedroom villa, therefore the swimming pool will not be shared by 2 different parties/groups.

The property is situated in 1600m2 of lush banana groves and has been built in the tradional terraced style on the mountainside in the peaceful and tranquil hamlet of Ledo. The main living accomodation is at street level and thus enjoys magnificent panoramic views of both mountains and sea.

The local café is a 2 minute walk away and the village of Arco da Calheta is just a short 10min walk. Here you will find a post office, a fruit & vegetable shop - selling local produce - many cafés and bars, a church, a cash machine and a childrens play area.

If you have any questions why not drop us a line!

The local villages & Activities
Just 15 minutes away is the picturesque village of Ribeira Brava, with its famous Poncha bars (the famous Madeiran drink of sugar cane rum, honey & lemon).

The busiest time of the year in Calheta is the week of July 24th when the parish celebrates the festival of St John (Sao Joao). Madeiran's travel from around the island to experience the many local food stalls and live music. It's truely an evening event not to be missed.


Walking, Diving, big game fishing & Paragliding are very popular in Madeira and Casa Vista do Ledo is ideally situated for you to enjoy all of these.
Please contact us if you would like more information on these activities.

Current Special Offers
5% discount for summer 2015 bookings


**Early Summer discount for 2015 plus New Games room*

Our lovely airy Villa, with **Private Pool**, is set in peaceful countryside with Fabulous Sea Views, 5 mins from Madeira's golden Sandy Beach


Property type: Villa

Room details


4 bedrooms, sleeps 8

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 3: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 4: 2 Single beds

Additional beds:
1 cot
Room for 8 in the dining area
Room for 10 in the living area
3 bathrooms

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet (WI-FI)
TV Languages in English, French, Local
Snooker / pool table
Heating and air con:
Open fire
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Pots / pans
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Swimming pool:
Balcony or terrace
Outside lighting
Sea view


Suitable for

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Scuba Diving
Sports Center
Water Skiing

Sights and attractions


Prices and availability

Last updated 15.04.2015

...Your booking
  • From £611.07 per week
  • From £611.07 per week
  • From £1,145.75 per week
  • From £1,145.75 per week
  • From £687.45 per week
  • From £687.45 per week
  • From £687.45 per week
  • From £954.79 per week
  • From £954.79 per week
  • From £954.79 per week
  • From £954.79 per week
  • From £1,145.75 per week
  • From £1,145.75 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Minimum stay (nights)
29th June 2015 to 28th September 2015 5
1st March 2016 to 29th August 2016 5

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 5 Months 5%
Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 7 Days 5%
Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 1 Months 15%


Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Extra Persons All year Occupancy: more than 6 people £36.55 per night

Paid with booking

Wood for the fire 13th October to 2nd November N/A £3.65 per night

Paid with booking

Long stay Service Charge (for one change of bedding and towels) All year Booking length: Duration more than 15 days £47.51 per booking

Paid with booking

Wood for the fire 1st February to 27th April N/A £3.65 per night

Paid with booking

Optional extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Taxi transfers to and from the airport can be arranged for a discounted rate of €40 each way (normal price €60+) payable directly to the taxi driver. 1 taxi = 3 people + 3 Suitcases. All year Taxi per journey

Paid locally

Minibus transfers to and from the airport can be arranged for a discounted rate of €50 each way (normal price €70+) payable directly to the taxi driver. 1 minibus = 6 people + 6 Suitcases All year Minibus per journey

Paid locally


This is exact location

  • Nearest beach: 5km
  • Nearest bar: 0.5km
  • Nearest restaurant: 5km
  • Nearest supermarket: 5km
  • Calheta Beach: 5km
  • Restaurants: 5km
  • Supermarket & Bank: 5km
  • Funchal Centre to drive: 30km


12 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money
10 out of 12 people recommend staying here
Stayed Friday 15 August 2014 with Large Group
When we arrived we were given a very rushed tour around the villa and asked to say if everything was ok to let them know now as it was a long way back to see anything. On first sight all looked fine. But once we had time to settle in we found the villa to be in need of a good clean, As we were a group of 12 adults from 2 families and booked in as such we would have expected to have 12 glasses 12 cups etc but this is not the case and most of the cups provided had no handles. When we went down to the pool we found that there was only 7 sunbeds set out around the pool, we did find some more hidden away in the games room, which after a good wash down we were able to use. One of the shower rooms had glass in the shower tray - which indicates that this room was not cleaned before our arrival, the shower room on the second floor is dangerous as the water from the shower head aims directly at the overhead light which just a bulb hanging from the ceiling. The socket behind the double bed on the second floor is dangerous and hanging out of the wall. I did try to call Quinn but got no answer and as he said he would be back on the Friday with clean towels decided it could wait, however as Quinn came on the Thursday when all but 2 were out I never got the opportunity to speak to him. As the holiday had taken a lot of organizing we decided to make the most of it and had a really great time. The island is beautiful and Nelson - the taxi driver- is a must if you want to take a tour of the different areas. -
Owner reply:

We appreciate our guests taking the time to leave a review or to give us constructive feedback about how we may improve our villa. However, this review is very perplexing and is full of inaccurate or misleading statements. Taking the time to get our names right would have also been curteous. With regards to the implied "rushed" tour of the house, we think some consideration might have been give to the lateness of the arrival of these guests and also the nervousness of having show people around your home whilst trying to communicate in a language which you are no way fluent in i.e. in English, not Portuguese. There was no intention to "rush" the "tour" and as can be seen from other reviews by non-English guests we take time to properly welcome our guests and to try and make them feel at home. We are completely confused by the comments about the things we have in our kitchen i.e. not having 12 glasses or 12 cups etc. We counted these after we saw the review and found we had over 30 glasses, 21 cups and 25 dinner plates. As can be seen by other reviews our villa has well stocked kitchens. We are also in the process of stocking our third kitchen in the games room to better enjoy the outside brick BBQ. All the cups we provide have handles, however, reading the review left by these guests in the guest book we see this comment is actually about the plastic beakers we supply for use by toddlers or for drinking by the pool. These items were bought without handles and are not broken as may be implied by this review. We have no idea what the comment regarding only 7 sunbeds around the pool refers too. We had 12 sunbeds out by the pool for the previous guests to use and didn't remove any after they left that day and before these guests arrived the same evening. We can't even begin to imagine how there could be glass in any of the showers, and this does not indicate the room was not cleaned. We hire a cleaner, as well as checking the cleaning ourselves and take great care to ensure that the bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchens are clean before guests arrive. To say we have a shower where the shower head points to the light bulb is extremely confusing as this would mean our shower points to the ceiling and not down to the shower tray. To point to the ceiling would make it unusable - hence the confusion for us about this comment. We are glad to see that even though there were one or two minor things (especially considering the size of the house and facilities provided) which weren't to the liking of these guests, this hasn't detracted from their holiday and they did have a really great time. We have taken notice of all the comments and will do everything we can to make sure all future guests can also enjoy a lovely holiday with us.

Stayed Saturday 19 July 2014 with Family
On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. Initially the property looked amazing, however on inspection the property was dirty so we spent our first afternoon in Madeira cleaning. The games room was particularly bad and when you opened the drawers it had collections of dead bugs and cobwebs. There was no cleaner provided throughout our 3 week stay, and when I asked about changing the bedlinen, I was advised that I had a washing machine! We have stayed in many villas over the years and all have provided cleaning services, changes of bed linen and the pool was regularly cleaned, so I was quite disappointed about this response. It is such a shame as if the property was clean and better mainintained it would be a pleasure to stay in as the views and location are spectacular, although the steps to the pool are very challenging!! The locals are extremely friendly and Nelson the Taxi driver and his crew were brilliant!
Owner reply:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our villa. We make every effort to ensure our guests are happy when staying in our villa and pay particular attention to cleaning and maintaining it. We accept that the old ‘kitchen’ area in the games room wasn’t cleaned, we have only just put the games in that room and it wasn't included (as you know) in the costs you paid for your stay. We thought it was better to open the room for you to better enjoy your stay, however as it was only just set up we had thought of it just as a play area and as a separate part to the living areas of the villa itself - it is in a completely separate lower ground area. Therefore we didn’t consider that someone might go through the cupboards and draws or find a need to use them and hence they weren’t cleaned. Please accept our apologies for this. We have noted this and have now paid particular attention to cleaning that area. We take the trouble to ensure the fridges, microwaves, bathrooms, pool etc. are fully cleaned at the end of each stay ready for the next guests. In particular we had also stripped all the sofa coverings along with the bedding and sent them to the laundry to be cleaned immediately before your stay. So we were surprised to read you thought things weren't clean and you felt the need to clean. However, on asking you to tell us what wasn't cleaned you haven't been able to provide us with any detail.As you mentioned, we don’t provide a daily cleaning service for guests, although we will look into providing this service. However, we also did not advertise that we did provide this service so we are surprised you expected it. This is a rental villa not a bed & breakfast or a small hotel. We are sorry you were disappointed this service wasn’t available, but this is also reflected in the price of our villa. When you asked, upon arrival, about the cleaning service we explained politely this was not a service we provided and also politely advised there was a washing machine available if you needed it. The washing machine is an item we are regulary asked for by our guests, hence us letting you know it was there. With regards to maintaining our villa, we assume your reference is to us not providing the daily cleaning service, as we did provide you with a change of clean towels and came to clean the pool during your stay. We do most definitely take time and make an effort to ensure that the villa is regularly painted and that anything which has been damaged or broken is replaced with new items.Thank you for your appreciation of our villa and it's location. We'll let Nelson know you were happy with his service, we are sure he will be pleased. Best wishesEmma & QuimMadeiraVillaHoliday

Stayed Saturday 30 November 2013 with Friends
We have had a wonderfull time staying in Madeira thanks to this appartment. The weather in December is not the best but weve absolutely enjoyed it. Good place to start exploring the island, and a magnificent view over the banana trees and the ocean..
Stayed Thursday 03 October 2013 with Couple
We had a lovely week . It is far enough away from the hustle of big towns but the communication is so good its easy to visit anywhere on the island. Stunning views and all the facilities we needed, Its not ultra modern but it did not detract from the holiday or let us down in any way. I will return as soon as I can
Stayed Saturday 06 August 2011
For once a website that displays exactly what you get and what to expect. It looks great and it is great! Its also very quiet and unusually un touristy for a summer holiday. All six of us aged 10-78 loved it and all enjoyed the swimming pool, found the bedrooms comfortable and the kitchen perfectly supplied for self catering. The island itself has plenty to offer for all ages and tastes and is small enough that no drive took more than an hour. So glad we did not stay in Funchal which was good to visit but not to stay.
Stayed Monday 16 August 2010
First off - Madeira is very nice - different to other destinations with the sharp rugged cliffs and tropical climate. The villa is clean and comforatble. The view sitting on the balcony is fantastic and sitting there reading with a glass of wine is a good way to spend the evening. The steps down to the pool (2 flights) are a bit of a pain (you have to go out of the property and down stairs at the side off the road) - but the pool itself is large and clean. Given the steps not recommened for small children. In walking distance - There is a basic bar nearby which is friendly and has sky tv for the football (if your interested) and sells ice creams and sweets and children are welcome. There is a small, very basic shop a bit further in the same direction. A car is essential - we booked via the hotel Jardim Atlantico - and used a taxi to get there. We did use taxis other times too and Nelson is very friendly and helpful. The airport transfer (not Nelson) was a bit mad - very fast driver - bit scary. The beach at Calheta isnt far (although you need to drive or taxi) is very good, there is a supermarket and other shops and tourist office - we booked whale watching - highly recommended - one of the highlights of the holiday - perhaps as wed never seen a whale before! Other trips Id recommend Sao Vicente and its caves - and although other reviews say it is overprices I thought it good value. Valette is nice and the cable car and sleigh worth doing - but are expensive. The water aprk is very cheap - I think I paid more for parking than I did for entry for 1 adult and 2 children. The water park itself is small and the slides are all fairly tame if your used to bigger water parks. There is a very cheap lido like pool at Porto Moniz which also has an aquarium. Overall I was happy with Madeira and Casa Vista do Ledo.
Stayed Monday 24 May 2010
We were whisked to the house by taxi at break-neck speed from the airport and decided that our decision to do without a car was indeed wise! The house was comfortably furnished and being elevated gave very good views. It was a surprise to find our living space was in fact a floor of a house,at street level,with 2 self-contained apartments below which were not let whilst we were there, so this gave us the sole use of the pool. The pool was sited on the lower floor level, meaning quite a few steps down to it from where we were-not quite as convenient , but it was an excellent pool, very well-maintained.The bed was extremely comfortable, much better than any other holiday! There was a generous supply of towels too. We chose not to have meals in the kitchen though, as it had no view and was rather soul-less. There was an electric kettle supplied and this was not mentioned on the list given on the web page. The owner was very pleasant and friendly and gave us the name of an excellent taxi-driver who really helped us a lot with knowing where to dro p us off for our many levada walks. It would have been helpful to have had a local bus timetable in the information folder at the house,(as this consisted mainly of restaurants), also a local map of the immediate area-though we quite soon did our own research and walked all around the area, getting to know the old walk-ways. The thing we did not like at all was the burning-off of rubble/vegetation by the local plantation-owners-nearly every day there seemed to be smoke from somewhere! The speed of traffic through the area has to be seen to be believed, thankfully the road wasnt too busy. At weekends there were several loud/noisy cannon-fire blasts to mark local community celebrations, a tradition we found rather annoying! Apart from these irritations, we had a lovely time, thoroughly enjoyed our daily walks, lovely flowers everywhere in May/June. The cooking facilities were very good at the house, with high quality pans, china and cutlery,so cooking was no burden-especially as the fresh produce was of such wonderful quality and reasonably-priced. Many thanks.
Owner reply:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy that you had a good holiday whilst staying with us. The house style is a traditional Madeiran terraced one, being situated on a mountainside. It therefore comprises of three different levels. Our propertys rental accommodation is located at street level and is extremely spacious, as I am sure you appreciated. The pool is located at the lower ground level and all guests are of course guaranteed sole use of the private pool. We are pleased to say that we have now created a lovely dinning area outside for our guests to be able to eat their meals in the lovely Madeiran air. We hope that you will return to our Villa to experience this and the lovely views once again. Best wishes.

We were delighted with our stay at Quim and Emma! We were 6 adults and 6 children. The house was consistent with the large and spacious announcement: two kitchens, multiple bedrooms and multiple bathrooms, a swimming pool, several balconies with a breathtaking view! Hosting by Quim was perfect! He was there for our arrival and was very helpful and nice. More from our reservation, Quim and Emma maintained a correspondence with us by email in order to best respond to our needs and requests. The surroundings are very quiet and very relaxing. There is even a playground for children 3 minutes. Anyway do not hesitate! And book with Quim and Emma! Magali and friends.
Directions to the property were difficult to follow on strange roads with many tunnels. Good welcome from the helpful owner Quinn when we did finally arrive. Property was described accurately. Excellent sea fishing opportunities from the harbour were not mentioned but may be important to some people. Locals were very welcoming as were the taxi drivers.
Thank you Emma and Quim. We had a lovely holiday in your beautiful villa. Emma, you answered my emails very quickly and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely welcome on arrival from Quim. The villa was very clean and spacious. We didnt hire a car as we just wanted a relaxing chill out holiday with a bit of walking in this beautiful country. We got our shopping in the local supermarket who were very friendly and we got to know them. The local people are so friendly and appreciated our basic attempts at Portugeuse e.g hello, goodbye, please, thank you etc. The villa has breathtaking views and we never tired of them. We hope to go back in th future and will be recommending to family and friends.
The property is clean and airy and has fabulous views. It is in a quiet, rural village which is a peaceful oasis from busy normal life! The pool is down steep steps but once there, it is wonderful! The breezes keep the villa cool at all times. Madeira is a most beautiful island and the villa is a perfect base to explore this beauty.
We have recently returned from a brilliant weeks stay at Casa Vista de Ledo. We found the villa to be very spacious, comfortably accommodating 4 adults, a 3 year old and a baby. The cot and highchair provided were of a high standard. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. Although the pool had to be accessed via a number of outdoor steps we still made plenty of use of it and enjoyed relaxing there taking in the amazing views of the sea and mountains. The villa is well located only a short drive (or half an hour walk) from Calheta where there is a lovely beach, supermarket and many good eateries. There is also a very reasonable bar just a short walk up the road where beers were less than a euro each and the ponchas (local drink of sugar-cane brandy, honey and lemon juice) were lethal! The taxi transfers arranged for us to and from the airport were reliable and the local taxi driver Nelson was very helpful although we hired cars for a few days so didnt need to make much use of him. Overall a fab holiday and would definitely recommend this villa.
Owner reply:

Hi Wendy & family,We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us, its our aim to ensure our guests have happy and enjoyable holidays, so we are really glad you and you family were happy with all the things we provided in the house - particularly the items for your little ones - and that you found the airport taxi transfers to be good and reliable. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We hope to see you at the Villa again sometime. Best wishes

2 other reviews
We came back from Casa do Vista in Calheta a couple of weeks ago and wish we had never had to leave! The villa was lovely - clean, spacious, very well equipped for us and the kids and set in such an amazing location! The views were stunning and so peaceful. Pool area was lovely and relaxing and our two little girls (aged 2&3) loved it. I could have sat on the balcony looking at the views all day every day! The local taxi driver Nelson was fantastic and so helpful. He took us out to eat almost every night and regular trips to the beach and supermarket. Everything is close by, the sandy beach is the only one on the island and the girls loved it. Local cafes along the marina promenade were great and the supermarket stocked everything we needed. Weve been looking for this holiday for years, staying at many differnet villas, this one beats them all! We will definitely be going back as soon as we can! Thank you for a lovely time.
Thanks so much for a lovely holiday! Just like to say how amazing the view is from this place! We stayed on the ground level at the Porto Mare in Funchal for the first part of our holiday (although great, we could have been anywhere). The location of this villa gave us a sense of the true Madeira. It is such a peaceful and calm place that we have felt really relaxed as a family. Our 3 year old loved the swimming pool area and we really enjoyed spending time on the sunbeds looking out at the sea. The facilities for our 9 month old were great and all good quality. The local supermarket has nice fresh produce which was handy for lunch but we tended to eat out in the evenings. Will definitely be back!A.Mitra, Leeds, UK.


About the owner
Myself and my Madeiran partner are based in Madeira and really enjoy looking after our Villa. We decided to start renting out our villa, for holidays, because we wanted to show what it was like to holiday in the real Madeira - not the busy city. Arco da Calheta has the really typical, rural, Madeiran feel, just right to experience what it would be like to live in Madeira and be a local! We hope we can make your stay with us every bit as enjoyable as it is to live in Madeira.
Owner score 1240
Calendar updated: 27 days ago
Last logged in: 12 days ago
Located in: Portugal
Joined: July 2009