Request booking

Contact owner

Overview

This refurbished and redecorated airconditioned apartment offers a high standard of luxury and comfort. It is on the ground floor of a low rise group of apartments, offering maximum privacy in a resort location.

It has two twin bedrooms, two bathrooms (one en-suite) and a fold-up double sofa bed (or two single inflatable beds as an alternative) to sleep a maximum of six.

The spacious lounge/dining area with satellite TV, DVD and free internet access leads out onto a partially shaded marble sun terrace with loungers overlooking beautifully landscaped gardens.

Fully registered as a rental property with the Portuguese authorities - registration number 37648/2010.

Apartment facilities
The apartment has two twin rooms (one with TV and en-suite bathroom with bath and shower). The second bathroom has a large walk-in shower.

The modern kitchen is fully equipped with fridge, freezer, hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, and a wide range of pots, dishes and utensils.

Towels and bed linen are provided. Please provide own beach towels.

Weekly maid service is provided. Additional maid serivce is available on request. Cot/high chair available at additional cost.

Free broadband internet access available in apartment (bring your own laptop - access code will be provided).

The Alto Golf & Country Club Resort
The Alto Golf & Country Club is situated close to the centre of the fishing village of Alvor, with its narrow cobbled streets and wide range of restaurants.

The resort is set in 18 acres of sub-tropical gardens, pools and waterfalls. Facilities include a large swimming pool, two floodlit tennis courts, a putting green, indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna, jacuzzi, snooker and shuffleboard. There is a gourmet restaurant (open all year) overlooking the pool, and a seasonal poolside restaurant and bar.

Guests can enjoy the use of Alto 18 hole golf course nearby, designed by Sir Henry Cotton.

Summary:

Ground floor 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment, fully refurbished and redecorated, at Alto Golf & Country Club in Alvor, Algarve. Close to beaches.

Facilities

Property type: Apartment

Room details

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms, sleeps 6

Bedroom 1: 1 Single bed
Bedroom 2: 1 Single bed

Additional beds:
1 double sofa bed located in Lounge
Seats:
Room for 6 in the dining area
Room for 4 in the living area
Bathrooms:
2 bathrooms, 2 Separate WC's

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
CD player
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet
Radio
TV Languages in Local
Heating and air con:
Air conditioning
Central heating
Household:
Clothes drier
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Dishwasher
Fridge
Freezer
Glassware
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Kettle
Microwave
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Swimming pool:
Shared
Other:
Outside lighting
Parking
Extra information (Resort facilities include a large swimming pool, 2 floodlit tennis courts, a putting green, indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna, jacuzzi, beauty salon, snooker, shuffleboard and childrens play area. There is an a la carte restaurant (open all year) overlooking the pool, serving regional and international cuisine, as well as a seasonal poolside restaurant and bar. Guests can enjoy use of Altos own 18 hole golf course nearby. Free broadband internet use available in apartment (bring your own laptop - access code will be provided).)

Suitability

Suitable for
Infants

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Cycling
Fishing
Flying
Golf
Horse Riding
Mountain Biking
Sailling
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Shopping
Theme Park

Prices and availability

Last updated 13.02.2015


...Unavailable
...Your booking
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £731.50 per week
  • From £992.75 per week
  • From £992.75 per week
  • From £731.50 per week
  • From £731.50 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £470.25 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Discounts

Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 40 Weeks 10%
1st January to 31st December 20 Weeks 5%
Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 4 Weeks 5%
1st January to 31st December 2 Weeks 10%
Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 20 Days 15%
1st January to 31st December 13 Days 10%

Extras

This property does not have any extras set

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest beach: 1.5km
  • Nearest supermarket: 500m
  • Alvor fishing village: 1km
  • Portimao: 3km

Reviews

43 out of 43 people recommend staying here

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Facilities
Communication
Area
Value for money
Verified
Stayed Sunday 31 August 2014 with Friends
This villa is comfortably furnished with nice beds, two bathrooms, plenty of soft fluffy towels, pots and kitchen equipment. It is in a quiet location withing the complex close to the pool. It has a patio area which is in the sun from late morning onwards. The villa is within easy walking of the back gate which takes you straight into the town of Alvor. The town has retained the character of a fishing village with planty of good restaurants and bars to visit. Excellent fast wi-fi in villa a real bonus. We are already looking forward to going back to stay there next year.
Owner reply:

So glad you enjoyed your stay Ann, and thanks for your booking for next year. Most of my bookings are returning guests.

Verified
Stayed Friday 25 July 2014 with Family
We have stayrd at the Alto Club many times and were really pleased with this accomodation. The location to the pool and the gate into town was excellent. The extra little touches were really nice (hairdryers, books etc). It felt like a home from home and the whole family had a lovely holiday here!
Owner reply:

Thank you Lisa - I look forward to your visit next year againRegardsJulie

Verified
Stayed Saturday 10 August 2013 with Family
A lovely, very spacious apartment. Large master with en-suite, then second bathroom with very large walk in shower. Kitchen very well equipped. Very clean and cleaned half way through stay. A bonus of this property is the position on the complex. It is very near the large outdoor pool, but in a quiet position where no-one passed your door!! It has a large terrace area, with large table/chairs and sun loungers. Cant wait to return!!
Owner reply:

What a lovely review Ruth - thank you so much - I'm thrilled you had a good holiday and are thinking of returning.

Verified
Stayed Wednesday 29 May 2013
Another excellent holiday. Thankyou
Owner reply:

Thanks so much Louise - it was lovely to have you back again.

Verified
Stayed Sunday 07 April 2013
Another excellent holiday in this property. The apartment is ideally located within the complex. The terrace gives the apartment something extra. It is clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed it so much I have just been looking to see if it is available again later in the year. Highly recommended.
Owner reply:

I'm so pleased you had a good holiday and thanks for taking the time to submit such a positive review. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.Julie

Verified
Stayed Sunday 22 July 2012
We had stayed at Alto previously and a return trip met all our expectations and good experiences of before. The staff are extremely helpful (all speak very good English too) and very friendly. The apartment was clean, bright and everything worked well (couple of minor faults as could be expected, but nothing to dampen our holiday). The best thing about the apartment was the wireless internet access which worked without any difficulties and the proximity of the apartment to the outdoor pool area. We hope to return again. Would certainly have no reservations in recommending this apartment or Alto in general to readers.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 20 August 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. The apartment is very well equipped and decorated. Its in an ideal location and is made by the terrace, where we spent most of the time. There was plenty of hot water and the aircon was a welcome relief on the warm evenings. Overall, a great apartment that made our holiday. Thankyou.
Verified
Stayed Wednesday 27 July 2011
Lovely position - well equipped Very grateful for the de-humidifier which helped to keep the temperature warm. Service in resort excellent - Alto reception and Algarve Independent. Diana ODonnell
Verified
Stayed Sunday 16 August 2009
The apartment was of a high standard, on the well maintained Alto Golf complex. There is a good sized communal swimming pool as well as tennis courts, a well equipped gym and health club and table tennis all within the complex. The characterful town of Alvor and its beaches are within easy walking distance. We had a very enjoyable family holiday.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 23 May 2009
We loved the Villa it was very clean, smart and tidy. The location was perfect right next to the pool and Cotton Club facility. The mature plants and gardens were wonderful to be around and the dawn chorus of birds each morning made us feel like we had arrived in paradise. The short 5 minute walk into Alvor town and the 10min walk to the beach was easy to manage with no steep slopes or hills to negotiate. It was a delightful location and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody fortunate enough to want to spend time in Alvor. Perfect, simply perfect!
Verified
Stayed Monday 28 July 2008
Very nice accomodation and tastefully done throughout. Some items in need of repair such as the outside pateo furniture and the double sofa bed. Otherwise no complaints very happy with everything else and enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you for allowing us to rent your property and would happily recommend to others and bear you in mind again for the future. Kind Regards Kim.
Owner reply:

Thanks for your comments. New patio furniture purchased (July 2009) and two inflatable single beds now also available as alternative to double sofa bed.

Verified
Stayed Thursday 26 June 2008
Just back from Alto Club Apt 43A and we would strongly recommend. This is a lovely apartment and is furnished to a high standard. The owners have carefully chosen the furniture and artwork throughout to make it feel like home from home. Beds are very comfortable and the air-con ensures a good sleep every night. The apartment is close to the pool and is only a short walk from supermarket and Alvor. Slightly longer walk to the beach but worth it as the Alvor beach is lovely. The beach is nicer to the left and there are much more beach bars and restaurants. Gaynor family, Sligo, Ireland.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 17 May 2008
Clean, spacious, conveniently placed for local facilities. Beautiful complex with Cottons restaurant on site which was excellent. Everything claimed in the advertising was there. Lighting outside the apartment was not working and on the first night of our stay, I had a bad fall due to a gully being virtually invisible in the glim lighting thrown by lamps thirty metres away. I reported to the on-site office and they contacted the electricity contractors who eventually came round, repairing one light to the side of the property, but did not source the problem at the front in spite of two attempts on two different days. Not the fault of anyone at Alto Golf & C.C., as they did their best to put urgency into the situation,but workman at the local electricity board took several days for the first visit which was not helped by a National Holiday coming along. The result was still the same - an un-repaired light which provided in my opinion, inadequate and dangerous illumination. One supposes any Electrical Board in Britain would move at a similar pace with possibly similar lack of success???
Owner reply:

We are sorry about the delay in repairing the outside light, which is part of the communal area of the resort. As of our last visit there it was working fine again.

Verified
Stayed Saturday 17 February 2007
The apartment was in a convenient position for the village, restaurants and beach. Alto Golf & Country Club is a well kept resort with attractive gardens and good facilities. The apartment was clean, comfortable, spacious and well equiped, and we would be pleased to return in the future.
Verified
Stayed Friday 08 September 2006
Fantastic apartment with excellent facilities on a super complex - couldn't fault it! Would definitely recommend and would like to come back again asap!
Verified
Stayed Friday 01 September 2006
Pleasantly surprised. Property has been refurbished recently and everything was very clean and fresh with lovely modern decor and nice furnishings. Perfect location and position being an end apartment and having more terrace space for tables and chairs to sit out as well as two sun loungers. Very convenient for amenties attached with the country club. Will definately choose that property again. Thank you.
Verified
Stayed Tuesday 27 June 2006
The property is in very good condition and has all of the amenities you would expect at home. It is in a quiet area of the complex but it is still very close to the main reception and the excellent Cottons restaurant. One small criticism is that the beds are very firm but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we intend to return!
Owner reply:

Thanks for your comments. New mattresses have since been purchased for all beds (April 2009).

Verified
Stayed Saturday 27 May 2006
A very good apartment, well furnished, close to the lovely pool and with just a short walk to the village of Alvor. Great to go back to the apartment and relax on the veranda, or start the day with breakfast outdoors. We had a lovely holiday, thank you. Mike E
Verified
Stayed Saturday 16 July 2005
The apartment was very comfortable and well equipped but we had some concern that there was no inventory/damage check carried out at the beginning and end of the stay - as you pay a security deposit. Private terrace very overhung by trees so little sun gets through. Recently refurbished to high standard of decoration and equipment. Excellent facilities at Alto Club with friendly, helpful staff, it's a wonderful complex.
Owner reply:

A full detailed inventory has now been prepared and is part of the file available to renters in the apartment on arrival. Renters are asked to check the contents against the inventory and advise the owners immediately of any discrepancies. The owners regard the partially shaded patio as a "plus" given the hot weather, particularly in the summer.

Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 July 2005
Great property in a good location with just a short walk into the village. I would hope to stay again in the future and would definately recommend to others. Thanks
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 July 2005
The apartment at Alto Golf was fantastic for family or friends to enjoy a relaxing holiday on the sunny Algarve(Aug 2006). The owners' have equipped the apartment really well, with first class electrical items, e.g. dishwasher, microwave, fridge-freezer and A /C etc. The apartment is well furnished in the lounge and bedrooms, with two bright bathrooms. There is a good sized patio area, with ample tables / chairs, on which to eat 'al fresco'(especially breakfast), read or completely chill out. Highly recommended apartment and the Alto Golf complex is truly delightful.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 July 2005
Found location very convienent.Restaurant top class In complex.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 July 2005
We found the apartment to be great and it was well very well equipped. The facilities at the Alto Club were excellent and the staff were very helpful. We were very impressed with the whole place and will definitely go back again, hopefully next year for longer. The only "not so good" remark we would have to make is about the sofa bed - it was very uncomfortable - and because there was six of us, we had to use it.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 July 2005
Superb large apartment, extremely well equipped. State of the art kitchen. Use of hi-fi, DVDs etc with selection of CDs. Couldn't fault it and hope to go back again soon. Complex good, well managed and family friendly. Long walk to the superior beaches, need car for these, although more windy less attractive is a beach nearby. Cost is slightly high, would rent again sooner if fee was a little lower. Friendly rental family to deal with over the phone and whole apartment had a great personal feel to it.
Verified
Stayed Thursday 23 June 2005
Great apartment - liked the personal touches and your taste in music CDs (mostly!). This was our 5th visit to the area and it would now be difficult to choose anywhere different when we return - which we will!
Verified
Well located property close to all amenities on a well kept resort.
Owner reply:

A new sofa bed has been ordered and will be delivered by mid September..

Verified
The property has benefitted from the redecoration and some new equipment eg washer/dryer and digital TV since our previous stay. Anyone reading this may wish to read my review after our 11/2009 stay. However, there were a number of issues both on arrival and during the first 24/48 hours, which having been before, we were able to resolve where necessary for our comfort - with one exception. Our considered view is that Alto Club is for the warmer weather, only, where lounging around the outdoor pool and/or strolling to the beach are the key desires. This particular property is ideally suited for upto 4 people, with that in mind, who will also wish to sample the many bars and restaurants in the immediate area.
Owner reply:

Thank you for submitting a review. It is gratifying receiving constructive feedback - and much appreciated as we do have 'regulars' such as yourself. I am pleased that any issues were resolved successfully. Julie Bowker

Verified
I have stayed in this apartment three times and four at the Alto. I love the place.This apartment is in a perfect position to all the amenities on the complex and to the beach and town centre. The apartment is large,roomy and the aircon is very welcoming. I can only say positive things about the apartment and the Alto. i would return year on year.
Verified
I have stayed in this apartment three times and four at the Alto. I love the place.This apartment is in a perfect position to all the amenities on the complex and to the beach and town centre. The apartment is large,roomy and the aircon is very welcoming. I can only say positive things about the apartment and the Alto. i would return year on year.
Verified
We consider this to be an excellent property suitable for both adults and children as it is in easy walking distance to the pool and restaurant and the local shops.
Verified
The Apartment is very well equipped and very child friendly. If anything the description on the rental site doesnt do it justice. Overall Club Alto is quiet, very well run and the sports and pool facilities first class. The shared pool is large and a great place for kids to play and make friends. The Club also has access to free loungers on the Beach at Alvor which is a hidden benefit. Alvor itself is a great little resort full of charm and a huge range of good restaurants. Most importantly it has retained its Portuguese identity . Do try Alota for fish and the Captains table for its Piri Piri. Alvor is a great base to explore the Algarve and further afield. We went to Seville (2.5 hrs drive) for 2 days and would recommend it. We will be coming back and highly recommend both 43A, Club Alto and Alvor to any potential booker.
Verified
We have just returned from 9 days at apartment 43a and felt it was extremely good value for money. We have 2 young children and it is perfectly situated near all facilities. We would definately return.
Verified
Stayed in this appartment for a week at Easter had a great time,this property is very good value for money and will definatley stay there again.
Verified
Nice appartment , have stayed at alto several times in the last 10 years so new what to expect ! This appartment will not dissapoint !
Verified
Having stopped renting c18 months ago, we knew we had to rent to go back to the Alto Club. Even months ago, there was little choice but the owners of 43A struck us as extremely pleasant and very professional. However, we again "misread the tea leaves" 43A is much better than we thought from the description and pictures. For example, * there were toilet rolls replaced by the maids, salt for the table and TV channels (the 4 main terresterial and the 4 main Sky) for the cooler evenings * the property is spacious particularly the lounge, main bedroom and bathrooms * the location is away from the Alvor road system and is quiet : indeed, it is really the ground floor semi of a 3 property block albeit linked "narrowly" to another block of 4 yet we hardly heard a sound from upstairs and they were living there the whole time. As for the Club itself, whilst there are clearly some challenges ahead on the ownership, this should in no way detract from staying there. The communal facilities were fine and the staff most pleasant and, if required, helped one out - except for one who is leaving by 31/12. We will go again and have no hesitation in asking the owners to use 43A. Enjoy!
Verified
There was a problem with rats outsde the property which we reported.The staff were quick to respond and got the necessary posion put down. It put a little damper on the holiday as the ladies would not sit outside Philip
Owner reply:

We are obviously concerned that you saw a rat in the resorts communal area. The resort management employ pest control specialists on an ongoing basis, with traps etc in place around the resort. Hopefully this was an isolated incident. We are pleased that the resort management attended to this promptly.

Verified
It is a lovely apartment, extremely well located and the owners are very helpful. My only grumble would be that the details said there was a children's play area and there isn't, which I'd viewed as a big plus point when I booked, it also disappointed my little one. The photo you display looks as though the grass area is enclosed and attached to the apartment which is not the case - again, this had been a plus point when I booked. Lastly it could have done with a guest book so you could read about other guests recommendations of where to eat out etc. Overall though, I'm a fussy traveler and I was extremely happy with the standard of accommodation and the resort. Thank you.
Owner reply:

Thanks for your comments. There used to be a childrens play area, but Alto removed it and, as we do not have small children, we were unaware of that. Our website has since been updated.

Verified
We had an a fabulous holiday and as the ages ranged from 70 down to 5 i was concerned that not everyone would be entertained. How wrong i was,it was a perfect holiday in a perfect apartment and perfect complex and Alvor is just wonderful. We will definetly be returning.
Verified
Excellent apartment. Well equipped and plenty of space. I have stayed in a few apartments at the Alto Club and this one is definitely the best one yet. Plenty to do for children. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Selection of restaurants in Alvor is fantastic.
Verified
A very clean and bright apartment with good facilities. The location is excellent, very near to the pool and bar area. The only criticism of the holiday which has no reflection on the apartment is that the food in the bar was very poor.
Verified
this property was superb. we had a brilliant 2 weeks staying here in this well equiped apartment, and the excellent alto club. i would recommend it to anyone, it was five star. the owners have done an excellent job with the decor and equipment, it is obvious it is their pride and joy! would definitely stay there again, as we have been spoiled!
Verified
Very complete and spacious apartment, and well equipped. Only remark is that the beds are on the firm side of being hard, even for 'robust' sleepers like ourselves. But that really is the only improvement we would consider.
Owner reply:

Thanks for your comments. We have since purchased new mattresses for all beds in the apartment.

Verified
Lovely apartment equipped to a very high standard. Clean and comfortable. Alto Reception were friendly and efficient at sorting out any problems. We have a young family and the owners went out of their way to enquire about a cot and high chair. Great location too. Will consider returning, which is a first for us!!!

Owner

About the owner
We have owned and run furnished self-catering holiday accommodation in England, Wales and Portugal since 2002.
Owner score 2200
Calendar updated: a year ago
Last logged in: 9 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: April 2005