Request booking

Contact owner

Riad Dar Sabah in Marrakech


Welcome to the Riad "Dar Sabah", a traditional and authentic house located in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech. Dar Sabah is a XVIII century house, restored in 2005 in the traditional moroccan style. This riad is situated in a little derb (street) in the Riad Laarouss district. You will only be 10 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square and 5 minutes away from the souq. Combining the elegance of XIX century French furnitures and oriental refinement, Dar Sabah will make your stay in Marrakech memorable. You will find a nice patio with a plunge pool, a Moroccan lounge, a very nice lounge with a XVIII century ceiling, four double bedrooms (two bedrooms which can be modified with two single beds) and a roof terrace. We look forward to welcoming you in Dar Sabah.


Dar Sabah is an traditional Moroccan house in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech.


Property type: House

Room details


4 bedrooms, sleeps 8

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 3: 2 Single beds
Bedroom 4: 2 Single beds

Additional beds:
Room for 8 in the dining area
Room for 8 in the living area
3 bathrooms, 3 Separate WC's

Indoor facilities

Hair dryer
Iron / board
Pots / pans
Towels / linen

Outdoor facilities

Extra information (Bedroom are non smoking but of course you can smoke in the patio or in the roof terrace.)


Suitable for

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Horse Riding
Mountain Biking
Scuba Diving
Sports Center
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Historic Site
Theme Park

Prices and availability

Last updated 07.07.2012

...Your booking

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 14 Days 10%


This property does not have any extras set


This is exact location

  • Nearest beach: 99km
  • Nearest restaurant: 15km
  • Nearest supermarket: 15km
  • Jemaa El Fna Square: 2km
  • Atlas Mountains: 50km
  • Atlantic Ocean Essaouira: 150km


29 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money
24 out of 29 people recommend staying here
Stayed Thursday 15 July 2010
We went as a family of 8 people, we arranged for Hassan the house keeper to meet us at the airport, we were relieved to see him waiting for us there as our flight was delayed by 2 hours, he was extremely helpfull in booking taxis for us and giving us tips on where to visit places in Marrakech. The house it self does need re- decorating and the down stairs bathrooms do have damp problems. I think it would have been nice to have a fan in the rooms as it use to get very warm at night. The house it self was extremely beautiful and very close to djemaa el fina. If modern ameneties does not bother you then this is the perfect place to stay. More variety at breakfast time would have been nice as well.Fatima the cleaner was very friendly as well and really made us feel at home, Hassan made our trip a totall success he was extremely helpful wit
Stayed Saturday 13 March 2010
Excellent value for money. The property is in need of a little tlc but that is more than reflected in the rental cost. The roof terrace was lovely as were both the outdoor and indoor living space. The indoor living room is particularly good, traditionally decorated and furnished. We found Riad Dar Sabah to be an oasis of peace in a very active place. The location for the square and Medina are excellent as the riad is right in the centre of things. The housekeeper, Hassan, made our holiday a total success. He met us at the airport and was available whenever needed. He was very helpful with advice, support and directions. Both Hassan and the cook, Fatima, were very friendly.
Stayed Saturday 20 February 2010
The Riad in Marrakech was fantastic and catered for our needs very well. We went as a group of three couples. Hassan (the housekeeper) met us at the airport and arranged a taxi to the Riad for us. The Riad was only 15 mins from the airport and was right in the old town which meant we got a real experience of Marrakech. The walk to the square was also pretty close which meant that we were in easy access of anything we required. The Riad has 4 bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, courtyard, large dining room and roof terrace. Hassan was very kind in helping arrange taxis for our excursions to the Ourika Valley, Oukaimeden (where we went skiing!) and quad biking. In the mornings Fatima would come in and cook breakfast ready for us getting up, and then clean our rooms. If I visit Marrakech again I would definitely consider staying in this Riad again. Peter
Stayed Saturday 06 February 2010
It is a lovely riad in the heart of the medina. In parts, it could do with re painting. Hassan is a very kind friendly man who helped us a lot. We were a party of 5 women and Hassan took great care of us. Fatima was also lovely. We managed to communicate despite our basic knowledge of French. I did arrange with the owner to be met at the airport but unfortunately we was not. So after waiting for some time and trying to call the telephone number on the print out we had to get taxis. I would definitely recommend the riad as it is ideally situated. I can not praise Hassan enough for his welcome, friendliness and help during our stay.
Stayed Friday 30 May 2008
The housekeepers services were very disappointing. He did not make us feel welcome when we arrived. He did not explain what the procedures were for the property. on showing us the rooms on arrival we were shocked that the bed covers that were pictured on the iternet were removed thoughout the whole of our stay. This in our opinion was very cheap and tacky. Instead we were left we with old dull blankets and sheets. Breakfast was not explained so a member of our group with her 3 children was left waiting for 1 and half hours. Only on noticing the housekeeper eatiang his breakfast in the kitchen that she enquired. Hes reply was the normally guest wait for the whole party to be up and then have breakfast which was disappointing since they were all very hungry after a long hours of travelling. On the first day he complained rather than explained that the lights in the hall upstairs had been left on during the night. The fact was that becuase he hadnt explained where everything was including the light switches we were unable to turn them off completely. After apologiesing to him we did explain that it wasnt until the morning that we familarised ourselves with exactly were the switches were and for what. We also found that on the first 2 night there was hot water availabe but not so much on the subsequent nights. The whole property is not in our opinion suitable for families with children, we found the terrace was were very low which raises questions about health and safety. The master room we were exempt from because of the furniture that was in there which was dsappinting. There was a fountain downstairs in the lounge area that had stale water in it. It was also full and very deep. Considering we had very young children no attempts were made to make it safe. We were made to feel very apprehensive being in the property. Since the housekeeper complained rather than talked he didnt go out of his way to be friendly and informative. ie the clocks went forward and he could have infomed us of this since we had made plans and a lot of them we had to miss. We felt that there was an atmosphere every time he was present which was not very nice at all. One of our group members young child wets the bed and every effort was made to protect the bedding by placing a plastic cover between the mattress cover and mattress. However on one night the mattress protector became wet and this became a problem to the housekeeperf who claimed he would have a problem explaining this to the owner since these covers dont get washed. Naturally this raised our concerns about the level of hygiene maintenance at this property. It would have been nice to have had access to a TV or radio, however this was not provided. We were fortunate that a member of our party spoke Arabric. As the housekeeper didnt seem to speak or understand English. On a final note we would not recommend this property to a family with young children but on a positive note the location however was great!
Owner reply:

Dear Miss Denise Stultz,Thank you very much for your comments. I am very surprised about your comments about Hassan the housekeeper. As you can read the previous reviews, all the customers were very happy with him. There is few points I would like to clarify.The first day you arrived, you were asked by Hassan at what time would you like your breakfast to be served. There was no answer form you and that is why Hassan were just waiting for you to tell him. You booked the house through villarenters and it was confirmed for 8 people (2 woman and 4 children). Can you please explain why on the first few days, there were differents MEN for breakfast? It is forbidden to bring men from outside to the house. Hassan and I would like to keep Dar Sabah reputation with the customers and the neighbours. I think you were in the wrong house. I can understand now why you were upset with Hassan since he asked to stop bringing these people.When you arrived on the first day, the bed covers were on the bed. When Hassan realised that few of your child used to wet the bed, he decided to remove them. On the second night, he fold one of them on the side of the room, he found it the following day on the floor, unfold and wet. The bed linen and matress covers are washed all the time when the guets leave. Because of the dammage, I had to buy new bed covers. I think in term of hygiene, you should look at yourself first. I should mention as well about the drawing of your child of the wall. You forgot to mention it as well. You should understand that when you rent a house, you should respect it the same way as it was yours. The fountain as you said is mention as a plundge pool in the description (size 2.5mx2.5m by 80cm deep, a bit big for a fountain???). If you look at any other property with a pool, there is no protection. If you would have asked Hassan, he could have keep an eye on your child as apparently you were far too busy to do so.There is no TV or radio in the house but I never said that there were some. You knew about it.You need to understand that the staff has to be treated in a nice way. Dont be surprised they were not happy with you after all the thing you did.Thank you once again for your comments but next time please make sure you explain the full situation.Thank you once again to all our previous customers who enjoy their stay in Dar Sabah.

Stayed Sunday 17 February 2008
When you visit the palaces and old buildings in Marrkech you realise how lucky you are staying at Dar Sabah. The 30' lounge is magnificently decorated and furnished, the courtyard a haven of tranquility. Hassan is a vital asset to introduce you to the area you are staying and direct you to the best restaurants. Dar Sabah is just on the border between visitors Marrakech and locals Marrakech. Turn right out of the alley and you go through the tourist souks to the main Jma el Fna Square, turn left and you are looking at local food shops and bicycle repairmen and the mosques. We would have liked to stay in the summer when we could have used the rooftop terrace and the shade would have been cooling. In February we felt a bit damp at times, the paint on the walls was peeling and one of the two bathrooms smelled a bit from lack of use. Nevertheless we had a great time, in 6 days only one day was consistently warm/hot but we had brightness most of the time and rain rarely. There was plenty to do for a week, we only took one excursion out of town, and we fell into a pattern of Hassan leading us to a new destination each morning and finding our own way in the afternoon. In the evenings we would let Hassan take us to a new restaurant (assuming he gets a commission in kind) or we would book our own. We were not totally comfortable self catering as Maria comes in each morning to provide breakfast and you feel the need to clean up properly, that you are using someone else's kitchen. We just used the kitchen for coffee and drinks and once or twice sandwich lunches. Marrakech is definitely not Europe but you should feel confident with the locals, they are generally helpful, greet everyone with a smile and only brush off the most rudely persistent. You will benefit greatly. We want to go back to Dar Sabah with a full party of eight (be aware that the bedrooms are not all equal and there may be the need to negotiate) in the better weather confident that it will be excellent value.
Stayed Sunday 25 November 2007
What an amazing and magical property. Located directly in the heart of the Medina, this delightful four bedroom riad became our quiet oasis and retreat. But one step out the door and we were in the market and old city. I had been warned that many places don't have western toilets or hot water. Not so for us. We had 2 beautiful bathrooms and wonderful hot showers every day. Sitting on the roof patio drinking wine and watching the stars will forever remain a cherished memory of mine. Definitely get met at the airport. Hassan was a delight and made sure all our guests arrived safely and helped everyone navigate the medina. I can't say I've ever had a more comfortable, enjoyable or authentic stay in a foreign country.
Stayed Saturday 11 February 2006
Having recently stayed at the Riad and read the reviews before departing I was dissapointed to find that the dampness issues had not been resolved. It was evident that the property needed some attention but having said that the grandness of the Riad overshadowed this.It was kept exceptionally clean by Fatima the cook on a daily basis. It was ideally situated for the souks and the famous Jem-el-Fna square.We felt that we certainly had good value for money and will recommend this property to anyone wishing to visit Marrakech.Having arranged to be met by Hassan the hosekeeper at the airport we were very anxious on arrival because our flight was delayed 2 hours so you can imagine our relief in finding him there waiting for us.Hassan is an extreamly polite, courteous and very helpfull person.Hassan never tired of answering any of our questions and was able to advise us on places to visit as well as arrange transport for us. This was our first visit to Morroco and we all agree that it certainly will not be our last.
Stayed Saturday 11 February 2006
The riad is great value for money with 4 bedrooms and sleeping for 8. The property is a good size and the furniture and lounge is very grand, and the ceiling is a real feature. However the property could do with a bit of decoration and there is some damp problem that needs dealing with, the ground floor bedrooms smell damp and musty, (but maybe this was because we went in february). The house keepers are very helpful and friendly. With some fresh paint and the damp problem solved this would be perfect. The property has charachter and you can tell it was very grand once, just needs a little attention now. Property benefits from a nice splash pool feature in the courtyard and a large roof top terrace. If you are looking for perfect decoration and modern luxuries this is not for you. However if you are seeking the true charachter and culture of Morocco and are a bit more robust this property certainly has many wonderful features.
Stayed Saturday 11 February 2006
Hi, I am booked to stay at the riad from 21st until 26th of December. I have contacted the owner VARIOUS times but no reply..especially i paid the WHOLE this website a scam? please reply...i need to make sure we have a place to stay in morrocco!!! Thanks
Owner reply:

Dear Mrs Azzahraa,I contacted you many times and we agreed for the arrival dates. I do not understand as you are leaving now a review and you did not even stay at the Riad as you booked end of December. If the Riad was not secured, it will not be allowed and customers will not leave positive comments.

I stayed with my family at the Riad over Xmas and I must say we loved it. Its well located, has a grand salon, a lovely roof terrace and Hassan and Fatima have treated us very well. So, no complains here. There is a BUT, however. It would be so so pleasant if one would spend a bit of money to redo the ground floor of the Riad. its just not healthy and aesthetically appealing to have moisture and peeling paint in the rooms, entrance and bath rooms. It would be an oasis and worth twice the money or more. It is just that bit of maintenance that lacks to make things really amazing. I would go back there any time.
Where do i start. First the owner is in dubai so it almost impossible to get hold of him, and he rarely replys. Noone was at the airport to collect us. When we arrived in medina we had to ask locals to help us find the address which was not a good experience as they expected us to pay them. The area is not decent every corner i turned there were people trying to sell us drugs(hashish) so i wont advise people with children to stay there. Before you get to the property you have to walk through alleyways which can be scary especially at night. I arrived there in december 2011 and trust me its cold at night especially in a property of that size. Anyway when we finally found the property the house keeper wasnt home so we had to wait around 30 min for him. When he arrived we took a look inside, the property was not so bad the rooms were nice and clean but the view outside was aweful. I felt like i was in a ghetto in south africa. Hasan the house keeper was very annoying and disrespectful and he told us he would be staying in the property with us. None of us trusted him with our passports and luggage so we decided to leave the property and the area. Medina is a great place to visit but trust me you dont want to be staying out there, the area has a lot of poverty and full of people trying to con you, at times the prices are more expensive then england. We left medina and stayed in Gilis 2 miles from medina. Hotel babylon, mohammed 6. The area and apartment was a million times better, we ended up having a great time. My advise to anyone going to marrakesh would be always barta with them none of them are honest especislly the taxi drivers. Ive been to india and pakistan but these taxi drivers take the biscuit. Good luck.
We loved staying here. The walk through the alleyways to the property when we first arrived was a little off-putting - but when we got in, the house was great and proved to be a fantastic haven from the sensory assault of the Medina outside. The location is very good. The kids loved the plunge pool and it was great to lounge around on the seats on the ground floor in the hottest part of the day. The main room in the first floor is beautiful and it was lovely to start the day with breakfast there, and to sit in there reading later. Hasan was brilliant - showing us around on the first night and helping us to get transport when we needed it. He was always there when we needed him but never intrusive. Fatima, who made breakfast for us, was a happy, smiling presence and also never intrusive. The only downside was the peeling paint in a couple of places which wasnt an issue as the week went on, but was a bit off-putting at first. It seemed that it wouldnt take much to put right. Overall, though, we really enjoyed staying here, it represented brilliant value and we would certainly recommend it to others.
This property was a perfect choice for us. We wanted to go somewhere a bit special for our tenth wedding anniversary and thats what we got. We had both made brief visits to Morocco before but this was the first time wed spent any time in Marrakech. The house is situated in the Medina five minutes from the souks, ten minutes from Djmaa El fna - a perfect location, just as advertised. Personally, i loved being in the centre of the old city which was still the place Peter Mayne or Paul Bowles would recognise. The house is splendid. Caron and I rattled around a bit to be honest. It is too big for just the two of us really but wed managed to leave the kids behind with my mum, and so enjoyed sprawling out in all that space. The huge salon - with its handpainted ceiling and eclectic collection of antique furniture - was like something out of a stately home. The house is clean and cool, and Hassan the perfect host. Unobtrusive most of the time, he is ready with helpful suggestions about where to go and what to see when called upon. He even negotiated the price for a trip to Essaouira for us. Were definitely going back. With children and friends next time.
The riad was ideally situated near to the souks and was reasonably priced for the size of the property. However the riad was in need of a lot of tlc,especially downstairs,had no a/c,and the noise from the surrounding properties ,until the early hours was unbearable at times!! The riad with some much needed work done could be a wonderful property,however the noise factor and damp throughout the downstairs somewhat ruined the whole experience. We enjoyed the location,but being unable to sleep each night until past 3 am,soured the holiday somewhat for us.
Owner reply:

Dear Mr Andrew,Thank you very much for your message. I m sorry to hear your disappointment about the Riad. Some work will be done recently. That is the reason why the rent is low. It is mentioned anyway that there is no AC in the Riad. Concerning the noise, the Riad is located in a very quiet area but you were in Marrakech during Ramadan and as people are fasting day time, they are out all night before the first prayer which is at around 4.30 in the morning. Once again I m sorry for the problem you had.Kind regards,

hi, me and family resided at this property in 2008, i wasnt too sure at first because of certain reviews, but i decided to just go for it as it was a very convenient location... im glad i did as i had an amazing time in marrakech and one of the reasons was this riad . Dar Sabah was beautiful, it had a great ambience, location, clean, cheap, big.... it was almost a homely palace ! Fatima and Hassan the house keepers were amazing, thay went out of their way to make sure we were content whilst we were there, hassan was like our guardian whilst the stay and also helped us by showing us the best place to go to at the market and also booking excursions with the taxi driver the riad uses. me and my cousins had a spiritual, learning & fun experience, and we made great relations with the staff , whom we still stay in touch with . .... and hopefully going back ther this year !! definitely worth residing at. assalamualaykum .
During the booking process the owner assured me that the housekeeper Hassan would be able to meet us at the airport. However, during the 4 weeks leading up to the holiday the owner ignored all 6 of the emails I sent and no-one ever answered the telephone numbers that were provided. We arrived in Marrakech with no-one to meet us at the airport, struggled through the cobbled streets with poor directions, desperately trying to find the Rhiad. With help from some locals we located it, but no-one was in. We were stranded in Marrakech with a small child. It was only after 5 frantic hours that we were able to get hold of Hassan who had no idea that we were booked into the Rhiad. The Rhiad itself is in desperate need of decoration with the 2 downstairs bedrooms and the bathrooms having large patches of damp on the walls which was very smelly. The bed linens were clean as were the toilet/shower etc. Good location, Fatima and Hassan were very helpful and an enjoyable time was had by all despite the shakey start.
The house was magnificent and in a very good position. Although it needed a bit of painting and renovation it was generally of a very high standard and comfortable. We soon got used to finding our way around the bustling souks with help initially from Hassan. Fatima prepared breakfast each morning and produced well cooked meals for us to heat up some evenings. Very good value for money.
After reading all the reviews to Riad Dar Sabah I decided that this would be the Riad I would be staying at for my trip to Morocco, and I must say it was by far the best decision I made. The holiday was everything I had hoped for. Altogether there was 6 of us guys at the Riad for one week, and I speak for each and every one of us when I say we had an absolutely wonderful time. The property is looked after by Hasan and Fatimah, what can I say about these two beautiful people? Fatimah is at the property every morning without fail and cooks a really nice breakfast and cleans the whole place (you cant even tell shes there most of the time, but you definitely know once shes left as the place is left spotless) A wonderful lady. Hasan.... Where do I begin? The man is a true Berber... Honest, loyal, trustworthy... He was always looking out for us on the trip and ever present when we needed him! (He stays in a room accessed from the terrace) Even though we didnt speak French or Arabic very well between us, we managed to communicate with Hasan just fine. The Riad is situated in the Medina and if youre going to Marrakech for Marrakech, then this place is ideally located. Its about 10mins or less from Djemaa el Fna and 5mins from the Souks. The Riad itself had everything we needed, Satellite TV etc wasnt needed as we were too busy exploring Marrakech and the Ourika or sunbathing on the terrace which is also well looked after. All in all I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech and If I visit again, which is likely, I will be staying at Riad Dar Sabah for sure.
The Riad was a really nice riad which just fell short of being a special riad. Paintwork needs touching up, at least 1 room with air condition would have helped, Only Riad in the neighbourhood without Satelite TV and we were not sure if it was a plunge pool or a showpiece, Restroom could do with some more air. This is me being picky. Because Hasan was helpful and Fatima was a hidden gem, her evening meal was by far the best we tasted in Morocco. Bedroom had alot of space, we also had 3 big spaces to lounge around in. Neighbours were really nice and helpful. Being in the madinah gave it a authentic feel and is the Riad selling point. I definitely recommend it, as it was value for money and had a authentic feel
We arrived at Riad Dar Sabah for 1 week from 10th Jun 09. We were met at the airport by the housemaster Hassan as arranged. The Riad is lovely and I think best described as an Oasis amid the turmoil and chaos that is Marrakech. The Riad is kept spotlessly clean by Fatima who also prepares a basic Moroccan breakfast for guests. Over 4 floors there is ample room for 4 couples to stay here. The location is as stated - just 10 minutes walk through the Souks to the Jemaa el Fna. We cut our week short after 4 days. This was nothing to do with Riad Dar Sabah. Hassan was lovely (a true Berber from the Atlas mountains) and will go out of his way to help any guests with almost anything - but do scrub up on your French as his English is a bit limited. We would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech that wants to live on the edge of the Souks in the Medina but please, please make sure this is what youre looking for. The souks and Marrakech in general are totally chaotic. The local dealers are clearly feeling the credit crunch as they were constantly trying to urge us into their small shops to buy, in some cases quite aggresively and beggars are rampant and on one occasion we were left with a "f**k you" comment when the beggar boy decided 10MAD wasnt enough for him and demanded paper money, not coins. So ... if you have to holiday in Marrakech, have done your research and decide that you want to live in the middle of the Medina, we can only recommend Riad Dar Sabbah highly.
Fantastic Riad - location is ideal, just 10 minutes walk from the main square. All the rooms were quite (apart from the early moring call to prayer - but its all part of the experience!) and the roof terrace was a perfect sun trap. Hussan was helpful in arranging taxis & trips although I would say you needed to speak a bit of French. Fatima was also available to cook evening meals upon request. This place is excellent value for money and I wouldnt hesitate recommending it to anyone - the only thing which could have been improved would be a toilet on the first floor. Other than that a great place to spend a week - the photos dont do the place justice.
we were pleasantly surprided, both by the house and by the support we got from the housemaster and his assistant. We wanted to stay in a authentic arab house in the Medina and although it is situated in the middle of the souks, it was quite, very arabic and big enough for our whole family (7 adults).Hassan, the housemaster arranged a lot. Not only food and drinks, but also transport for the days that we were going on excursions. We certainly had a great time and we enjoyed our stay in Marrakech very much.
We loved staying at Riad Dar Sabah. It is very central and was our refuge when we needed a break from the full on experience of Marrakech. The plunge pool was welcome relief from hot days and the terrace was a lovely place to sit and admire the starry sky at night. The housekeepers looked after us fantastically -breakfasts on the terrace were wonderful and we had a different type of bread each day. Being able to speak a little French does help. They were so discreet that the fact they are on site didnt impose on us at all - we enjoyed treating the palace as if it was our own! Being Marrakech, all the houses are quite close together so with it being hot in August and schoolchildren off, sometimes late at night there is a fair bit of neighbourly noise coming through the open windows and courtyard - just television, music and sometimes lively youngsters playing in the street outside. This didnt bother us too much, but if youre looking for pure peace and quiet, it might be something to consider at this time of year. We would recommend it.
Hassan the housekeeper was excellent really helpfull
This was a lovely break we had in February, the accommodation is fascinating and very comfortable, the provision of breakfasts welcomed, the housekeeper caring and discrete, the location ideal if you want to be near to the souks and the heart of the medina and we would visit again without hesitation.
This Riad representsexcellent value for money. On arrival. the preseantation of the property was extraordinary. All rooms, but especially the dining room, were clean, spacious enough and welcoming! I think this provided extraordinary value for money. The ad mentioned the live in housekeeper who was willing to help with a few problems we had (none were related to the riad!) However, it should be noted he lives on site and so if you want your privacy you may want to think about this. The only slight bone of contention is that I think we were charged more than the going rate for taxi's booked through the housekeeper. I would recomend using Petit Taxi's on a meter rather than the grand taxi's. Two petit taxis you flag down yourself will be cheaper than one grand taxi pre booked. Overall though, A very good rental. I would be happy to recomend to anyone and indeed, stay there again myself.
I just spent a week at Riad Dar Sabah and had the most amazing time, I have been to Marrakech before but this time staying at the Riad made it that little bit more special. Hassan met us at the airport and took us back it was a bit of a shock I think at first for my mother and some other friends as they had not been before and it was a surprise holiday for my mother. Getting out of the taxi and entering the Medina and its winding roads can be confusing at the best of times but very exciting as well. Hassan lead us down the streets until we finally came to a door, when opening it the look on everyones face was absolutley fantastic. The Riad was stunningly decorated with so much taste the upstairs sitting room is so beautiful as is the rest of the building it was hot so sunbathing on the roof terrace and then running down and dipping into the plunge pool was great. Lets just say that having that pool makes all the difference, just being able to cool down. Hassan was amazing and went out of his way to help with anything we needed but also by being discreet you would hardly no he was there, and Fatima is such a beautiful lady who works way to hard keeping the house spotless and providing breakfast. All up we had an amazing time, and to be able to get away from the hussle and bussle of Marrakech and escape to our own oasis in the middle of it all was brilliant. I highly recommend this Riad to anyone and everyone. Justin Melican
Riad Dar sabah is a picturesque retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech busy streets. Its tucked up a long winding little alley at the back of the souks, so there is no traffic and its beautifully quiet and felt very safe.The pictures do not do it justice! You have not seen the full glory of the roof terrace, the fantastic bathrooms that look like something out of the sultan's palace, the colourful bedrooms and the richly ornate sitting room. all in all the decor is delightful.The staff are friendly, though you will need to brush up on your french if you want any more complicated conversations Wec went as a family group with two small children although in places the low walls and steps are a little risky a safe lovely place for children to play and adults to relax. Highly recommended!! For those travelling with children, do not be alarmed if random Marrakech locals steal kisses from your babies and play with your children. Although in Marrakech itself there is little by the way of children’s entertainment, they are welcomed with open arms and all establishments and are looked upon with great affection by the locals. Our only suggestion to improve the place would be to add a visitors comments or suggestions book so we can exchange tips or where to go, good value tours etc
Owner reply:

Dear Mrs Judith,Thank you so much for your very nice comments. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Dar Sabah and Marrakech.I am delighted that you enjoyed the style and atmosphere of the Riad. I took note of your comments concerning the children safety which I did not realise before and I will make sure that improvements will be done. It s always nice to have positive and constructive comments from customers. That is the only way to improve. Once again thank you very much and I do hope to see you soon in Dar sabah.

11 other reviews
Dear Mr Emmanuel,We just want to say thank you. We had an amazing time in Dar Sabah, Hassan was amazing and looked after us very well. We enjoyed the privacy of the Riad and we look forward going back there on our next trip to Marrakech.Once again Thank you.Pedro and Monica
bonjour emmanuelj'espère que vous allez bienje vous envoie ce mail pour vous remercier pour tout pour le riad, hassan et fatima tout était parfait nous avons passé un super moment à conserve votre adresse mail car j'ai parlé autour de moi de votre riad et ils ont eu l'air interressés, de plus quand on reviendra à marrakech je compte bien vous le relouer.à bientôt j'espèrecordialementMme rebours christelle
We stayed in Dar Sabah in August. The property is just magic, perfect location near the souk. Hassan and Fatima looked after us so well. We will come back for sure next year. Breakfast was amazing, served on the terrace overlooking Marrakech. We do recommend it without hesitations.Bertrand and Anna
bonjour, juste quelques mots pour vous dire que notre séjour au riad et à Marrakech s'est déroulé à merveille. Le riad était pour nous comme une seconde maison et nous nous y sommes sentis bien dès le début. De plus il est idéalement placé dans la médina ce qui nous a permis de faire de nombreuses visites et balades. Fatima et Hassan ont été aux petits soins et je pense qu'ils étaient contents également.Merci encore pour les lits bébés et j'espere à bientôt pour un nouveau séjour au riad dar sabah à Marrakech. Cordialement Vincent Baeckler
bonjour, juste quelques mots pour vous dire que notre séjour au riad et à Marrakech s'est déroulé à merveille. Le riad était pour nous comme une seconde maison et nous nous y sommes sentis bien dès le début. De plus il est idéalement placé dans la médina ce qui nous a permis de faire de nombreuses visites et balades. Fatima et Hassan ont été aux petits soins et je pense qu'ils étaient contents également.Merci encore pour les lits bébés et j'espere à bientôt pour un nouveau séjour au riad dar sabah à Marrakech. Cordialement Vincent Baeckler
We spent few days in Dar Sabah and we just want to say how beautiful it was. We had an amazing time, Hassan and Fatima looked after us so well. The house is decorated with taste. We recommend Dar Sabah with no hesitations.Christine and Lionel Boussin
Bonjour M. Sabater, Notre retour à Bordeaux date déjà de plusieurs jours, maisje prends enfin le temps de vous adresser un message pourvous dire combien nous avons été ravis de séjourner quelquesjours au Dar Sabah.C'est une maison absolument magnifique (encore plus belle que nele laissait imaginer les photos sur abritel).La situation à proximité des souks, de la medersa, de la place Djema El Fna, etc ... nous a vraiment conquis.Les petits déjeuners préparés par fatima étaient excellents.L'accueil d'hassan était parfait.Merci encore de nous avoir permis de passer quelques tempsdans votre maison. Cordialement, Jean Pierre Mouchard.
Just amazing. We stayed for a week and Dar Sabah is probably the best kept secret of Marrakech. Excellent value for money. Charming staff.Helen and Nick
Bonjour, De retour en France, nous avons eu votre message téléphonique. Nous avions oublié notre portable à la maison. Vacances obligent. Nous avons passé un très agréable séjour à Marrakech à visiter la Medina, la ville nouvelle, la vallée de l'Ourika, Ouarzazate, ... à s'essayer à la cuisine locale (couscous, tajines, ...), le tout avec un temps magnifique (entre 22 et 25° l'après-midi). Et le fameux jus d'orange du petit déjeuner: quel plaisir! à dire vrai, le jus d'orange pris ce week-end à Roanne était bien fade comparé à celui préparé par Fathima. Quant au riad, nos amis et nous-même le trouvons très bien décoré, et très joli (nous avons tous admiré la salle de bain rouge). Pour preuve, nous n'avons pu nous empêcher de photographier toutes les pièces. la décoration est très réussie. félicitations. Nous avons pris la chambre bleue (coup de foudre). En quelques mots, nous avons passé un agréable séjour, dépaysant et espérons ne pas avoir trop dérangé. Merci à Hassan et Fathima pour leur accueil. Si vous avez d'autres locations du même standing, dans d'autres pays, n'hésitez pas à nous communiquer la liste... Vous remerciant encore pour la qualité de la prestation. Salutations Delphine Lallement
Notre sejour a Dar Sabah a ete tres agreable. Nous sommes restes une semaine en Novembre et merci beaucoup pour le service memorable de Hassan et Fatima.Nous recommendons vivement Dar Sabah sans hesitations.Francoise et MarcToulon
We stayed in Dar Sabah early December and we have to admit that we had an amazing time. The location is great, so easy to find out as Hassan was waiting for us at the airport. The decoration is amazing, done with a lot of tastes, a combination of oriental furnitures and old french antiques (beautiful carpet by the way). The two menbers of staff, Hassan and Fatima are very friendly and very helpful. Very nice bathrooms done in the hammam style. We will recommend Dar Sabah to all of our friends. We will come again.Sarah and Fred Harvey 20/12/2006


About the owner
Owner score 4
Calendar updated: 2 years ago
Last logged in: 2 years ago
Located in: United Arab Emirates
Joined: September 2006