Request Booking

Dahlet Gnien Is-Sultan, Grand Harbour, Valletta

Apartment with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom in Valletta, Malta

From £411.21 per week

Request Booking

  • Apartment #31478
  • Sleeps: 8
  • Car hire: optional
  • Nearest beach: 5km
  • Nearest bar: 100m
  • Nearest restaurant: 100m
  • Nearest supermarket: 100m
  • Malta Luqa airport: 6km
Overview

Stylish and spacious waterfront self-catering apartment with a breathtakingly beautiful 180-degree panoramic view of the Grand Harbour and Three Cities

Overview

Our stylish and spacious waterfront self-catering apartment has a breathtakingly beautiful 180 degree panoramic view of the Grand Harbour and Three Cities. The apartment is situated at Dahlet Gnien is-Sultan ("the site of the Sultans Garden") beneath the bastions of Valletta and is a 2-minute stroll from the heart of the Old City. It sleeps up to 8 people (one double bedroom, one twin bedroom and two double sofa beds), has a well equipped kitchen with brand new appliances, washing machine/ironing facilities, bath/shower room plus separate second guest toilet, separate TV lounge/study area with cable TV, harbour view balcony, a telephone (for use with Easyline phone cards - a prepaid phone card available from most newsagents or Maltacom outlets) and a roof garden for sunbathing. There is street parking directly outside in a quiet cul-de-sac in a historic residential area. Parking outside the building will require parking tickets but there is a large 'park n ride' car park in nearby Floriana designed to keep traffic out of lovely Valletta, which is small enough to be explored on foot. The nearest bar is the delightful George's Bar (about 100 yards from apartment) where you will receive a 10% if you say you are a guest at our apartment. George's is famous for the jazz nights they hold every Friday during the summer months, with the steps outside the bar bedecked with cushions and candles as jazz lovers sit listening to local bands against the backdrop of the night view across the Grand Harbour. Magical!

Reviews

30 verified reviews
Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities
29 out of 30 people recommend staying here
Stayed 02 Jun 2015 with Family
Location was best thing about this apartment. Tv didn't work and 1 fan made such a noise it was not fit for purpose. The mattress was stained and there was no under sheet. Sheets and duvets were of inferior quality for the price charged. More of hostel standard. Also toaster didn't work. Would not stay here again. Does not justify cost.
Owner reply:

Dear Mary, I was startled to see your review. While we always welcome feedback - even if it's negative - your complaint was so unlike any feedback we've received from guests before that I asked my caretaker Sandra to thoroughly investigate everything you've mentioned here. The TV is working fine (you have to point the remote at the console) and the toaster seems to be working perfectly too. All our beds have Memory Foam toppers above the mattresses inside washable covers, and the bedding we supply is top-of-the-range Marks & Spencer; it's rather expensive as bedding goes and not 'inferior quality' at all. Sandra says that in very hot weather she sometimes makes up the beds with just two sheets and the duvet cover (ie, leaves the duvet itself off) for the comfort of guests, but these are easily accessible in the cabinets with the rest of the bedding if guests want to use them. I do recognise the issue with my lovely old 1950s retro floor fans, however - these are the genuine article Art Deco-style fans and their slightly antique working parts may get a bit noisy at times. I'll get Victor, our "handyman", to give that one a good squirt of WD40. But, overall, we're baffled by your review. I understand you phoned Sandra to ask her to bring you a hairdryer (which she did) - why didn't you mention any of this to her at the time? As mentioned above, we have access to an extremely good workman and engineer Victor and he is available to come same day, or the following day at the latest.

Stayed 22 Dec 2014 with Family
We (me, my wife and 3 grown-up kids, 25, 23 and 20) stay at the Dahlet Gnien Is-Sultan flat from Dec 22, 2014 to Jan 03, 2015. The place was a little bit hard to find with our rented car as the access is complicated in the old city of Valletta: I suggest to the owner to publish a map with the itinerary from the airport. We found the flat as described. We had to move furniture to better organize it with 3 bedrooms (instead of 2 + TV room). Regarding the equipment, I guess it could be improved by updating the TV set (the antique one does not work) and providing a working oven. The rest of the equipment is OK even if the decoration could also be improved. The strong positive point is the location of the flat: good view to the port of Valletta (view is even better from the roof of the building) and walking distance from the historic animated hart of the city. Parking our rented car was not an issue with always free public place in front of the building. Internet was working fine (no password needed). I would also advise the owner to issue a map indicating the way to the nearest supermarkets (the closest Lidl supermarkets are 3 km away either in Qormi or in Luqa). We enjoyed this first visit to Malta. Even in winter time, there is a lot to see in both Malta and Gozo. Weather was globally OK but contrasted : sunny 20°C during the first days to rainy and cold on Jan 01 (but after an amazing New Year's Eve party in the city, we spent most of this rainy cold day in our beds) and then back to Spring on Jan 03. The sympathy of the people is amazing and we could not find a bad restaurant. We also bought and cooked very tasty fishes and sea food (to be bought in 2 shops located in St Paul's Bay or in Sunday's fish market in Marsaxlokk). Driving on the left side was not too much an issue but you have to be very careful (especially if it is your first experience) as the streets are often straight and Maltese like to drive fast. Globally the experience was great and I definitely recommend the Dahlet Gnien Is-Sultan flat mostly for location and value for money.
Stayed 30 Jul 2014 with Family
An excellent apartment situated conveniently at the base of Victoria gate in Valetta. The apartment was very spacious with an excellent view of the grand harbour. It had all the facilities required for our needs and the the arrangements for our collection from the airport were excellent and provided a stress free arrival at the apartment. The apartment is within 2 minutes walk for the centre of Valetta and the same for the harbour front in the other direction. The bus station was also nearby and allowed us to travel cheaply to all parts of Malta. This was the first occasion in a long time that we did not have a hire car and the experience of bus travel on the island was excellent. This was a first rate holiday experience and I would recommend this wholeheartedly.
Stayed 01 Nov 2013 with Couple
This property gave us everthing that was advertised and surpassed our expectations. Its a real treat to sit in the balcony and watch the cruise liners come and go. Valletta is a beautiful city and if you dont like steps you can use the Barrakka lift (just a few hundred yards away) to take you up to the city. It is only 1 euro and going down is free. From there you can navigate down Merchants Street all the way to St Elmos fort and around the other side to the Sliema Ferry on relatively flat ground. The newly refurbished Waterfront is within easy walking distance of the apartment and offers every type of food you could ask for. Transfers were easy, arranged by Sandra the caretaker, who contacted us regularly to ensure everything was okay. If you are looking for a really relaxing break you couldnt ask for anything better!
Stayed 19 Oct 2013 with Family
Excellent ! We loved this apartment it was a great location with a superb view. The apartment was easy to find and thanks to getting collected at the airport it made it so much easier than having to worry how to get there. The apartment was very spacious and was perfect for me and my family with enough space to have time on our own if needs be! The living area was perfect with enough seats for everyone to sit around and enjoy the view. The apartment is well laid out with good size bedrooms and the option of having a third double occupancy. The bathroom is equipped with everything that you could possibly need as well as the extra WC which comes in handy if there is more than 2 people! Getting around from the apartment was easy enough you have the option of the steps into the town centre or just around the corner is the Barracka lift which operates every day between 7am and 9pm and only cost 1 euro to go and its free to come back down and you can get out at the Saluting Battery. The views that we had was stunning watching the cruise ships come and go among watching over the 3 cities with an added bonus around the corner is the water taxi to take you over. Sandra was very helpful and checked in on us regularly which was good, we throughly enjoyed this apartment and look forward to hopefully getting back over again to it. So thank you!!
Stayed 07 Oct 2012
Wonderful position looking out over the Grand Harbour - particularly from the rooftop! Within easy reach of the cathedral, bus station and street market. Possibly suffering a little from being at the end of the season - some of the mosquito blinds were torn, one of the taps in the cloakroom was broken, could have done with a good clean etc, but nothing serious. Sandra was extremely helpful, as was George, who did the airport transfers. The flat is very well equipped and the welcome pack was a life-saver as we arrived on a Sunday. We had great weather and thoughrally enjoyed our break. Good value for money.
1 - 6 of 30
12 other reviews
Name: Ada and her 3 sisters Email: info@adarosman.nl Country: HOLLAND Date: 12 Sep 2011 14:49:44 GMT Comment: Thank you Debra for the nice apartement in Valletta. Sandra took good care of us. Malta and Gozo are lovely islands. We had a great time and will recommend it!
Name: Ada and her 3 sisters Email: info@adarosman.nl Welcome Page: ww.adarosman.nl Country: HOLLAND Date: 12 Sep 2011 14:49:44 GMT Comment: Thank you Debra for the nice apartement in Velletta. Sandra took goed care of us. Malta and Gozo are lovely islands. We had en great time and will recommand it!
Name: Ada and her 3 sisters Email: info@adarosman.nl Welcome Page: ww.adarosman.nl Country: HOLLAND Date: 12 Sep 2011 14:49:44 GMT Comment: Thank you Debra for the nice apartement in Velletta. Sandra took goed care of us. Malta and Gozo are lovely islands. We had en great time and will recommand it!
Name: Wolfgang Schulz Comment: We have been pleased with your apartment and spent good days on the island. As a regular on the island I can recommend your apartment to others and even may use it on one of my next stays. Thank you very much for your hospitality. Wolfgang
Name: Kate Young Email: Comment: Sending you this from a wet and cold Scotland to say how much we enjoyed our stay at your beautiful Valetta apartment - it was wonderfully relaxing and we did enjoy watching all the ships entering and leaving the wonderful Grand Harbour. Well certainly recommend the flat to people we know back here in the frozen north. In the meantime, may we take the opportunity to wish you and all those close to you a very happy Christmas and a peaceful 2008. Kate and Willie Dundee, Scotland
Name: Gwen David Comment: We have just spent a week in your wonderful flat and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The holiday was a surprise 50th birthday present for my husband who is particularly interested in the Knights of St John and being so central in Valletta was a huge bonus. The views from the balcony are amazing and the flat itself it very well equipped and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone!! Many thanks!!
Name: Vanessa C Email:  Comment: Had a wonderful time and such good hospitality from Sandra the caretaker. We will consider going again and staying in the apartment which is so central and in such a beautiful location. Valetta is a unique place. I recommend it!
Name: Catherine M Shaw Comment: This apartment is in the most perfect location to enjoy the atmospheric and historic Valletta and surrounding areas. Very comfortable, user friendly, spacious, clean one of the best views of water and fort. Great to explore the whole island from too and hospitality exceeded expectations. Im going again...
as the description.
Name: Julie and Geoff Maclean Date: 22 Feb 2009 10:26:44 GMT Comment: A particularly well equipped apartment with a stunning view and within walking distance of everything. We really loved our week in your apartment especially as the weather was sunny but unseasonably cold and we felt so smug listening to other people complaining of their cold hotels when we were as warm as toast. I understand you are having the already comfortable apartment further improved after our departure. A brighter reading light for those of us with older eyes would have completed the picture. Many thanks to Sandra, George and the handyman...we would fuse the lights!!!
Comment: A great apartment in a wonderful location. It was everything we expected and was very clean, spacious and well appointed. Sandra the caretaker is wonderful and overall we were very impressed! We will be going back again next year and would recommend this apartment to anyone. Thank you for a great holdiay! Davie and Linda
Owner reply:

Hi David and Linda,
Many thanks for your comments - I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. You left this note on our website so I copied it here but now I understand you've also sent this review through the villarenters system. So it will appear twice. Oh well, that should confuse everyone!

Name: John Dudley Email: jajdudley@yahoo.co.ukDate: 28 Jul 2005 16:39:53 GMTComment: This is a superb apartment, spacious, comfortable,fully equipped, and with a wonderful view over the harbour of Valletta. We found it ideal, because we wanted to be in Valletta, where there is a lot to see, and at the same time the apartment is only ten minutes' walk from the bus station where the buses depart to every part of Malta. In addition, there is a very kind caretaker who is extremely helpful.Name: Gina Langton Email: gina@roseisaroseisarose.comDate: 20 Sep 2005 22:21:13 GMTComment: The view from the apartment has to be unbeatable. We had a lovely time. The caretaker was enormously helpful and kind. We will definitely go back!Name: Val Rogers Email: val@mainstream-broom.comDate: 8 Mar 2006 17:12:25 GMTComment: We have just had a great 12 days in Valletta. The flat is spacious and comfortable with an amazing view of the Grand Harbour. It is very well sited by the Victoria Gate so everywhere is in easy walking distance up wide shallow steps. The bus terminus is close and we used the bus to explore the island- 20c a ticket! We found an excellent restaurant along the road at Pico Wharf, an easy 10 minute stroll back. Sandra the caretaker is both helpful and friendly.Name: David Hunt Email: Date: 5 Oct 2006 08:45:50 GMTComment: My parents and I have just returned home after our fortnight in the Maltese islands. We had a week in St Lawrenz on Gozo after our stay in your superbly located apartment in Valletta. We did so enjoy our stay there. The view out over the Grand Harbour is rather special with all the activity and interest it provided. The apartment was a great base for exploring so much of Valletta and with the local buses much of the rest of the island. Re-reading Nicholas Monserrat's The Kappillan of Malta has certainly heightened our awareness of the rich history of the islands and the Grand Harbour in particular. Thank you for allowing us to arrive in the apartment early and leave late - this worked out for us very well. Sandra kindly called us on a number of occasions and it was reassuring to know there was someone there we could have called upon if needed.Name: Nick and Lyn Email: Welcome Page: Country: AUSTRALIA IP Address: 203.10.224.60 Date: 19 Dec 2006 22:38:16 GMTComment: Malta was a high point of our holiday. The apartment was all we had hoped for and more. After the mayhem that is Rome and Sicily, Malta was far more relaxed; though the long lunch breaks and the laid back attitude to working hours took a bit of getting used to :-)Special thanks for letting us leave late on the last day.If we ever get back to Malta we wouldn't risk staying anywhere else. We will happily recommend the apartment to anybody we can bore with our memories and photos!
1 - 12 of 12

Location

Nearest beach: 5km
Nearest bar: 0.1km
Nearest restaurant: 100m
Nearest supermarket: 100m
Malta Luqa airport: 6km

Prices and availability

Last updated 05.02.2015

Unavailable
Your booking

Select travel dates

  • From £542.04 per week
  • From £542.04 per week
  • From £579.43 per week
  • From £411.21 per week
  • From £411.21 per week
  • From £411.21 per week
  • From £542.04 per week
  • From £542.04 per week
  • From £579.43 per week
  • From £542.04 per week
  • From £411.21 per week
  • From £411.21 per week
  • From £542.04 per week
  • From £542.04 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays See details
Arrival date range Minimum stay (nights)
1st June 2015 to 21st December 2015 2
22nd December 2015 to 3rd January 2016 3
4th January 2016 to 30th June 2016 2

Discounts

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 7 Days 10%
Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 4 Weeks 15%
1st January to 31st December 3 Weeks 10%

Facilities

Property type:

Apartment

Sleeps:

8

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Single beds

Additional beds:
2 double sofa beds located in second lounge area next to balcony
1 cot
Dining area:
Seats 6
Living area:
Seats 5
Bathrooms:
1 bathroom, 2 Separate WC's
Suitable for:
Infants
Smoking
Entertainment and IT:
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet (WI-FI)
Telephone
TV Languages in English, Local
Household:
Clothes drier
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Fridge
Freezer
Glassware
Iron / board
Kettle
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine
Other:
Balcony or terrace
Parking
Sports and activities:
Boat Hire
Climbing
Cycling
Fishing
Sailling
Scuba Diving
Sports Center
Swimming
Tennis
Water Skiing
Walking
Wind Surfing
Sights and attractions:
Historic Site
Museum
Night Club
Shopping
Theatre
Theme Park
Cinema

Owner

About the owner
Owner score 2261
Calendar updated: 5 months ago
Last logged in: 5 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: May 2007