Contact Owner

Dahlet Gnien Is-sultan, Grand Harbour, Valletta

Apartment with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom in Valletta, Malta

From £556 per week

Contact Owner

Apartment to rent in Valletta, Malta

  • Apartment
  • Sleeps 8
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • WiFi
  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony / terrace
  • Parking
  • Washing machine
  • Near supermarket

Apartment overview - owner's description

Stylish and spacious waterfront self-catering apartment with a breathtakingly beautiful 180-degree panoramic view of the Grand Harbour and Three Cities

Our stylish and spacious waterfront self-catering apartment has a breathtakingly beautiful 180 degree panoramic view of the Grand Harbour and Three Cities. The apartment is situated at Dahlet Gnien is-Sultan ("the site of the Sultans Garden") beneath the bastions of Valletta and is a 2-minute stroll from the heart of the Old City. It sleeps up to 8 people (one double bedroom, one twin bedroom and two double sofa beds), has a well equipped kitchen with brand new appliances, washing machine/ironing facilities, bath/shower room plus separate second guest toilet, air-conditioning/heating, separate TV lounge/study area with cable TV, harbour view balcony, a telephone (for use with Easyline phone cards - a prepaid phone card available from most newsagents or Maltacom outlets) and a roof garden for sunbathing. There is street parking directly outside in a quiet cul-de-sac in a historic residential area. Parking outside the building will require parking tickets but there is a large 'park n ride' car park in nearby Floriana designed to keep traffic out of lovely Valletta, which is small enough to be explored on foot. The nearest bar is the delightful George's Bar (about 100 yards from apartment) where you will receive a 10% if you say you are a guest at our apartment. George's is famous for the jazz nights they hold every Friday during the summer months, with the steps outside the bar bedecked with cushions and candles as jazz lovers sit listening to local bands against the backdrop of the night view across the Grand Harbour. Magical!

Reviews

This apartment has 40 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities

38 out of 40 people recommend staying here

Family from Lyon, France Oct 2016

Very nice stay in a welll maintained and practical appartment for a couple and 3 teenagers, well situated, close to the bus station (15mn by foot through stairs) and the center of Valetta, with a wonderful view.
The main problem was the noise in the early morning : noise of the street (cars are horning a lot !), of the neighbourgs' voices (because of bad isolation and location of the flat in front of a big wall which is reflecting the noise). A few wifi connexion problems as well.

Reply from Debra

Hi Isabelle,

Thanks for your feedback. We always appreciate getting it. I'm sorry about the problems with the Wifi - I hope Sandra explained to you that our cable supplier Melita had cut off free wifi without notifying its customers and I had to sign a new contract with them. All sorted now, which means future guests won't have any problem but doesn't make up for your own experience. I am sorry.

I will ask Sandra if there's any reason why it's been noisy in the early morning - local council building work, etc - I haven't heard of any going on at the moment and noise is not usually a problem in what is essentially a quiet cul de sac in front of the city bastion walls.

Family from Leuvenheim, Netherlands Oct 2016

We had an early flight and we are thankfull we were allowed to arrive much earlier in the morning. The spacious apartment is situated close to the old centre, ideal starting point to explore Valletta. Finding a spot for free parking in the street was also not a problem. During the nights we had nuisance of shouting people making a lot of noise in the street, we think the neighbours living downstairs. The apartment has no own WiFi spot, Sandra suggested to use some of the free WiFi networks however we were not able to get connection to it. Availability of WiFi was a selection criterion for choosing this apartment so this was a disappointment. Overall we had a nice stay, enough room for 5 of us and a beautiful view.

Reply from Debra

I'm so sorry you had problems with connecting with WiFi at the apartment. I asked Sandra to explain to you that this has occurred as the Maltese cable operator Melita withdrew free WiFi for all its customers and somehow this change of policy was not notified to me. Whilst I am in the process to amending the terms of my contract with Melita to get WiFi service added to my cable package, they suggested I give you a "non-Melita customers purchase 15GB of WiFi for 10 euros" url, which I asked Sandra to pass to you. I apologise if for some reason she didn't give it to you. I was quite clear in my instructions.

Family from New York, USA Sep 2016

I stayed at this property in Valletta with my family - we had a wonderful time exploring the city! The apartment had incredible views and was just a short walk away from the many wonderful sights to see in Valletta including the Upper Barrakka Gardens, which quickly became our favorite spot for morning coffee. Sandra was very helpful and immediately available for check-in and check-out. I would definitely recommend this location for family and friends who are visiting Malta.

Reply from Debra

Thanks for your lovely feedback, Julia. I'm so glad you had a great time.

Family from Antony, France Aug 2016

Very good location in the centre of Valetta and very comfortable flat with a nice view and air conditioning

Reply from Debra

Thanks very much, Veronique. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Malta.

Family from Ocean, USA Jun 2016

This was family gathering for the wedding. Seven adults arriving on different days and times from the US (MA,NJ,PA) and England. The
entire registration and logistics coordination process went smoothly. The owner Debra was in touch and provided recommendations via email. Sandra, the caretaker, met us and provided a welcome basket of start-up food (at cost) that we used mostly for breakfast - we were on holiday so no one wanted to cook. The kitchen is well equipped with everything needed. The refrigeration needed defrosting but I understand it is very difficult to do between guest arrivals. There is a large selection of paperbacks and a number of guide books that were useful. The apartment is conveniently located near the lift to the upper garden which gives access to Valletta if you don't want to climb the stone steps to mid-city. Perfect location for visiting Valletta!
We found the sleeping situation a little tight for 7 adults - 3 married couples and a single female. We shuffled the furniture around to make another bedroom for one couple out of the TV room but it meant access to the kitchen was through the open sleeping area. There were plenty of sheets, pillows and towels. We used the air conditioners once. They worked well but the breeze was generally good enough to keep the apartment cool. We coordinated the airport taxi services through Sandra via text. Walking and bus transport were the primary means of transportation. If we return to Valletta, we would definitely stay here again.

Reply from Debra

Thank you Carl for your very positive and practical feedback.

Sorry about the fridge defrosting - there simply wasn't enough time between back-to-back bookings. And your point about the sleeping arrangements for large groups is a valid one. A group of eight is the absolute maximum we can manage and, even then, it depends on the ages, genders and relationships within the group as to whether it will work or not. Privacy is a very personal concept and the level of it people require will vary from group to group. When I receive enquiries from large groups I always tell them to remember to check the number of rooms, size of beds per room against who will need to share with who to make sure everyone will be happy. I'm glad you all had a lovely time.

Family from Toronto, Canada May 2016

We are a family of four and we were thrilled with this rental - Location couldn't be better. The apartment is roomy enough for a family of four. My only suggestion would be that the owners upgrade their bedding - pillows were flat and uncomfortable, mattress on master bed was not great. Sandra was most helpful ( she even brought her own hair dryer to the apartment for my daughters), and we enjoyed our welcome package but would have preferred fresh Maltese bread over sliced commercial brands.
We would return for sure.
Gina Cali

Reply from Debra

Thank you, Gina, for your feedback. Pillow softness and comfort is so tricky to get right for everyone as it's such a personal thing. All the bedding is good quality - the pillows were purchased from The Atrium (one of Malta's top interiors shops) at the beginning of May, and the memory foam mattress toppers are Marks & Spencer - but I am sorry if they weren't a good match for you and you felt uncomfortable. Other guests have commented they find the beds very comfortable so I am not sure what to do. If you do return for another visit, would you remind me of this when you place your booking and perhaps we can organise some different pillows for your visit?

I agree regarding the bread. I adore the traditional Maltese Ftira myself and that what Sandra usually buys. I'll find out why she didn't this time.


12 other reviews

Name: Ada and her 3 sisters Email: info@adarosman.nl Country: HOLLAND Date: 12 Sep 2011 14:49:44 GMT Comment: Thank you Debra for the nice apartement in Valletta. Sandra took good care of us. Malta and Gozo are lovely islands. We had a great time and will recommend it!

Name: Ada and her 3 sisters Email: info@adarosman.nl Welcome Page: ww.adarosman.nl Country: HOLLAND Date: 12 Sep 2011 14:49:44 GMT Comment: Thank you Debra for the nice apartement in Velletta. Sandra took goed care of us. Malta and Gozo are lovely islands. We had en great time and will recommand it!

Name: Ada and her 3 sisters Email: info@adarosman.nl Welcome Page: ww.adarosman.nl Country: HOLLAND Date: 12 Sep 2011 14:49:44 GMT Comment: Thank you Debra for the nice apartement in Velletta. Sandra took goed care of us. Malta and Gozo are lovely islands. We had en great time and will recommand it!

Name: Wolfgang Schulz Comment: We have been pleased with your apartment and spent good days on the island. As a regular on the island I can recommend your apartment to others and even may use it on one of my next stays. Thank you very much for your hospitality. Wolfgang

Name: Kate Young Email: Comment: Sending you this from a wet and cold Scotland to say how much we enjoyed our stay at your beautiful Valetta apartment - it was wonderfully relaxing and we did enjoy watching all the ships entering and leaving the wonderful Grand Harbour. Well certainly recommend the flat to people we know back here in the frozen north. In the meantime, may we take the opportunity to wish you and all those close to you a very happy Christmas and a peaceful 2008. Kate and Willie Dundee, Scotland

Name: Gwen David Comment: We have just spent a week in your wonderful flat and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The holiday was a surprise 50th birthday present for my husband who is particularly interested in the Knights of St John and being so central in Valletta was a huge bonus. The views from the balcony are amazing and the flat itself it very well equipped and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone!! Many thanks!!

Name: Vanessa C Email:  Comment: Had a wonderful time and such good hospitality from Sandra the caretaker. We will consider going again and staying in the apartment which is so central and in such a beautiful location. Valetta is a unique place. I recommend it!

Name: Catherine M Shaw Comment: This apartment is in the most perfect location to enjoy the atmospheric and historic Valletta and surrounding areas. Very comfortable, user friendly, spacious, clean one of the best views of water and fort. Great to explore the whole island from too and hospitality exceeded expectations. Im going again...

as the description.

Name: Julie and Geoff Maclean Date: 22 Feb 2009 10:26:44 GMT Comment: A particularly well equipped apartment with a stunning view and within walking distance of everything. We really loved our week in your apartment especially as the weather was sunny but unseasonably cold and we felt so smug listening to other people complaining of their cold hotels when we were as warm as toast. I understand you are having the already comfortable apartment further improved after our departure. A brighter reading light for those of us with older eyes would have completed the picture. Many thanks to Sandra, George and the handyman...we would fuse the lights!!!

Comment: A great apartment in a wonderful location. It was everything we expected and was very clean, spacious and well appointed. Sandra the caretaker is wonderful and overall we were very impressed! We will be going back again next year and would recommend this apartment to anyone. Thank you for a great holdiay! Davie and Linda

Reply from Debra

Hi David and Linda,
Many thanks for your comments - I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. You left this note on our website so I copied it here but now I understand you've also sent this review through the villarenters system. So it will appear twice. Oh well, that should confuse everyone!

Name: John Dudley Email: jajdudley@yahoo.co.ukDate: 28 Jul 2005 16:39:53 GMTComment: This is a superb apartment, spacious, comfortable,fully equipped, and with a wonderful view over the harbour of Valletta. We found it ideal, because we wanted to be in Valletta, where there is a lot to see, and at the same time the apartment is only ten minutes' walk from the bus station where the buses depart to every part of Malta. In addition, there is a very kind caretaker who is extremely helpful.Name: Gina Langton Email: gina@roseisaroseisarose.comDate: 20 Sep 2005 22:21:13 GMTComment: The view from the apartment has to be unbeatable. We had a lovely time. The caretaker was enormously helpful and kind. We will definitely go back!Name: Val Rogers Email: val@mainstream-broom.comDate: 8 Mar 2006 17:12:25 GMTComment: We have just had a great 12 days in Valletta. The flat is spacious and comfortable with an amazing view of the Grand Harbour. It is very well sited by the Victoria Gate so everywhere is in easy walking distance up wide shallow steps. The bus terminus is close and we used the bus to explore the island- 20c a ticket! We found an excellent restaurant along the road at Pico Wharf, an easy 10 minute stroll back. Sandra the caretaker is both helpful and friendly.Name: David Hunt Email: Date: 5 Oct 2006 08:45:50 GMTComment: My parents and I have just returned home after our fortnight in the Maltese islands. We had a week in St Lawrenz on Gozo after our stay in your superbly located apartment in Valletta. We did so enjoy our stay there. The view out over the Grand Harbour is rather special with all the activity and interest it provided. The apartment was a great base for exploring so much of Valletta and with the local buses much of the rest of the island. Re-reading Nicholas Monserrat's The Kappillan of Malta has certainly heightened our awareness of the rich history of the islands and the Grand Harbour in particular. Thank you for allowing us to arrive in the apartment early and leave late - this worked out for us very well. Sandra kindly called us on a number of occasions and it was reassuring to know there was someone there we could have called upon if needed.Name: Nick and Lyn Email: Welcome Page: Country: AUSTRALIA IP Address: 203.10.224.60 Date: 19 Dec 2006 22:38:16 GMTComment: Malta was a high point of our holiday. The apartment was all we had hoped for and more. After the mayhem that is Rome and Sicily, Malta was far more relaxed; though the long lunch breaks and the laid back attitude to working hours took a bit of getting used to :-)Special thanks for letting us leave late on the last day.If we ever get back to Malta we wouldn't risk staying anywhere else. We will happily recommend the apartment to anybody we can bore with our memories and photos!

1 - 12 of 12

Location

This apartment is:

5km from the nearest beach 100m from the nearest bar 100m from the nearest restaurant 100m from the nearest supermarket 6km from Malta Luqa airport

Local activities

Boat hire 500m Climbing 10km Cycling 5km Fishing 500m Sailling 500m Scuba diving 5km Sports center 5km Swimming 500m Tennis 5km Water skiing 10km Walking 500m Wind surfing 10km

Show more Show less

Outside this apartment in Valletta, Malta
This apartment is in the city near a lively area and the waterfront. It has a balcony. Car hire is not necessary as the apartment is less than a 15 minute walk to a large selection of shops, bars, restaurants; however parking is available if required.

Prices and availability

Updated 11 October 2016

Unavailable
Your booking
-

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 1 November - 20 December 2016: the minimum stay is 2 nights.
  • 21 December 2016 - 3 January 2017: the minimum stay is 3 nights.
  • 4 January - 28 February 2017: the minimum stay is 2 nights.

Late booking discounts

  • Receive 10% off if the booking is made within 7 days of the arrival date.

Long stay discounts

  • Receive 15% off if the booking is for 4 weeks or more.
  • Receive 10% off if the booking is for 3 weeks or more.

If more than one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.

Facilities

Bedrooms

2 bedrooms, Sleeps 8:

  • 1 double bed
  • 2 single beds

There is also 2 double sofa beds in second lounge area next to balcony, 1 cot

Bathrooms

1 bathroom, 2 Separate WC's

Entertainment

DVD/Blu-ray player, Internet / WI-FI, Telephone, TV Languages in English, Local, Satellite / cable

General

Living area seats 5, Dining area seats 6, Air conditioning, Central heating, Clothes drier, Hair dryer, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire optional

Kitchen

Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster

Outside

Balcony or terrace, Parking

Suitable for

Children, Infants, Single gender groups, Smoking

Debra

Average rating from 40 reviews

Private Owner From London, United Kingdom Member since May 2007

Past bookings: 207 bookings

Response rate: 100%

Response time: within 47 minutes

Last logged in: an hour ago

Number of properties: 1

Similar holiday rentals near Valletta, Malta

View all properties in Valletta