Book now

Contact owner

Casa Castello, Venice

Overview

The apartment is situated in the district of Castello both in the midst of the Venetian community but also close to the major cultural and historical centre. Built around 1450, in the middle of a lively street of shops and restaurants, this is a charming and characterful third floor apartment ten minutes walk from St Marks Square. Unusually it has an altana/roof terrace giving fabulous panoramic views over the whole of Venice even to the snow capped Dolomites.
The apartment is easily accessible on foot over only one or two bridges from either the Arsenale or Giardini water stop.
Three minutes from the waterstop for Lido beaches, it is one hour from Marco Polo airport and 30 minutes from the bus and train stations by waterbus.


The area around Via Garibaldi
The apartment is in the centre of possibly the last indigenous Venetian community. This part of Castello, based around the Via Garibaldi, is full of shops, restaurants and services. There are also the two magnificent churches of San Francesco and San Giuseppe (where a doge is buried) and close to the top end of Via Garibaldi the former Cathedral of San Pietro.
Some of the best Venetian food can be found in several of the local restaurants whilst the quality of fresh produce in the shops is of the highest – and reasonably priced.


Description of the apartment
The front door of the apartment is on the third floor of the palazzo. You then climb a stone staircase into the beamed living room / dining room with windows at each end offering lagoon views. There is a small well equipped kitchen (oven, dishwasher, fridge). Just off the living room is a utility area (with washing machine) leading to the entrance to the bathroom with full length bath and a shower attachment.
The master bedroom with king size bed is on the same floor. The upstairs twin bedded room is reached by climbing a galleried staircase (unsuitable for toddlers or infirm).
The roof terrace is reached from the top bedroom through a French door.
The apartment is very quiet and cosy making it a good all year round residence, even in the winter.

The rate for 2015 (excluding the Villarenters charges) for 7 nights is £750 (£900 during Christmas and New Year period). We rent out for minimum of five nights.

For arrivals after 22.00 there is a charge of 50 Euro payable directly to the caretaker.

Air conditioning is optional. It is charged at 10 euros per each booked night and paid on arrival directly to the caretaker.

The apartment is mentioned in THE TIMES Saturday 26 November 2011:

"EUROPE'S BEST CITY APARTMENTS
The X-factor with this apartment is its small roof terrace, which has fantastic views across the rooftops to St Mark's Square, only ten minutes' walk away. The whole apartment, which is part of a building dating back to 1450, has a wonderfully historical feel with a beamed living/dining room and a galleried staircase to the upstairs twin bedroom. Located in the unspoilt district of Castello, the apartment has an excellent choice of shops and restaurants near by."

Summary:

15th century palazzo. Unrivalled views from our sun terrace overlooking Salute Church, St.Marks and lagoon. 10 minutes walk from St.Mark's Square. Every facility. Wi-Fi included. Air-con available.

Facilities

Property type: Apartment

Room details

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms, sleeps 4

Bedroom 1: 1 King size bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Single beds

Seats:
Room for 4 in the dining area
Room for 4 in the living area
Bathrooms:
1 bathroom, 1 Separate WC

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet (WI-FI)
TV Languages in English, Italian
Heating and air con:
Air conditioning - Throughout property
Central heating
Household:
Clothes drier
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Dishwasher
Fridge
Glassware
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Kettle
Oven
Pots / pans
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Other:
Balcony or terrace
Sea view

Suitability

Suitable for
Infants

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Fishing
Golf
Sailling
Sports Center
Swimming
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Local Food Market
Shopping
Theatre
Cinema

Prices and availability

Last updated 08.04.2015


...Unavailable
...Your booking
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £872.57 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Minimum stay (nights)
18th March 2015 to 5th September 2015 5
12th September 2015 to 9th January 2016 5
11th January 2016 to 29th February 2016 5
22nd December 2016 to 9th January 2017 5
11th January 2017 to 28th February 2017 5
22nd December 2017 to 9th January 2018 5
11th January 2018 to 28th February 2018 5

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Discounts

Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 4 Weeks 25%
1st January to 31st December 2 Weeks 10%

Extras

Optional extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Air conditioning 10 euros per each booked night All year 10 euros per each booked night

Paid locally

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest beach: 2km
  • Nearest bar: 0.01km
  • Nearest restaurant: 10m
  • Nearest supermarket: 200m
  • St.Mark's Square (by foot): 700m
  • shops and restaurants: 10m
  • beach (by waterbus): 2km
  • train and bus stations (by waterbus): 5km

Reviews

15 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities
15 out of 15 people recommend staying here
Verified
Stayed Saturday 04 October 2014 with Family
We rented this apartment for one week as a family with two 15 year old boys. The roof-top terrasse is absolutely wonderful and offers fascinating views of the Canale Grande and the Dodges Palace during day and night. We had gorgeous weather, only sunshine and no rain, so we used the terrace for every meal. The apartment is very nicely furnished with pictures of Venice on the walls, once you have entered youll feel at home immediately. It is not very large though, the living room has a width of about 1,80m and streches from one side of the appartement to the other There are two sofas but they are not opposite to each other. The flatscreen TV is very small. The 2nd bedroom is directly under the roof top and it is only possible to stand upright in its center, there are no beds just matresses on the floor. The staircase to the second floor is very steep There is NO possibility to take a proper shower in the bathroom. The contact person in Venice who gave us the keys to the apartment was very friendly, helpful and answered the phone immediately, but unfortunately she didnt speek English, so the communication was in Italian (mine isnt very good but it was sufficient to agree upon the meeting time at the Arsenale waterstop) We wouldt recommend this apartment for: 1. families with smaller children (up to 7 years) 2. people taller than 1,85 m 3. people who like to cook (kitchen is very small, pans are in bad condition) 4. people who like to take a shower (there is only a bathtub in the bathroom) The location in the CASTELLO is perfect, restaurants, shops, a park and the vaporetto stop ARSENALE are nearby. Due to the perfect weather, we enjoyed our stay in the apartment very much and can recommend it to everyone to whom the above mentioned 4 points dont matter.
Owner reply:

This latest review was so thorough that we felt it merited a response. First of all we are delighted that our guests enjoyed their stay and thank them for their compliments, recommendations and score.On the points where they expressed advice we enclose the following observations. Above the TV are three shelves of mainly reference books about Venice and Italy. We chose to give them priority over the size of the TV as we judged people were less likely to visit Venice and watch TV but to discover something interesting in the books.The beds in the upstairs room are not only mattresses but proper beds, minus the legs, in deference to their position beneath the roof. The staircase to bedroom two is a maritime type and therefore steeper than a standard staircase. The manageress is Italian but she has sufficient understanding of English to identify problems and a host of English colleagues who will assist if necessary. It was perfectly possible to take a shower although residual water might fall on the floor and require mopping up. We have now installed a shower curtain to prevent this happening. Situated upon three floors the apartment has room enough for four people. There are larger apartments in Venice but visitors should expect to pay more for them.Our conclusions to the four points outlined are:1. We agree the apartment is unsuitable for children under 7 (and we have already stated on the website it is unsuitable for toddlers and infirm).2. A person 1.95m in height would be comfortable.3. The kitchen has historically provided for family dinners etc. The saucepans and utensils have been checked and are absolutely fine for preparations of meals.4. Both showers and baths are perfectly possible.

Verified
Stayed Saturday 29 March 2014 with Family
We rented the apartment as a couple, with a last-minute shorter visit by our adult daughter and partner. The outstanding feature of the apartment is the fantastic view from the altana and we spent happy hours out there, particularly enjoying the stunning sunsets. The apartment is comfortably furnished and we really appreciated the reproduction artworks, books and DVDs reflecting wonderful aspects of Venice. Weve stayed near Via Garibaldi before and recommend it as a great spot to find local shops and reasonably priced restaurants away from the madding crowds. There are two vaporetto stops nearby. We took a great trip to Chioggia one day, via the Lido and Pelestrina, all on our ACTV travel tickets - details in the apartment visitors book. Regarding the accommodation, it is fair that the owners make quite clear in their description that there is limited height in the bedroom in the roof as it could be a bit awkward for the less agile to get in and out of bed under the eaves.
Verified
Stayed Friday 04 October 2013 with Friends
We had an absolutely lovely short break in the apartment the location was superb with all the main attractions within easy walking distance. The weather wasnt overly kind which meant we couldnt spend time enjoying the fantastic view from the roof terrace. We shall certainly being booking again in the future!
Verified
Stayed Friday 27 September 2013 with Couple
This was our first visit to Venice and we felt very lucky to have found this delightful apartment. The location was ideal, the immediate area being traditional and out of the main tourist zone but within easy walking distance of St Marks Square etc. The vaporetti stop was only a few minutes away, so giving easy access to anywhere a bit further away. The apartment was very comfortable, homely and well equipped but much as we loved it, we would not recommend it for four adults due to the second bedroom being "in the eaves" and with very limited headroom. We would certainly thoroughly recommend it for two and would love to say there again if we return to Venice.
Verified
Stayed Monday 17 September 2012
Just got back from 5 nights at Casa Castello with our toddler. A lovely flat in a wonderful location, a few minutes walk from the Arsenale waterstop and about 100 metres or less from the waterfront, with vaporetti, ferries and cruise ships passing by and lots of lovely cafes and restaurants. The flat is very comfortable and well equipped with lots of character - lots of interesting books on Venice and lovely prints. The views from the roof terrace are absolutely amazing - out over the lagoon and the churches and spires of Venice. The roof terrace is a lovely place to sit and relax. A central but peaceful location, busy but without the intense crowds of St Marks. Theres a lovely park on the waterfront near the flat which was nice for our toddler to run around in. The stairs up to the other bedroom are quite steep, but fine for older children, maybe just not toddlers. We loved this flat, and would definitely return.
Verified
Stayed Tuesday 25 October 2011
The apartment is superbly located with just a short walk to St. Marks and the surrounding area. Views from the roof terrace are amazing. Local shops and bakery make it easy to self cater and there are some good bars and restaurants in the vicinity. The visitors book in the apartment was useful for finding these. We found the apartment to be clean, well furnished and had all that was needed for a comfortable stay.
Verified
Stayed Tuesday 24 June 2008
The property is up 58 steps and situated in the roof space - this does enable you to have the benefit of a lovely roof terrace looking over the lagoon, but can be exhausting to climb on a hot day. The stairs to the upper loft bedroom are very steep and difficult to descend. The rooms, (with exception of the top bedroom), were comfortable and adequately equipped. The kitchen and parts of the apartment had not been very well cleaned before our arrival. Having said all that everything else was good. It is about 15 minutes walk to St. Marks and the area is more Italian than Venetian.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 24 May 2008
a truly lovely apartment, a little off the beaten track. Really well equipped, better than any I have stayed in in the UK. Beautiful views of Venice from the rooftop balcony.
Verified
Stayed Wednesday 19 March 2008
Good location. Works splendidly for 4 persons, but in case of shy people, only 1 bathroom might be a problem. The balcony on the roof provides unforgettable views. The diswasher did not work, no matter what we did. The instructions for arrival are a little incorrect 1) you take red Alilaguna, not blue 2) Alilaguna leaves on the hour to the airport, not 5 to the hour 3) Monica, the caretaker is next to the hotel, not on the opposite side.
Verified
Stayed Sunday 14 October 2007
Loved the appartment and its situation. Excellent for two people or couple with kids, but would not have liked to have shared it with another couple. Roof bedroom was disappointing and cold. Bathroom would have been better having a shower instead of a bath and with a seperate toilet. Having said that it was a lovely location, appartment was spotlessly clean and the roof terrace made it for us!
Owner reply:

We are delighted that you had a fine holiday.Some travel agents actually provide a disclaimer or preface when renting in Venice because the antique infrastructure of the city is inevitably reflected in the property. Power showers, shower rooms, lifts, air conditioning etc. are available on the island but not widely.We believe that this uniqueness is apparent in the upstairs room where people of all ages have enjoyed their stays. The central heating system is more than adequate to heat all the rooms. One possibility in autumn is that the weather can change abruptly - it may be warm on arrival then suddenly turn cold. In this case, do telephone the caretaker who will arrive promptly to address the heating.Thank you for staying with us and please come back to Venice again!

Verified
Stayed Thursday 27 September 2007
The apartment was clean and attractively furnished and decorated, and well-equipped. The shower was not the best! We found running the hot tap slightly in the hand basin kept the pressure up enough to keep the heater going - otherwise the shower ran cold. The nights were cool, and we did not find duvets until half-way through our stay - and we never found out how to run the heating, although didn't really need it after the first evening. (I'm sure these glitches were because Autumn arrived at the same time as we did.) The roof terrace was the best feature! The location was ideal - near enough to the main attractions but not overwhelmed by tourists, and the shops were really good. If we ever return to Venice, this is where we would stay again.
Verified
A lovely place! It was much better than we expected. The whole place made for a special home away from home during our week there. The description doesnt give the place enough credit, really. Its curated wonderfully and has a wonderful peaceful feel to it. A great place to stay and cook your own meal when you want a break from the tourism of Venice. Lovely!
Verified
Just the job for a city break. Convenient but not touristy Helpful communications. Ideal for 2 adults (plus 2 children if required)
Verified
Great location, near St Mark's Square, fabulous views from roof terrace. Fortunately we are all quite short so didn't have too much of a problem with the lack of roof space, but the heat upstairs was a bit hard to cope with. The standing air con appliances weren't brilliant at coping with the heat in July! All in all we loved the flat, and may well return in the future - with less luggage to haul up all those stairs!
Verified
The photos on the website don't do justice to this lovely apartment. The main bedroom is much nicer than it appears on the website and while you have to be careful of the the low beams of the 2nd "bedroom" in the attic, it is full of character. But the best thing about the apartment is the rooftop terrace which offers stunning views across the canals and rooftops of Venice. The only negative thing i would say is that the bathroom isn't great. There is a shower attachment in the bathtub with quite feeble water pressure, rather than a proper shower. But this is a small price to pay for such a charming apartment in a great location.
21 other reviews
a really welcoming, very Venetian place to stay - felt like our own corner of Venice for 3 days. Superb position you can nip out for fresh bread or a coffee etc, good choice of restaurants in street below when youre too tired to walk far walk for 10 mins in one direction and youre in San Marco, turn the other way and youre in the only airy, spacious, fresh part of Venice, ideal for walking or jogging!, or watching the locals living their ordinary lives in this extraordinary city. And the roof terrace with those views is the icing on the cake ... Weve just booked to return - have stayed in Venice before but cant beat this!! Stayed Sept. 2010
We had a fabulous time in Venice! The apartment is fantastic, we couldn't believe how peaceful it is, we slept really well!We ate out locally and enjoyed a lovely evening at "Giorgione" with the singing. The views accross to St.Mark's from the balcony are great and even though it was early in the season we sat out drinking a local prosecco! Hope to return one day.The Kay familyNottingham, UKEaster 2010
We've enjoyed an amazing week in this delightful apartment. The kitched has been fully appreciated as the local produce on the doorstep is exceptional fresh fruit, vegetables, meat & fish and the finest delicatessen in Venice (Biancchi Gabrielle) with stunning Parmesan.Mark + Miranda H.North DorsetApril 2010
Spent lots of money, had a great time! Impossible to do otherwise!Loved the flat.Di + DeeHolmfirth, W.Yorks., UKOctober 2009
We have really enjoyed your lovely apartment - especially the roof terrace where we watched the cruise ships go by in the evenings and the lovely sunsets.Pam, Alan, Mary and JackLeicestershire + Burton-on-TrentSeptember 2009
Apartment is full of Venetian character. Fantastic location. Great views from the terrace - will recommend it to friends/family. Took a trip on a gondola: 80 Euros before 7 pm, 100 Euros after. They don't haggle!Derek, Suzanne, Hannah and JackBristol, England
The apartment is fantastic - relaxing and cool. Loved the stunning views from the roof garden. The weather was very hot so we had to pace ourselves - the park at Giardini was a success with the kids + great place to cool off as it is very shady. Great cafe too!Andrea, Mark, Gracie and Izzy, Sheffield, England30/5/08
I would recommend feeding pigeons in St.Mark's Square, but remember to get some food first! The Co-op is just down the street. Make sure to get some strong sun cream (especially if you get to Lido)! When you go to Murano make sure to get a glass souvenir. Go to see the glass blowers as well, we saw one to make a horse out of nothing (well, glass). The top bedroom is best and has a terrace. If you are having dinner out go to the restaurant across the street. For ice cream there is Il Doge. The wildlife films by the TV are good. You will find lizzards in the park, cats in the residential area and birds and dogs everywhere.PS: Gondolas are good.Alex (age 10ဓ/5/08
A fantastic apartment in an excellent location. It was lovely to be so close to St.Mark's, but also enjoy the real side of Venice along Via Garibaldi.Many thanks.Andy, Arifa, Michelle and Simone, LondonMay 2008
We had a wonderful week in Venice. We loved the roof terrace, the town, Via Garibaldi with the everyday life and locals and the fine restaurants in the area of Castello. We will come back another time.Henrik + Date (Denmark)May 2008
Wow! What a fab apartment in a great location. Venice is all we expected and more. Watching sunset from the roof terrace was something else.Shop around for food and drink. Can't wait to return.Maxine, Mark, Helen, Steve5NJ/4/2008
We love the apartment, thank you, fantastic location, and we were incredibly lucky with the weather! Thanks for your good taste in decor. We have more to see, so we hope to be back sometime soon. John + Sandy, Salisbury, Wilts.March / April 2008
Well placed apartment for seeing the sights and catching the Vaporettos - no.1 for slow ride up the Grand Canal especially in the evenings. Attic room is height limited but gives a wonderful view from the balcony over Venice. Lovely bed in the double room, best nights' sleep for ages.The Walkers + The Sandersons, September '07
We've had a wonderful week in Venice and the apartment has been perfect in every respect. We enjoyed the location, the amazing view from the roof terrace, the excellent range of books and such attractive posters and paintings. Every comfort. Every need catered for and such a warm welcome from Monica and the delightful Emily. Many thanks.The Maywood family, August '07
Amazing few days in Venice. The apartment is unbeatable, the location near main sites but in it's own nice area too! Loved the roof terrace in the cool evenings.The Hardie family, August '07
It goes without saying that we had a wonderful time here in Venice, partly due to the lovely flat and its location in the lively Via Garibaldi area. Our highlights were wandering around the less busy areas of the city, our trip to Torcello and our meal at Il Nuovo Galleon. We had 1 1/2 days of torrential rain but then the sun shone and we enjoyed the tremendous view from the terrace. Note that on Sunday the bakeries in Via Garibaldi remain closed but the Billa supermarket on Strada Nuova is open all day. Thank you again.J.Fantes et.al., May 2007
A fabulous time in the wonderful city of Venice. We were very lucky with the weather. The apartment is charming, well stocked and in a great location. We made a good use of the rooftop terrace. Thank you.Colin, Karen, Nick and Debbi, April 2007
This is a very cosy apartment and in a friendly place. Both restaurants we used provided really good food and a lovely atmosphere.Jill Edwards, January 2007
A wonderful apartment full of character in a superb location ideal to reaching all parts of the Canal. Be sure to visit the Doge's Palace (allow plenty of time!).The local specialities at the Garanghelo (downstairs) and the Giorgione(to the right of the apartment) are a joy to behold. Luciano's singing at the latter is not to be missed! A fantastic stay all in all amongst the Venetian community. Thanks for a great time.Barrie and Julie, January 2007
Just a quick note to say we got back from a most wonderful stay thisafternoon.The flat really is terrific - very cosy and beautifully decorated, and it'swonderfully equipped in all respects, though we three coffee drinkers couldhave used more than a one-cup coffee maker! And a bath mat would be auseful addition as well. Apart from those two small suggestions, we feltextremely at home, and it was great to be so centrally located.All in all (and even the weather wasn't all that bad for this time ofyear!), we had an extremely pleasant stay and would love to return at somepoint and will certainly recommend it to our friends.Mrs.Townsend, November 2006
Some impressions from 2005 : Just a note to say that we enjoyed our visit to Venice, which was enhanced by our stay at your apartment. It was everything that we required, a convenient base for our trips round the city with the facility of a kitchen to turn our market shopping into Italian meals. Many thanks.J.Grant We want to let you know what a wonderful time we had in Venice staying in your delightful apartment. We fell in love with the city and spent hours exploring the canals and alleys. Thank you. We hope to return! Many thanks for the guide book, a lovely touch!The Yates family We just wanted to let you know that we had a really wonderful time in Venice, and your apartment was superb, so comfortable and nothing lacking in it. We so enjoyed being there; the selection of books was great and each night we watched Da Mosto’s video in parts. The apartment was clean, comfortable, and in such a lovely position. Monica met us as arranged at the waterbus stop and was so polite and welcoming and informative. The Beardsley family

Owner

About the owner
Owner score 695
Calendar updated: 26 days ago
Last logged in: 17 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: November 2006