Book now

Contact owner

Casa Gisella, Lunigiana

Overview

Casa Gisella is a truly unique property bursting with character and charm and set in a village of incredible beauty. It is in Lunigiana an upspoilt area in the north of Tuscany.

Casa Gisella has been lovingly and traditionally restored by local craftsmen filling it with character right down to every detail; Chestnut wood is used throughout for beams, doors and shutters. Original stone areas both outside and inside. Terracotta tiles on the roofs. Ironwork (original and new) for the railings. Gutters, drains and chimney in copper - everything has been done carefully and with high quality.

It is furnished and appointed as a home should be, comfortably with modern conveniences yet sympathetic to the traditional design. The tastefully co-ordinated interiors add to the experience of luxury and comfort.

The accommodation is set on 4 levels and includes 2 double bedrooms both with en suite shower rooms, and 1 twin room with a main bathroom. The utility area provides a washing machine. There is a large kitchen/living/dining area which opens up to a breakfast terrace. A larger roof terrace on the top floor offers an amazing vantage point across the valleys and to the mountains and the opportunity for dining and relaxing outside.

The property is located in Bastia a small village set high on a hill in the foothills of the Appenines. The village is dominated by a large castle and church. The views from the house and village are incredible and the peace and quiet so relaxing.

The people in the village are friendly and welcoming and there is a real community feel. Staying at Casa Gisella allows you to experience a 'real' part of Italy in an area unspoilt by tourism. The restaurants serve delicious local produce; the local mobile shop calls at the village and becomes a focus point for everyone to catch up; the nearby shops sell beautiful local meats and cheeses and other strange specialities like chestnut flour, wild boar and fresh mushrooms.

Our local Italian friends welcome our guests and make sure they settle in and have everything they need. They are always on hand if there is a problem or a question.

Casa Gisella is a house that has been created from the heart and staying there is a relaxing and special experience.

On arrival you are greeted with a basket of fine Italian food and wines and all the basics to start you off.

The house has an information book packed with details of the local area, restaurants, things to see and places to go, or just tell us what you want and we will do our best to help.

We pride ourselves on the luxury ,cleanliness and comfort in Casa Gisella. Cleaning Services are included in the rental price both at the end of your stay, and also midweek during your stay.

Casa Gisella is ideally placed for many activities and sights. Just 15 minutes from the main A15 motorway, you can travel in any direction quickly and conveniently. This means that you can arrive from Pisa, Genoa or Parma airports in about an hour or Milan or Bologna in under 2 and a half hours.

Once here you will discover that you won't have enough time to see everything...

The mountain areas are stunning and provide great skiiing in winter.

Or head to the coast and visit the world famous Cinque Terre, just 35 minutes away by car or train. Closer still are the beaches and coast of Portovenere and Lerici where you can experience real Italian Ice-cream! Of course the Tuscan coast to the south or Portofino and the Italian Riviera to the north are both within 1 hour's drive.

An alternative destination is the wonderful Parma - a true gastronomic delight to sample the fine meats and cheeses in one of the many restaurants and cafes - just 1 hours's drive.

Of course there is no need to travel far to enjoy this area. Within minutes of the house are many castles, medieval villages, breathtaking countryside and stunning sights.

This is one of the most beautiful and unspoilt areas of Italy and never fails to amaze and satifsy its visitors.

Summary:

Traditional Tuscan village house. Luxury accommodation - Sleeps 6, 3 bathrooms, 2 terraces. Stunning views.

Facilities

Property type: Village house

Room details

Bedrooms:

3 bedrooms, sleeps 6

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed, En Suite
Bedroom 3: 2 Single beds

Additional beds:
1 cot
Seats:
Room for 6 in the dining area
Room for 6 in the living area
Bathrooms:
3 bathrooms

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
CD player
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet
Radio
TV Languages in Local
Heating and air con:
Central heating
Open fire
Household:
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Fridge
Freezer
Glassware
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Kettle
Oven
Pots / pans
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Other:
Balcony or terrace
Outside lighting

Suitability

Suitable for
Infants

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Climbing
Golf
Sailling
Skiing
Swimming
Water Skiing
Walking
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Shopping
Theatre
Cinema

Prices and availability

Last updated 16.02.2015


...Unavailable
...Your booking
  • From £574.75 per week
  • From £574.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £992.75 per week
  • From £992.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
  • From £783.75 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Arrival and departure days Minimum stay (nights)
28th March 2015 to 30th June 2015 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday 3
1st July 2015 to 31st August 2015 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday 5
1st September 2015 to 31st October 2015 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday 3

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Discounts

Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 10 Months 10%
1st January to 31st December 5 Months 5%
Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st March 10 Days 10%
1st October to 31st December 10 Days 10%
Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 31st December 14 Days 5%

Extras

Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Central Heating is charged extra and is payable in Euro at the end of your stay. This is charged per gas unit used at a cost of €4 per gas unit (not GBP as indicated to the right). One unit per day is included in your rental cost, and all extra gas is chargeable. This cost will be taken from your breakages deposit if you are unable to pay at the house. As a rule of thumb, budget for between 3 and 6 units of gas per day depending on season and average use from October to April. All year N/A £4.00 per booking

Paid locally

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest beach: 45km
  • Nearest bar: 3km
  • Nearest restaurant: 15km
  • Nearest supermarket: 15km
  • Genova Airport: 75km
  • Seaside/beaches: 30km
  • Skiing: 30km

Reviews

13 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities
12 out of 13 people recommend staying here
Verified
Stayed Saturday 12 October 2013 with Family
It is a lovely villa and location. We had a very good holiday here alas only 3 days! We arrived later in the evening than anticipated following the drive from Genoa - the final climb to Bastia is more easily accomplished in daylight to those unaccustomed to Tuscan roads - to a very warm welcome from the lady managing the villa, locally, on behalf of the owners.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 14 September 2013 with Friends
My wife and I had the most wonderful time at Casa Gisella. We were at the house for 6 nights and we wish it had been more. The house is beautiful and very homely, it had everything we could have asked for, the facilities were terrific and the location awe inspiring. We wanted a relaxing time and we couldnt have picked a better place. To wake up in the mornings in peace and quiet and then to walk onto either of the terraces and just drink in the view was something we will not forget. The twisty mountainous approach road adds a degree of isolation to the village which is perhaps why the village and the house felt like a haven of tranquility and the imposing backdro p of the castle behind the property makes this the most unique location we have ever holidayed at. We would love to go back in the future and indeed would look forward to it, we will certainly recommend it to our friends and anyone who will listen. Thank you Ronnie and Alison for the time we spent in your beautiful Italian home. Nigel & Linda Jamison Co. Down Northern Ireland.
Verified
Stayed Tuesday 02 September 2008
The property and location were both exactly as described and excellent in every way. The only downside was that in such a peaceful location, building works nearby were rather noisy at certain times every day, which did spoil the tranquility, i think we were just unlucky. The only other consructive comment I would make is that the property would benefit from more storage space for clothes, ie additional wardrobes or chests of drawers. Once again however the property and location were both beautiful.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 30 August 2008
Casa Gisella was perfect for our getaway-from-it-all weekend away (three friends). Its location on the side of a quiet hill village gives stunning views from the terraces and main room. With great weather we spent a lot of time on the main terrace. We were conscious that the cottage is very close to neighbours and felt obliged not to be too noisy. The welcome from the concierge, Antonella, the food and wine were much appreciated and enabled us to settle in straight away. We were more than satisfied by the accommodation itself, the quality of the facilities, decor, furnishings and cleanliness. Our only disappointment was that we couldnt stay longer.
Verified
Stayed Thursday 02 August 2007
a thoroughly enjoyable week. fantastic views and immaculate home.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 07 July 2007
Casa Gisella was the highlight of our holiday in Italy which is saying something considering the quality of the locations in which we stayed. As a villa for a relaxing holiday it was ideal, with magnificent views, excellent location between the beaches and mountains and superb accomodation. If you're looking for a wild holiday (like Ibiza/Magaluf) then I wouldn't recommend Casa Gisella as this is more for relaxation (and exploring) rather than 24 hr partying. So it depends what you're after really. We wanted somewhere to experience authentic Italy without the crowds of the traditional tourist areas in Tuscany and the rest of Italy. The town of Bastia itself has no shops and is on a mountainside so a car is a must if you're visiting. We managed to find a number of excellent restaurants nearby and as soon as you visit Italy you'll understand what I'm about to say next - Sat nav is highly recommended. The accomodation itself was exceptional. It is finished to the very highst standards and the owners have thought of virtually everything. I would liken it to staying in a showhouse as there is simply everything you could possibly want. I suspect many visitors will miss how well the house is finished because they'll be too busy looking at the views which are simply breath taking. Overall a great place to stay (but make sure you have a car for your stay - which is useful anyway for trips into the nearby mountains).
Verified
Stayed Monday 01 May 2006
This is a very comfortable property. Recently and very well renovated. Internet access is available in the villa and that is a bonus. It is high up the side of a mountain in a nice little village. The residents are very friendly. The drive up the hill takes a little getting used to but once you reach the town and the villa it is all worth while. Wonderfull views and very quiet. The early monring views are great with the morning clouds filling the valleys below. It is an easy drive to places to visit in Tuscany an easy drive to Pisa or Florence. If you choose to take the train there is a train station in Aulla with ample free parking about a 15 minute drive from the villa. All in all a very nice vacation spot.
Verified
Rather remote, but a beautiful part of Italy. Not much of a greeting by local Italian friends! ( handed a key, point at black book of instructions!) No midweek clean. ( no towel change as advertised) No -one available to cook / supply the menu selec tion offered as part of the luxury element advertised. Sofa stained and in need of replacement. Not quite up to the luxury described in the house details, broken chair, broken parasol, mouldy fridge on our arrival. didnt spoil our holiday, visited some amazing places across Tuscany, good central Tuscany location.
Owner reply:

Dear CarolI know that I have replied to you privately, but as you have now put this review online, I feel that I should put things in context likewise.Firstly, your review was both surprising and disappointing, as in your email to me after your stay you said,"Thank you for the stay in your house. We had a fabuluous holiday in the surrounding area and beyond!". You then go on to mention some of the issues you had which I have acknowledged and addressed in a reply, and then you finished with,"Not complaints, just little things that we understood we were paying for, that we did not receive. Hope you don't mind me pointing them out, but as i'm sure you appreciate, we read all the information and liked the services we read about to make our stay that bit more enjoyable."I explained via email that our usual house keeper was with family when you stayed due to the death of her father and her daughter filled in. Whilst I appreciate that on this occasion some of the usual very high standards of Casa Gisella fell below what we would expect (and I openly acknowledge this), this was in exceptional circumstances which were outside our control. We were not aware that standards had slipped during your visit.Also you did not mention anything about a broken chair, parasol or the fridge in your communications during or after your stay. You have my mobile number and we always encourage people to call if there is a problem or question. Indeed I spoke to you early in your stay to sort the internet and again nothing was mentioned to me. Had we known, we would have had someone come to the house to sort any issues as we have done for many guests in the past.Casa Gisella is a comfortable and very well appointed traditional family home in which many families have stayed and had wonderful holidays. The house was completely repainted this year and as far as we are aware none of the furniture needs replacing. Indeed guests who stayed 3 weeks before you wrote to tell us of how amazing the place was, how we had thought of everything in what we provided in the house and how they are looking forward to booking for next year. Your review is the first time we have received such a complaint. We will be inspecting the property fully later next month ourselves and as we always do every year, we will replace anything that needs replacing.Of course the odd time something goes wrong and we always strive to put things right. On this occasion we apologise that we fell short of our high standards but we feel your criticisms should be put in context.Whilst you are entitled to your view, Casa Gisella is certainly not a 1.5 star property and the reviews both here and the many more in the guest book at the house, which I am sure you read, prove that to be the case.Kind regardsRonnie

Verified
Casa Gisella exceeded our expectations and was the highlight of a 3 week visit to Italy that included Rome, Siena and the Puglia region. The views are simply breathtaking, the accommodations gorgeous and the overall attention to detail in the home fantastic. We used it as a rendez-vous spot for a reunio n with friends from Australia. All 3 couples called Casa Gisella magical and it was truly unique and a special experience to stay there. Once the reservation was booked the owners provided excellent information and always responded to emails promptly. They have prepared a binder chock full of local information and any question you might have about the Casa. The welcome basket of food basics from the owners was another added feature we appreciated. We also took advantage of the property managers in house cooking menu and arranged for a multi-course Tuscan meal that was outstanding. We ate for two days from the generous and delicous leftovers. If you are inclined to get off the beaten track you will not be disappointed by a stay at Casa Gisella in Bastia.
Verified
Casa Gisella is a beautiful home and in a beautiful location and parking is no issue whatso ever. We spent most of our time in Cinque Terre and on the coast even so the drive took no more than 40 - 45 minutes each day and while Cinque Terre is beautiful during the day the hotels are not very nice. We also found a fun adventure park in Fosdinvo for our children (twins aged 11) and they really enjoyed the Marmo cave tour in Carrarra. We used all of the bedrooms. We were a bit surprised to find that the top guest bedroom had to be accessed from an external stairway from the living room, however that ended up being a non-issue once we worked out how to have keys on both sides of the door obviously we wanted the door to the main house to be locked but wanted our children to have access to us and us to them. The master bedroom was in the main home but used by my mother-in-law. Shopping for food was convenient, plenty of restaurants. The kitchen facilitites were very good although since we did cook a few more pans would have been helpful the house had one small fry pan, sauce pan and a large pasta pan. There we plenty of towels (which is great when you go to the beach like we did). The washing machine was a great help and there was a beautiful terrace with a rack for drying. The decoration was very nice. They have a marvelous book put together on places to eat, things to do, etc. The wireless internet worked perfectly. We really enjoyed ourselves very much! You also have a built in alarm clock as the church bells start to ring at 7:00 :) We would highly recommend.
Verified
Everything about the house, and its location, was wonderful. The countryside was much greener and more heavily wooded than anticipated and the views from the house were incredible. It was well located for visiting places of interest. The only fly in the ointment was the weather, which was really dreadful. Rain, rain & more rain! Obviously there is nothing anybody can do about the weather, but it would have been nice to have a larger screen in the house on which to watch DVDs. Obviously, if the weather had been good, we would have been out and about in the evenings and wouldn't even have noticed this issue.
Verified
Having backpacked twice before in Italy in various hostels, campsites and roadsides I was particularly excited this time round as I had visited Casa Gisella’s website beforehand and viewed the numerous photographs of the accommodation and surrounding scenery. Much to our surprise it exceeded our expectations in that the accommodation was of an extremely high standard in both cleanliness and quality. Everything from the bathrooms and kitchen, to the bedrooms and sun terraces were immaculate. The welcome hamper of Italian foods and wines was a thoughtful touch as we had arrived shortly after tea-time on Sunday. The Fruits of the Forrest Jam Tart didn’t stand a chance, as I had to order another one by Tuesday. Bastia itself is a small and beautiful remote village high up in the Tuscan hills with stunning views of the Licciana Nardi valley below. With its remote location, great weather and a short 40 minute car journey from Lerici (a beautiful picturesque stretch of coastline with clean sandy beaches and warm clear water) it is a perfect spot for a relaxing and carefree holiday. Its nearest town Aulla (15 minute drive) has a newly built train station with regular access to hotspots such as Pisa and Florence. If you want to experience authentic Italy, with its nearby golden beaches, historic cities and beautiful mountain scenery staying at Casa Gisella is as close as you’re going to get.
Verified
The only comment I would want to make is that families with young children need to be aware of the lack of grass/outside play area, although the balconies are outside. Over the years we have stayed in many villas and we have always chosen a villa with ample room outside for the children to run around in. Obviously this year we were not looking for this so the villa exceeded our expectations and there was nothing we could fault. I think it is also worth mentioning that one of the bedrooms can only be accessed by a flight of steps outside, some children may feel slightly cut off. For us it was perfect, we had a fabulous week away with what was, probably, our last family holiday ( children are 20 and 22!!) and we wish the owners every success with their beautiful villa. We were also more than adequately looked after during out stay.

Owner

About the owner
Owner score 1050
Calendar updated: 3 months ago
Last logged in: 13 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: April 2007