Request booking

Contact owner


We are delighted to a offer you private, self-catering accommodation in our Italian holiday home, a beautifully restored 2 bedroom apartment in this unique historical building.

Though perfect for a relaxing break at any time of year, Il Palazzo literally blooms during the summer months, when the rose bushes of its landscaped gardens are in full flower, the sun is high and breeze is up, and the views across this beautiful lake will take your breath away.

The building and grounds, including the swimming pool, are run by a local, professionally qualified administrator. The apartment you see here is managed by Garda Homes, a British/Italian company, who oversee all aspects of bookings, changeovers and laundry, so you can be assured of the highest standards while still enjoying the privacy and genuinity of a booking direct from the owner.

One of the little-known benefits of Il Palazzo is its location.
Set in the hills above Salo', it faces south, or very slightly south-east, meaning it enjoys the rays of the sun from morning until sun-down, with a pleasant breeze in the afternoons. On the hottest days, when temperatures can reach the low forties in the towns down around the lake, the gardens and pool at Il Palazzo enjoy a light breeze and temperatures a few degrees lower than at the lakeside. At night, the apartment is lovely and cool and air-conditioning is simply not needed.
Winters are incredibly mild, and while frost can be found at the bottom of the hill on the coldest mornings, up at Il Palazzo the sun warms the hillside. Last winter, we enjoyed almost three months of bright sunshine every day, with a bit of rain in November and April, and a dusting of snow in December.

It is surrounded by beautiful countryside, with vineyards just below the Palazzo and olive trees in abundance, yet the lake, with its charming street cafe life, designer shops and restaurants, is a short 5 minute drive away, Gardaland and other theme parks are 30 minutes away, the opera house at the Arena di Verona is 40 minutes away, and the designer stores of Milan are just 1 1/4 hours away by train or 1 1/2 hours by car.

The apartment was restored in 2003 and has been stylishly furnished...
The apartment at Il Palazzo offers a true home from home, with every facility for a comfortable stay.

The apartment has limited access to FREE Wifi. The service is limited to the garden and is available only for checking emails, social networks and internet browsing. (Downloading and Uploading and Skype are not permitted)

The entrance leads down some steps into a large living room, with vaulted ceilings and original beams dating back to the 16th century, and a large corner sofa seating six people comfortably. This sofa also opens out to become a double bed. There is a large colour television with DVD player and surround sound, plus UK satellite television, and a reading area with view over the lake with armchair and a collection of books and DVDs, The dining area, towards the back of the living room, provides seating for six people and a large dining table, complete with chandelier and candlesticks.
The kitchen leads off the living area, and though small, it is truly state-of-the-art, with a modern, stylish Italian design, and fully fitted with dishwasher, microwave, fan oven, hob, fridge and small freezer, and plenty of cupboard space.

Also leading off the living room from the reading area is a laundry room, with a washing machine and clothes drier.

Three small balconies lead off from the living area, providing spectacular views of the swimming pool and lake.
The corridor leading down to the bedrooms also leads off to the bathroom, which has its own balcony with lake view. The "bathroom" is actually a large shower-room, with wall-mounted washbasin and toilet, and a huge walk-in "rain" shower, tiled with marble mosaic.

The main bedroom at the end of the corridor also has its own balcony with lake view, and a lovely double bed with brass bedstead, crisp white bed-linen and a romantic mosquito net (which is really for show as we've never been bothered by mosquitoes at Il Palazzo!).

The second bedroom also has a double bed and wardrobe. Both bedrooms have ceiling fans. Air-conditioning is not needed.


Beautiful 2 bedroom apartment in a 16th century Palazzo with 5 "Romeo and Juliet" balconies overlooking the lake and swimming pool. Access to FREE Wifi


Property type: Apartment

Room details


2 bedrooms, sleeps 4

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed

Additional beds:
Room for 6 in the dining area
Room for 5 in the living area
1 bathroom, 1 Separate WC

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
CD player
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet (WI-FI)
TV Languages in Local
Heating and air con:
Central heating
Iron / board
Pots / pans
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Swimming pool:
Balcony or terrace
Private garden


Suitable for

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Horse Riding
Mountain Biking
Scuba Diving
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Theme Park

Prices and availability

Last updated 16.07.2013

...Your booking

Discounts and extras


This property does not have any discounts set


Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Linen and laundry (bed linen and towels) All year Occupancy: per person £11.00 per person per booking

Paid with booking

End of stay clean (85 euros plus 20% VAT, converted to sterling with 1.175 exchange rate) All year N/A £87.00 per booking

Paid with booking

Winter heating 1st January to 31st January N/A £35.00 per week

Paid with booking

Winter heating 1st February to 28th February N/A £35.00 per week

Paid with booking

Winter heating 1st March to 31st March N/A £35.00 per week

Paid with booking

Winter heating 1st November to 30th November N/A £35.00 per week

Paid with booking

Winter heating 1st December to 31st December N/A £35.00 per week

Paid with booking


This is the general location (within 1km of the property)

  • Nearest beach: 15km
  • Nearest bar: 0.5km
  • Nearest restaurant: 15km
  • Nearest supermarket: 15km
  • Verona airport: 40km
  • Bergamo airport: 50km
  • Milan Linate: 75km


26 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money
26 out of 26 people recommend staying here
Stayed Saturday 13 August 2011
We had a fab 2 weeks in the peaceful and charming Il Palazzo with friendly Italians, lovely views, great position and pool. Venice and Verona easily accessible and Salo is one of the best lake towns 10 mins from apartment. Highly recommended.
Stayed Saturday 30 July 2011
This was a fantastic appartment. Mary-lyn and Roy (the property managers) were pleasant, very helpful and made us feel relaxed and welcome. The view from the property is amazing both day and night. The swimming pool is well maintained andf clean. The windy road up the mountain was the only down side because one person cannot have a drink. It is only possible to walk up if you are VERY fit, but that does mean the area around the appartment is quiet - nice after the bustle of Salo.It is very well equipped, plenty of crockery, cutlery, etc and loungers for the pool. Very relaxing.
Stayed Saturday 15 August 2009
We stayed in this property from 15th August to 22nd August 2009. The property was in a beautiful location with stunning views over the lake. It was very modern inside and very well equipped indeed. The only thing we felt that let it down was the fact that in the main bedroom and also the lounge there were no shutters on some of the windows (also no blinds on some windows in the main bedroom) As there was a very bright security light on all night outside the main bedroom it was difficult to sleep as it was so light. The apartment would be more flexible if the second bedroom had 2 single beds rather than a double bed. Because of this one of our teenage daughters had to sleep in the lounge which, as outlined above, was very light due to the unavailability of shutters. Overall, however, we had a lovely week at Il Palazzo and would recommend it to a friend.
Stayed Saturday 13 June 2009
Apartment was excellent better than we expected, it was clean and was fully equiped with everything that we needed. Fabulous views from the balconies. Would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Stayed Saturday 19 July 2008
The kitchen in the property was really well equipped, with easy to operate microwave and electric ovens and a vast arrange of utensils. The living/dining area was very spacious and comfortable. The satellite television and dvd player worked excellently. The main bedroom was spacious, but the second bedroom was very cramped. It would have benefited from having twin/bunk beds instead of another double bed. The property remained cool despite the very warm weather which was very welcome. The views from the property were outstanding. The pool and garden areas were immaculately clean and well looked after. The property is ideal for those wanting a quiet and peaceful environment. Salo was an beautiful, quiet resort with an esplanade providing extensive access to the lake, unlike many of the resorts visited. It was simple to travel by car from Salo to the whole of the west side of the lake, and even to Verona which was less than one hour from the apartment. Only criticism was that the cleaners took until 6.30pm on the day of our arrival to finish cleaning the apartment. After all the warnings about vacating the property before 9am on the day of departure made this a bit annoying.
Stayed Saturday 21 June 2008
This was our second holiday in Il Palazzo and like last year we had a wonderful time. The apartment is just so good - plenty of linen, ware, cutlery, etc. It really is like home from home but with one difference - the view down to Salo! It actually lacks for nothing. Spotlessly clean on arrival. The outside was also very well kept. Would have no hesitation in recommending this. It will be very difficult for us in the future to rent as we will be benchmarking everything with Il Palazzo. Keep up the good work.
Owner reply:

Thank you so much Patrick, a pleasure to have you as our guests, as always! Do come back again soon. Sarah

Stayed Saturday 11 August 2007
The location was superb even though getting to the property was certainly a test of one's driving skills, especially at night! The accommodation was first class although the second bedroom was rather small and not having a window was a disadvantage. Lounge, kitchen, and dining areas were excellent and there was certainly plenty of cutlery, crockery, etc. The pool was a definiote plus point and the local rules regarding the public areas were very much appreciated. Finally, that view - it will live in my memory for a very long time!
Stayed Saturday 14 July 2007
Very spacious, clean and extremely well-equipped apartment. Peaceful location with stunning views from the apartment and pool / grounds. We used the lake ferry services on several occasions - worth buying a "day pass" which allows you to hop on / hop off and thereby visit the numerous lakeside towns and villages. Sirmione is well worth a visit although try and visit earlier in the day as the afternoon crowds can be unbearable. A minor point, but it would be useful if the apartment could provide advice on parking in Saló and train advice etc for those considering day trips to Venice and Verona. All in all a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
Stayed Saturday 30 June 2007
The apartment far exceeded any expectation we had. It was absolutely fabulous and the views were breathtaking. Quality of fixtures and fittings was excellent, particularly the glassware and cutlery. Will definitely return and would have no hesitation in recommending the apartment. Fabulous pool as well. The location was great as we were near Salo yet at the same time in the country, One small negative comment - we have been renting for about 20 years, in France, Spain, Italy and Canada, and this was the first time that somebody was not around to meet us.
Owner reply:

Dear Patrick, thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. One thing - I was "around" as I live in the same building but I tend to keep a low profile in order to give people privacy!All the best and please come back again soon.

Stayed Saturday 23 June 2007
Very pleasant situation - quiet and perfect for a relaxing stay.
Stayed Saturday 19 May 2007
Having stayed in various Italian villas over the last few years each new one as to be that little bit more special. Il Palazzo would have received an "excellent" rating if not for two issues. One, which will not apply to subsequent renters, is that the car park was being laid and unusable An e-mail sent the day we left to tell us was missed and as we had booked months ago prevented us from doing anything about it (a discount would have been appropriate). Saying that there was plenty of parking in the small village, and the exercise did us good. The only other issue were the rules & regulations, which we were able to meet easily as we are well past our rowdy & small kiddie years. Overall Il Palazzo is an ideal retreat with stunning views across Salo & Garda, tastefully decorated, & well appointed. A special mention for Enzo & his family who are related to the owners for their help & guidance (especially the resteraunt in St. Felice). Recommended for couples in need of a rest.
Stayed Saturday 15 July 2006
The property was excellent - brilliant location and the interior was stunning. One NEGATIVE comment - the fridge was very poor - the door did not shut properly and as a result the fridge frosted up and the contents were often wet. Given the quality of the accomodation and the rental of circa £1100 for the week - I would have expected a very good standard of fridge.
Owner reply:

Hi, thanks for your comments and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.The fridge is brand new and of the highest quality. However, if the freezer compartment is not shut completely, the fridge door will not seal. However if the freezer compartment is closed, the fridge works perfectly. I will leave a note in the apartment to this effect for future guests!Thanks again and we hope you visit us again soon.

Stayed Friday 26 May 2006
Beautiful apartment and garden with fabulous views over Salo and Lake Garda in a peaceful location. There is a nearby walk through the woods with the most spectacular wild flowers and the surrounding area is filled with wildlife, including cuckoos and fire flies. There is plenty to do on Lake Garda. Although a car is a neccessity being situated so high in the hills with no restaurants or shops within walking distance. There was some confussion over the start day of our stay but the neighbours were extremely helpful in resolving the issue. Overall an excellent holiday!
Stayed Saturday 26 November 2005
A very tasteful property in a wonderful location with a magificent view of Lake Garda. The apartment was very clean and well-equipped. The only very slight problem was a fridge door which didn't close very well - when we arrived the freezer compartment was iced up and this grew steadily worse as the week progressed. Il Palazzo is quite high up a windy mountain road and a car is essential. The pool was cleaned regularly. We absolutely loved our week and were very reluctant to leave. We would certainly consider another visit.
Stayed Saturday 26 November 2005
Property was described accurately. Fully equipped for holiday living. Most enjoyable holiday. Only disadvantages were lack of wardrobe space and having to vacate by 9am. Leaving time of 10am would have been preferable
Stayed Saturday 26 November 2005
A terrific place with outstanding accomodation and a wonderful view. Couldn't fault it!
Owner reply:

Thank you so much! Please come back soon...Sarah

We have just returned from a fabulous break at Il Palazzo. The apartment was excellent, and if anything, even better than the pictures suggest - you cannot appreciate just how big it is until you see it in person. Everything was comfortable, and given that the temperatures were 34 degrees outside, the nights were cool for sleeping inside the apartment, thanks to the thick stone walls. Everything you need for a fabulous holiday seems to be there - in fact my wife suggested that you could literally move in and live there with the amount and quality of home comforts/appliances. We didnt make use of the wi-fi or flat-screen TV/satellite, preferring to go "off the grid" for two weeks, but I have no doubt they would be fine. The views are stunning, and the atmosphere around the shared pool was very friendly, with a mix of holidaymakers and locals who appeared for weekends away from their normal homes. Overall, it was excellent - and a special thank you to Mari-lyn and Roy who manage the apartment, and were always helpful, polite and friendly - and gave the best restaurant recommendations !
A very spacious and well-equipped property with fantastic views to Lake Garda above Salo.
It is a unique property of very high quality situated in a beautiful location. The pool was pristine and the gardens full of colour. Everything was as described - with the unexpected bonus of having internet access while sat in the upper garden! Resident concierge Mari-lyn saw to all our needs regarding restaurant bookings, directions and even lending us a charger for our GPS ! Regards, Mark Murphy
Our 16 year old daughter and we really enjoyed our time at Il Palazzo, especially the fantastic views of Salo and Lake Garda, and the pool. The apartment felt very cool and comfortable in the heat and was well furnished and very clean. It was a good location from which to visit various places around Lake Garda- a car being essential as the property is several kilmetres up a very steep hill. We would definitely recommend it to others.
Fantastic views over Lake Garda. Interesting property. The second bedroom is rather pokey and cave like. Public areas great. Mosquitos can be a problem. The beds have nets but the property would benefit if some of the windows had insect screens so that they can be left open overnight or while you are around during the day. The towels provided were poor quality. Very thin and hardly larger than a hand towel.A number ol lights in the kitchen in particular did not work makin cooking a chore. The exhaust fan over stove did not work. Regardless of my criticisims it is a gereat place to stay and I would highly recommend it. Salo the local town is a marvellous place, probably the most beautiful on the lake. and the locals very friendly.
Owner reply:

Hi, many thanks for your review. However I would like to add the following comments: 1) sorry to hear you had trouble with mosquitos but I have lived at Il Palazzo for 4 years year round and none of our family has had a mosquito bite, ever! Other renters have also commented about the lack of mosquitos up in the hills compared to resorts close to the lake. 2) Our insurance would certainly not allow our guests to leave doors/windows open all day while out with only a screen for security, despite the low crime rate. 3) After you left I checked the lights and exhaust fan - the exhaust fan was working perfectly and out of six spotlights, two powerful neon strips and the light over the hob, 2 spots had blown in the small kitchen area - however these must have blown while you were there as we check the apartment (including all bulbs on the day of your arrival). Had you called to let me know Id have been there in a few hours with replacements.Sorry you didnt like the towels but they are of standard hotel size (admittedly not huge bath sheets) with extras provided in the laundry room. That said I am glad you enjoyed the apartment and this beautiful part of Lake Garda.

Fantastic Location Propert was beutiful and distimctive
A lovely property with large rooms, comfortable furniture, and fantastic views. Everything you could possibly want was provided, with the kitchen being the best equipped of all the holiday places we have stayed in. The only downside was that our linen was for some reason not changed as was supposed to happen in the middle of our fortnight's stay. Also need to bear in mind that the property is not in walking distance of lakeside restaurants, bars etc, so one of you has to be sober enough to drive back after an evening out.
Owner reply:

Hello Angela, thank you so much for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I note from your booking that you didn't order a mid-stay linen change, which is why we didn't disturb you. However, had you called us we would have done so immediately.Please visit us again soon.

Lovely property in a stunning location.
Extremely well furnished, equiped and decorated with good taste, superb mountain side setting with view of the lake, and nice pool and terrace area, very quiet and tranquil location, but in easy driving reach of all amenities, definately worth a second visit
Il Palazzo was very well appointed, beautifully furnished and equipped. The pool was a treasure after a days sightseeing and was regularly cleaned and taken care of. For us, the location was spectacular, looking out over the lake, the only small drawback being the lack of nearby places to eat without having to drive down the mountain. Excellent place for relaxation and getting away from it all.
5 other reviews
A more tranquil setting than 'Il Palazzo" would be hard to find! This combined with the stunning views of Lake Garda will ensure that our visit to Lake Garda is not our last.The Sage family, 24/07/04.
Thank you for the opportunity to experience this wonderful place. We have had a fantastic, relaxing time.Alyn and Karen
"Views breathtaking, local restaurants very good. Everyone very friendly and helpful..."Mrs and Mrs Brooks, Mr and Mrs Cross, 22/09/04
"This was our second visit to Lake Garda, but the first time in Salò. We are even more in love with the region now.Our stay at Il Palazzo has been wonderful, and comfortable - the only problem is having to leave.The view over the lake is breathtaking, and we could have sat looking at it for hours (and probably did).Thank you for everything, and we hope we have the opportunity to visit again."Graham and Sylvia
"We have had a great holiday in a really special environment. Many thanks"The Cooper family, 13/08/04


About the owner
We own several rental properties in the Lake Garda region of Italy, and manage 22 properties for other private owners. We have been providing holiday rental property management services on Lake Garda since 2004, and have successfully processed over 900 bookings.
Owner score 20000
Calendar updated: a year ago
Last logged in: a month ago
Located in: Italy
Joined: April 2005