Contact Owner

4 Clifton - Overlooking The Sea In Cork

Beach house with 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and golf nearby in Youghal, Ireland

From £697 per week

House to rent in Youghal, Ireland

  • House
  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • WiFi
  • Near beach
  • Balcony / terrace
  • Near golf
  • BBQ
  • Washing machine

House overview - owner's description

Simply amazing sea views from a stunning, refurbished, Victorian Townhouse in the most exclusive area of Youghal. We completed the refurbishment in Summer 2011. Next door to 3 Clifton, also available.

Simply the best address in Youghal. Opposite the promenade and lighthouse where everyone else strolls to take in the views and take photos. You can enjoy the view throughout your stay. A short stroll into town or to the beach, you dont need to use your car.

4 Clifton is one of just 6 Victiorian townhouses that were built to the highest standards over 130 years ago. After years of renovation and restoration we are now able to offer this fabulous luxury townhouse. 3 Clifton is a listed property in a heritage area.

Read the reviews and most of the guests rave about the views from the front windows, particulary from the window seat on the main lounge. They are right, the views are spectacular - taking in the Atlantic ocean to the South, the hills and mountains of county Waterford to the East, the river Blackwater to the North and the beautiful river estuary right in front.

What's New for 2016?
We love the fact that our Guests usually rate us as 5 Stars. But, even so, we are always trying to improve - to make 3 and 4 Clifton the very best seaside self-catering in Ireland. Our latest additions are:

Upgraded Superfast Broadband
Our previous broadband was good, but we have upgraded as soon as we could. Our broadband now runs at around 30MB/s which is really quick, particularly here in Ireland. And its still free, of course, for our Guests.

Insider's tips
Our Guests have always asked about the area and we've tried to offer advice before... but now we've taken that to whole new level. Martin has spent ages selecting and compiling an exhaustive list of all the places we recommend that you see, things to do, places to visit, places to eat, beaches and activities. We've also added some selections that have been highly praised by previous Clifton Guests too. It's a personal selection for our Guests and so we call it the Clifton Club Directory, you can find it on our website.

Personalised Itinerary
Our Clifton Club Directory has dozens entries and will continue to grow, but there are too many things to do for one holiday, and our Guests are different ages and want different things. And so we have created a Personalised Itinerary Service for our Guests (free of course). When you book with us we'll ask your about your Group, their ages and interests, etc. From your replies Martin will personally select a suggest Itinerary of places to see, things to do, places to eat. He'll even help out if there is something in particular you want to organise. Your itinerary will be sent to you before you arrive so that you can plan your trip.

Bike Storage
Some Guests like to bring their own bikes, but the we had nowhere to store them. We are creating a bike storage area for each house, so that your bike can be stored secure and dry and out of the way. PS: We love cycling around here, there are lots of easy routes and plenty to challenge the more adventurous. You can hire bikes locally too, all details are in the Clifton Club Directory.

4 Clifton - Luxury accomodation for all the family
The river meets the sea directly in front of the house, and many guests happily while away the hours watching the ebb and flow of the tides, the fishing and leisure boats drifting by and the wildlife. Maybe its the latter they they are particularly watching for, because on bright sunny days, when the sea is calm we have had multiple pods of dolphins cavorting right in front of us - its certainly a sight to see. Of course they are not there to give us a show, and they dont come on demand they are not tamed in any way and are hunting the mackerel shoals that are plentiful in summer months and which they have chased into the estuary.

4 Clifton has been renovated to the highest standards to offer you luxury and comfort whilst retaining some of its original character.

There are 2 spacious double bedrooms, 1 twin and a bunk-bedroom (perfect for kids). Bedrooms are fitted with solid oak furniture and other luxury touches. Double beds are queen sized. Beautiful linen is provided to wrap you in luxury while you go to sleep to the sound of the lapping waves beneath you.

The huge lounge occupies the middle floor with double aspect windows, sofas beside the open fireplace and window seats to soak up the views and atmosphere. There is a large flat panel high definition TV, DVD and Video players, plus multichannel Sky TV available. Youll also find free wireless broadband internet access.

On the ground floor the modern styled kitchen diner provides every essental luxury and the space to dine in style. The kitchen is equipped with a double oven and ceramic hob (all electric), dishwasher, fridge, wine cooler, toaster, kettle and Nespresso coffee machine (well supply some coffee - but you might want to bring some more with you).

In the diner section there is an extendable table that will seat at least 8, plus an easy chair, window seats and flat panel TV - its another relaxing seating area (you are on holiday after all!).

At the very top of the house is a full size bathroom, there is a toilet on the mid level and a separate power-shower room with toilet too.

On the ground floor the utility room has both washing machines and tumble dryer - although you can get service washes in Youghal town centre if you cant be bothered.

Outside there a huge patio, with seating for 8 . What a fabulous place for breakfast or for a barbeque.

The house is approached by a easy paved slope and is elevated above the road affording fabulous views over the river and out to sea.

4 Clifton is a 3 storey house, and there are 42 low-rise stairs to the top, arranged in 6 short flights of stairs. The stairs should present no issues for an able person of any age. Our children had no trouble with the stairs even when they were toddlers and were helping us prepare the house for guests: a stair-gate is included so that you can keep the stairs off limits if you wish. Older guests should have no problems, and of course they can always selec t the bedroom on the middle floor so that they dont need to climb to the top at all. However, we do not recommend 4 Clifton for the infirm.

4 Clifton - The best address in Youghal
In the days when the six Clifton houses were built Youghal was smaller town and these houses created the space, views and ambiance unavailable in the close confines of the town - they still do.

Any yet the town is just a stroll away, no need to drive or for taxis, its just 1 minute stroll to the nearest pub and restaurant. You can stroll to all of Youghals main town centre attractions within 5/10 minutes.

The nearest beach is a 1 minute walk away too, you are looking down upon it from the house. The main Strand beach is less just 1/2 mile stroll along the promenade. There are secluded coves even closer, great rock pools to explore and the diving rocks. To get to these you cross the road, walk 100 yards to the right and take the steps down to them.

Shopping - well you can stock up in the large supermarkets in town including Tesco and SuperValu. But there is a really well stocked minimarket just a 1 minute walk away, beside the nearest pub, and the nearest beach, and a large grassy park for the kids to run around ( I guess you get the message - you dont need your car).

Just 10 minutes walk (along the promenade) or 1 minutes drive to the brand new public swimming pool, gum, sauna, water slide complex. Its open 7 days a week, 3 pools to suit babies, new swimmers and competent swimmers. The gym is fantastic, with over 50 pieces of equipment, music and sky TV to divert you. Its open to all up to 10pm on many nights - pay as you go.


This house has 15 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money

15 out of 15 people recommend staying here

Family from Coventry, United Kingdom Jun 2016

We had a wonderful time at No 4 Clifton,the layout was wonderful,the views from the property
were superb,parking was great,the problem we had was leaving.

We would stay there again,and look forward to it

Thank you Martin and family

Family from Hemsby , United Kingdom Apr 2016

Our group of 9 (6 adults 3 children)
Extremely enjoyed our stay a 4 Cliffton.
The house is beautifully presented and we were catered for perfectly by the owners. Even with such a large group they brought us an extra travel cot and stair gate.
The personalised itinerary was helpful and saved a lot of time.

I Was also offered a birthday cake on arrival as it was my partners 30th much appreciated.

Great communication with the owner and even paid us a visit to see if all was ok.
I would highly recommend this place and we will see you again next year!
Happy holidays all x

Family from Birmingham, United Kingdom Oct 2015

Recently spent the half term holiday at 4 Clifton with my wife, children and mother and we all absolutely loved it. Perfectly positioned to explore the surrounding countryside and within easy walking distance of the town.

Even better our extended family live close by and being able to invite them to a wonderfully equipped home to entertain them was a real bonus.

The property had everything you would want or need with amazing views out to the Ocean and Ardmore. Martin was also unbelievably helpful and a delight to deal with.

We will definitely be returning.

Family from Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom Jul 2015

Our fifth visit to this property and once again a great holiday in a fantastic location. The owner is easy to contact, very helpful and welcoming and the house is really well appointed and maintained. We will be back.

Family from Craigavon, United Kingdom Jul 2015

Great location. Excellent views as described. Dishwasher broken during our stay.

Reply from Martin And Elise

I am sorry that the Dishwasher was broken. I spotted it on my pre rental inspection, the previous guests did not mention it. Sadly the part needed could not be sourced in time to fix it during that week.

Family from Blackpool, United Kingdom May 2015

We had both houses for our stay, and they are both stunning and the best holiday homes we have stayed in. The owner Martin is so helpful and the welcome gifts were gratefully received!! Both the houses were stunning and faultless, and have no hesitation recommending them both. We had booked so that we could be near family in Middleton, and the roads are great to make Cork and beyond within easy reach. There is enough going on within driving distance in the surrounding area to keep the kids entertained, we spent a day at Fota Wildlife Park and Ardmore Open Farm, and a couple at the beach, as we were so lucky with the weather!! Clancy's near the lighthouse do lovely food and ale, and welcome the kids, the portions were huge!! Overall it was an excellent break made perfect by the excellent accommodation, thanks!!


This house is:

1km from the nearest beach 200m from the nearest bar 2km from the nearest restaurant 15km from the nearest supermarket 45km from Cork airport 80km from Waterford Airport 65km from Waterford Airport 110km from Shannon Airport 120km from Rosslare Ferry 40km from Cork Ferry (Ringskiddy)

Local activities

Boat hire 5km Cycling 1km Fishing 500m Golf 1km Horse riding 25km Sailling 15km Scuba diving 15km Sports center 15km Swimming 5km

Sights and attractions

Historic site 500m Local food market 200m Museum 15km Night club 1km Shopping 15km Theatre 15km Theme park 15km Zoo 30km Cinema 15km

Show more Show less

Outside this house in Youghal, Ireland
This house is in the town near the beach. It has a balcony, a barbecue and a sea view. Car hire is recommended as the house is less than a 15 minute walk to at least a couple of shops, bars and restaurants; however parking is not available.

Prices and availability

Updated 17 October 2016

Your booking

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 17 October - 20 December 2016: the minimum stay is 4 nights.
  • 21 December 2016 - 7 January 2017: the minimum stay is 5 nights.
  • 8 January - 11 March 2017: the minimum stay is 4 nights.
  • 12 March - 30 June 2017: the minimum stay is 5 nights.
  • 1 July - 1 September 2017: changeover day is Saturday and the minimum stay is 7 nights.

Early booking discounts

  • Arrive between 1 January - 1 July and receive 5% off if the booking is made 3 months before the arrival date.
  • Arrive between 1 January - 27 July and receive 15% off if the booking is made 6 months before the arrival date.
  • Arrive between 1 September - 31 December and receive 15% off if the booking is made 6 months before the arrival date.
  • Arrive between 1 September - 31 December and receive 10% off if the booking is made 3 months before the arrival date.

Late booking discounts

  • Receive 20% off if the booking is made within 2 weeks of the arrival date.

Long stay discounts

  • Receive 10% off if the booking is for 3 weeks or more.

If more than one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.



4 bedrooms, Sleeps 8:

  • 1 double bed
  • 1 double bed
  • 2 single beds
  • 2 single beds

There is also 1 cot


2 bathrooms, 3 Separate WC's


CD player, DVD/Blu-ray player, Internet / WI-FI, Radio, TV Languages in English, Local, Satellite / cable


Living area seats 8, Dining area seats 8, Central heating, Clothes drier, Hair dryer, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire recommended


Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Dishwasher, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Microwave, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster


Balcony or terrace, Barbecue, Sea view

Suitable for

Children, Infants

Martin And Elise

Average rating from 54 reviews

Private Owner From Youghal, Ireland Member since Mar 2005

Past bookings: 176 bookings

Response rate: 100%

Response time: within 55 minutes

Last logged in: 3 days ago

Number of properties: 2

Similar holiday rentals near Youghal, Ireland

View all properties in Youghal