Request booking

Contact owner


Is an Exclusive, new, spacious, detached villa with stunning Panoramic sea and mountain views. Furnished with locally hand crafted tasteful, modern furniture. It sleeps 2-7 comfortably ( adults and children ) plus a travel cot can be made available if required. The villa has its own private swimming pool - 4 x 7 metres. - there is a wall surrounding the plot keeping most of the garden private from neighbours but still allowing the fabulous view. Perfect for barbeques. There are sun-loungers available, pool toys and inflateables, a play area with various toys. Inside there is a selection of DVDs and videos, board games and guide books for the guest to use . A car is essential as the climb up the hill to the villa is steep but well worth it when you see the views.

The Location
The villa is ideally located to the centre and north of this charming island and very close to one of the longest beaches in the med - where turtles are known to nest - just west of Rethymno. An historical harbour town 10 minutes from the villa, which is the smallest and arguably the prettiest of the three main Cretan towns, with its palm lined prominade. It is a haven that attracts locals and visitors alike to its waterside tavernas. The old town is marked by the ancient fortress, old harbour, winding paved streets, fish restaurants, cafes and bars with plenty of nightlife, it provides all the modern and cultural amenities youll need. Join in the cellebrations at the Rethymno wine festival in late July and witness spectacular Greek dancing and free flowing wine.

The unique location of the villa allows the guest to visit places such as the world famous and much visited Minoan ancient Palace of Knossos, the Monastary of Arkadi, and the Samaria Gorge - europes largest ravine. With normal everyday sights such as the traditional working villages of Spilli and beautiful resorts that have so much to offer all ages and tastes alike, such as Bali, Georgiopoulis, Agia Galini, Malia and of course the nearby Platanias. Platanias, only 5 minutes away is a pretty resort and perfect for families with its gently shelving sand and also ideal for watersport enthusiasts or sunworshipers!

Around the island there are waterparks for children or the child in us. There are boat trips to other parts of the island - and other islands! Santorini Island for example is easily accessable for a day trip. Or you could simply laze by the pool at the villa soaking up the fantastic scenery right on your doorstep as you totally relax and recharge your batteries.

We fell in love...
... with this beautiful, sunny, magical diverse Greek Island of Crete as soon as we visited it many years ago. Then many years later we found our ideal plot of land to have this brand new stunning villa built. With a fabulous location like this you cant go wrong, panoramic views of the sea ( to the left), of the mountains ( to the right) and the village straight ahead across the valley, set in an area surrounded by orange, lemon, lime and almond trees set amongst olive groves.

As a visitor you are genuinely welcome, so take up the invitation to join the locals for a glass of raki and share in the spirit of Crete.


Luxury detached villa, sleeps 2-8. Private pool,tranquil, sea/mountain views. Village location, near to beach resort of Platanias, Rethymno.


Property type: Villa

Room details


3 bedrooms, sleeps 7

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Single beds
Bedroom 3: 2 Single beds

Additional beds:
2 single sofa beds located in Lounge, 1 cot
Room for 8 in the dining area
Room for 8 in the living area
2 bathrooms, 2 Separate WC's

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
CD player
DVD/Blu-ray player
TV Languages in Local
Heating and air con:
Air conditioning
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Pots / pans
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Swimming pool:
Balcony or terrace
Outside lighting
Private garden
Sea view


Suitable for

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Horse Riding
Mountain Biking
Scuba Diving
Water Skiing
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Historic Site
Local Food Market
Night Club

Prices and availability

Last updated 01.04.2015

...Your booking
  • From £418.00 per week
  • From £532.95 per week
  • From £637.45 per week
  • From £741.95 per week
  • From £846.45 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £522.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £407.55 per week
  • From £418.00 per week
  • From £532.95 per week
  • From £637.45 per week
  • From £741.95 per week
  • From £846.45 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £522.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £313.50 per week
  • From £407.55 per week
  • From £418.00 per week

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st April to 30th September 1 Months 5%


Optional extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
Bedroom air conditioning, price per unit. Must be paid for locally prior to using. 35 euros per unit per week All year £7 per unit per day

Paid locally


This is exact location

  • Nearest beach: 4km
  • Nearest bar: 1km
  • Nearest restaurant: 1km
  • Nearest supermarket: 3km
  • Chania Airport: 85km
  • Platanias beach resort: 4.5km
  • Rethymno: 10km
  • Arkadi Monastary: 15km
  • Samaria Gorge: 40km


9 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money
9 out of 9 people recommend staying here
Stayed Wednesday 04 September 2013 with Friends
Really lovely Villa, great location - approximately 3 or 4 miles out of the closest town, walked it one day but it took it out of us (3 lads 25-35 age range) however the good news is a taxi only costs between 8 and 10 euros and they will pick you up from the Villa which is great. Facilities at the Villa are perfect, everything you could need and more. Owner contact was no issue and instructions for check in and checkout were very clear and we had no issues at either end or throughout the holiday. Would recommend the Villa to anyone and will be returning should i visit Crete again. Only note i would say is the 3rd bedroom is bunk beds which i didnt pick up from the advert so we had to draw straws to see who ended up in that room! Fortunately it was not me -)
Stayed Thursday 07 June 2012
This is an excellent villa in a brilliant location. It certainly met our expectations, the description on the web pages is very good and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Agnes, the local caretaker, is excellent and very helpful with recommendations about local facilities. This house is not suitable, if you want to go out at night and not have to drive home later, it is a bit off the beaten track. The last 100- 200 meters of the hill up to the house are very steep, and you should try to get there in daylight for the first time, but it is definitely managable. Even though the house if off the beaten track, it is still only 10 km or so to Rethimno, and even less to the tavernas and shops in Platanias. There is a Lidl in Platanias, but one of the supermarkets on the main road has much nicer local fruit and veg. As far as we could find, there is no taverna within walking distance (and I wouldnt want to climb up that hill after a couple of glasses of wine). The pool is great, all facilities in the house are as advertised, and there is a big BBQ. There are lots of DVDs, and the DVD player plays UK disks. We couldnt get the TV reception to work properly, just some ghosts in snow storm, but that might be because of the location of the house, or our inability to use the telly. The location of the house is very good for exploring the Western part of Crete, we drove as far as Elafonisi beach in the far West, but that is then a long slog back. Hiraklion is just over an hours drive away, so within fairly easy visiting distance. Chania is less than an hour (and in my opinion a lot more interesting). Overall, excellent!
Stayed Friday 25 November 2005
Fantastic views and one of the best equiped villas we have ever stayed in. My only fault was that for a two week stay I would have expected a change of towels and beddingto have been included.
Owner reply:

Thank you Vicki. At the time of booking guests may state if they wish to have a mid holiday clean/change of linen at a cost, paid locally to the lady who takes care of the villa. The choice is given to the guest as there is a washing machine in the villa and it keeps the cost down for overall rental which is much lower than similar properties in the area.

Stayed Friday 25 November 2005
We loved the villa & had a wonderful time. The approach is a bit hairy! Just one comment is that it would be nice to have a mirror in the bedrooms as when the bathroom is occupied it is not always very canvenient to use the one downstairs especially when drying one's hair. Tony and Margaret were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Owner reply:

On our next trip to the villa CARPE DIEM in a few weeks time we will purchase a couple of mirrors for the bedrooms, this was actually on my list of things to do, thankyou!

Stayed Friday 25 November 2005
Our visit to Villa Carpe Diem in Crete was everything we hoped it would be. A delightful villa which is very spacious, clean and very well equipped. The panoramic views are quite stunning. We loved the upstairs balcony and especially wakening to the morning sun. Eating al fresco on the patio and around the pool was bliss, and with 3 teenage girls with us they certainly agree. The central location was peaceful but never far away for an excellent choice of places to visit on the island. At the end of each day we always loved returning to Carpe Diem.
The villa is very well appointed with lots to entertain the children, pool bigger than we expected. BBQ well used views fantastic well worth negotiating the hill for! A wonderful holiday had by all.
there should be a mention of the incredibly steep and windy drive up to the villa, very high up, some drivers could be nervous. the view is tremendous though. Not as private as we thought , overlooked either side at some point so if the other villas are occupied and you want to sit outside in privacy, be aware of the fellow holidaymakers probably wanting to do the same. The location was good for visiting the area, great beaches, lots of restaurants, the prettiest town was Chania, the old harbour is lovely. The air conditioning was a must but you are charged extra for this which should definitely be mentioned in the description of the villa. The Cretans are lovely friendly people although sometimes a little too pushy to get you to eat in their particular restaurant. A car is a definite MUST, impossible to get about without one.
Owner reply:

The villa specifications now mentions the steep hill leading up to the villa. In the 2 years we have rented the villa there has never been any complaints regarding this issue, the comment is usually WOW when they see the views. There is a wall surrounding the villa grounds which isn't too high as we did not want to compromise the fantastic views. However there are many areas in the garden, patio, balcony and elevated back garden that offers absolute privacy. If dining outside it is perfectly secluded and if guests from the villas either side catch a glimpse of you they would have had to climb the wall or break their neck to do so. When anyone books our villa, we automatically send out a list of optional extras, the airconditioning is paid for locally and is clearly stated in this information. The villa is excellent value for money even when paying for the airconditioning seperately. The guest leaving this review stayed at the villa at the end of June 2007 when Greece experienced the worst heatwaves in over 100 years and at night the temperature did not fall below 100 degrees F, frankly I am not surprised they needed the airconditioning, however they are the first guests to have asked for it in 2 years including guests staying in July/August when it is at it's warmest as the ceiling fans are very effective and all that is usually needed.

as we rented the property over christmas it was cold in the villa due to there not being sufficient heating other than that the location and villa were excellent
Owner reply:

I did explain at length to these guests before they booked that there was no central heating and all we have for cold periods is warm air heaters in the bedrooms and a calor gas heater for the downstairs area. I have now decided not to rent out during the winter months for the time being.

We had a wonderfull holiday with 4 adults and 2 young children! Make sure you hire a car because you definitely need it! Have a good holiday!!!


About the owner
This is our own holiday home from home, with all home comforts. It is not a business venture, apart from our home in the UK this is our only other property.
Owner score 322
Calendar updated: 19 days ago
Last logged in: 20 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: March 2006