Contact Owner

Crete Retreat Jasmine

Beach house with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and shared pool in Chania, Crete

From £413 per week

Contact Owner

House to rent in Chania, Crete

Two bedroom comfortable and relaxing villa with shared pool set in beautiful gardens with a large pool. Located on the edge of Tsikalria Village, an ideal base for exploring the island.

  • House
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shared pool
  • WiFi
  • Near beach
  • Air conditioning
  • Parking
  • Private garden

House overview - owner's description

We have three villas set in 5000sq meters of gardens with a large 24/7 165sq meter swimming pool, one you can really swim in. We are located on the edge of the village of Tsikalaria, away from the main roads, and secluded, to create a quiet but not isolated base for your holiday.We provide free internet access for you to keep in touch. There is a gas barbecue with side hob for out side cooking
Being a reclaimed orange grove, all the water for the garden is supplied by the original well, giving an unusual green micro climate within the warmth of Crete.

location
We are well placed and within easy reach of Chania with the beautiful Venetian harbour, tavernas, shops, museums and ancient atmosphere.
Our local shops and tavernas provide convenient shopping and dining. Souda, the nearby town and port offers a Lidl supermarket and the renowned fresh fish tavernas and is just 3 km away.
Our aim is to provide an affordable, quiet, green environment that is private but not totally isolated. We live within the grounds and provide on site management and help. From our own experience we have made a point of providing good sized air conditioned bedrooms, adequate cooking and barbeque equipment, large bath and shower rooms and raised sun terraces.
For those wanting to experience the historical aspect of Crete, the Aptera Roman settlement is only 15 minutes away and we are surrounded by archaeological sites, monasteries and museums.
For the more active holiday, there are daily excursions to walk the world famous Samaria Gorge, horse riding, wind surfing, climbing, walking, go carting, paragliding and diving.
Boat trips leave from Chania harbour and Souda ferry terminal daily. Excursions are also available to Knossos, Elafonisi, and Santorini.
The beaches around the area are plentiful, ranging from quiet and remote, to popular. Most beaches have tavernas on the beach or nearby, and all have easy free parking.
We offer a truly ideal location from which to explore this beautiful island and believe you will find peace and relaxation within your private villa, shady gardens and of course our beautiful swimming pool.

on site management
We are on site to help with any problems,and are able to give some local information.

Reviews

This house has 16 verified reviews.

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities

14 out of 16 people recommend staying here

Friends from Stockbridge, United Kingdom Sep 2018

Wonderful setting for Jasmine Cottage - well maintained lovely gardens. Good size pool.
Accommodation basic but sufficient for our needs.
Good communication with owner.
Location a bit out of tourist areas and difficult to find initially but Chania, Historical areas, walks and lovely beaches easily accessible.
Car a necessity

Reply from Crete-retreat

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good journey back

Family from Charenton-le-pont, France Jul 2016

The villa is surrounded by a very nice and well kept garden. The large pool is surrounded by grass which Ian (the owner) in good English takes great care with his wife and it is very pleasant to sit and cool off in the shade of trees. Ian is always available to help without disturbing. The house equipment is a little too short and when we passed the WIFI worked poorly. The residence entrance is poorly marked and relatively hard to find.
The villa is located near Souda, typical small town without tourists and near the well known resort of Hania. Beautiful beaches around but the best require a little car.
Overall we recommend.

Reply from Crete-retreat

Thank you- Wifi in July and August is difficult due to the amount of users

Family from Pembroke Pines, USA Jun 2016

Ian the owner is a very nice man but his directions to get to his property are terrible. The address given takes you to someone else's house close by. The property is beautiful and well kept but is hidden away and he has no signage to indicate that you are there. We spent 45 minutes try to find the place and actually drove right by it once before we had to call and he came up to the main street to find us. Our villa was nice enough but had a fine layer of dust over everything. There also were cobwebs in most every corner. We pointed this out to him and he did take care of this while we went out to eat.

Reply from Crete-retreat

Hi Satnav location takes you to nearest road point to villa and not the car park. The map and directions we give you needs to be followed with SATNAV
We are in a dry and dusty country, and windows are left open for circulation.

Couple from Leusden, Netherlands Sep 2015

Het huisje was basic: geen radio of televisie, kledingrek in plaats van kledingkast, maar alles wat je verder nodig had was er wel. Bovendien was er wat achterstallig onderhoud, maar de rust en privacy maakten al veel goed. Het prachtige en goed onderhouden zwembad maakten het tot een heerlijk verblijf.

google translated: The cottage was basic: no radio or television, clothes rack instead of wardrobe, but all you had further need was there. Moreover, there was some maintenance, but the peace and privacy were already a lot. The beautiful and well maintained pool made ​​it a wonderful stay.

Reply from Crete-retreat

We do advertise that we do not provide TV, Radio, etc, and consider the climate and surrounding too beautiful to interupt.

Family from Ploeren, France Aug 2015

The outside frame(executive) is very pleasant (location(localization) even if is needed a car, the swimming pool, the garden), even if the number of animals which walk is not there pleasant (dogs, wandering cats)
Mister Johnson is very nice, his neighbors also on the other hand,
BUT the state of dirt of the villa is catastrophic: it was necessary to paaser the broom upon our arrival, plans of work of the dirty kitchen, the refrigerator in the same state and ESPECIALLY very unpleasant smell in the house, (Urine? Excrements of animals?) impossible to get rid of it in spite of several intense washes! Very dirty sofa to such a point that we cannot sit down there; old-fashioned furniture

Reply from Crete-retreat

You did gain access to the villa before your check in time,causing our cleaners problems, and was due to our failiure to lock up. We were unable, as the guest before and after your stay find any odour. The pet cats and dogs which are a part of our grounds and add extra interest especially to families are made very apparent in our advertising,and make out place unique.We are sorry that you short amenity stop here did not work out for you

Family from Faversham, United Kingdom Aug 2015

Excellent value for money, the owner really couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. Great pool and gardens. Overall an excellent base to enjoy a relaxing holiday.


3 other reviews

Justine Jul 2016

We are a family of 5 with children ranging from 9 to 13 years of age. Ian's place was perfect for us, but could imagine it suiting other visitors, too. We had hesitated about booking initially because we didn't want a shared pool, but this was not in fact an issue at all. The pool is very big and an awesome place to spend time. Most of the time we had it to ourselves anyway, but on the odd occasion someone was there, it was actually quite nice. Our villa was super clean, well-equipped and better than in the photos. The showers and air con worked really well, as did the layout of the place. The 3 villas are set in charming grounds, out of the town and in what appears to be an olive grove. Ian 's availability was great - always on hand but not remotely intrusive. He gave us some great local info - the local beaches sheet formed the basis of our stay there and we loved all the beaches, the ruins at Aptera and the local tavern the Rabbit. We ate there twice and although communication was a little tricky, we ended up with delicious inexpensive food and were given some freebies. Ian's place is hidden away from the tourist drag - he kindly met us in Souda and we followed him back. It's so well- situated for lots of day trips. We were so lucky to have found it and wished we'd booked for longer. We plan to come next year and stay for a couple of weeks. Great value for money, super relaxing - a real treasure of a find.”

Ideal for families the want to have some independanceGreat for outside living and eating

ideal family accommodationidea for our teenage kidsWe can be independant but still have our communal family area

1 - 3 of 3

Location

This house is:

2km from the nearest beach 1km from the nearest bar 1km from the nearest restaurant 500m from the nearest supermarket 13km from Chania airport 130km from Heraklion Airport 4km from Souda Ferry port

Local activities

Boat hire 45km Climbing 45km Horse riding 45km Sailling 45km Scuba diving 10km Walking 15km Wind surfing 45km

Sights and attractions

Historic site 15km Museum 15km Shopping 15km

Show more Show less

Outside this house in Chania, Crete
This house is in the countryside near the beach. It has a shared pool, a barbecue, outside lighting and a garden. Car hire is recommended as the house is less than a 15 minute walk to at least a couple of shops, bars and restaurants; however parking is available if required.

Prices and availability

Updated 27 August 2018

  • Unavailable
  • Your booking
  • Available start/end date
-

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 20 October 2018 - 30 June 2019: the minimum stay is 4 nights.
  • 1 July - 25 August 2019: the minimum stay is 7 nights.
  • 26 August 2019 - 20 October 2020: the minimum stay is 4 nights.

Extras

Compulsory

  • cleaning

    £35.00 per booking, paid with booking

Facilities

Bedrooms

2 bedrooms, Sleeps 6:

  • 1 double bed
  • 3 single beds and en suite

There is also 1 single sofa bed in double bedroom

Bathrooms

2 bathrooms including 1 en suite, 1 Separate WC

Swimming pool

Shared pool

Entertainment

Internet / WiFi

General

Living area seats 6, Dining area seats 6, Air conditioning bedrooms only, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire recommended

Kitchen

Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Fridge, Glassware, Kettle, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster

Outside

Barbecue, Outside lighting, Parking, Private garden

Suitable for

Children, Infants, Single gender groups

Extra information

Gas barbecue with side hob

Johnson

Average rating from 39 reviews

Private Owner From Chania, Greece Member since Jan 2009

Eight years ago, we finally released our dream and myself, Ian, Jeannie my wife and our two girls set off from England for our new life on the warm and sunny island of Crete.

We had already purchased a plot of land with a house and one acre of orchard, delicious navel oranges.

In the time honored fashion of the island it took over a year to overcome the paperwork and legalities connected with our purchase but then we were able to start our huge project.

The gardens and villas slowly took shape, each year bringing exciting changes as the trees and plants matured. The result is now three villas set in beautiful gardens.

Having been to Greece on previous occasions we wanted to make the accomodation spacious. A large bathroom was a must and raised sun terraces were top priority.

We wanted to create individual privacy without being isolated and a pool that you could really swim in,

We are very fortunate that we are only a short distance from Chania, the principal town, and we also determined be affordably priced, a place for people to relax.

We aim to create integrity and customer care. We are here, on site, for the duration of your stay to make sure everything runs smoothly for you.

Past bookings: 149 bookings

Response rate: 100%

Response time: within 9 hours

Last logged in: 24 days ago

Number of properties: 3

Eight years ago, we finally released our dream and myself, Ian, Jeannie my wife and our two girls set off from England for our new life on the warm and sunny island of Crete.

We had already purchased a plot of land with a house and one acre of orchard, delicious navel oranges.

In the time honored fashion of the island it took over a year to overcome the paperwork and legalities connected with our purchase but then we were able to start our huge project.

The gardens and villas slowly took shape, each year bringing exciting changes as the trees and plants matured. The result is now three villas set in beautiful gardens.

Having been to Greece on previous occasions we wanted to make the accomodation spacious. A large bathroom was a must and raised sun terraces were top priority.

We wanted to create individual privacy without being isolated and a pool that you could really swim in,

We are very fortunate that we are only a short distance from Chania, the principal town, and we also determined be affordably priced, a place for people to relax.

We aim to create integrity and customer care. We are here, on site, for the duration of your stay to make sure everything runs smoothly for you.

Similar holiday rentals near Chania, Crete

View all properties in Chania