Request booking

Contact owner

Apartment Meyerbeer- Carre D'or, Nice

Overview

The property is in the area known locally as "The Golden Square" (Carre Dor). This apartment is in an ideal location in the Center of Nice, due to its proximity to the beaches, bars and restaurants, as well as main transportation links to the rest of France.


The property is within walking distance of all major activities and landmarks within Nice, and for trips further afield (such as a day trip to Monaco) the main train station is just an 800m (0.5 mile) walk from your front door.


The residents of this exclusive area are primarily second home owners, visitors on short-breaks, and french young professionals who look to combine the exclusivity of a sea-side property, with the convenience of being in the heart of the city. The apartment is located just 100 meters from the private & public beaches of the wold famous "Promenade Des Anglais", while still being situated in the heart of the entertainment district, allowing our residents to have the best of both worlds when they stay here.




Property Layout and style
the property is decorated in traditional mediterranian style,
from the white tile floors throughout, to the french windows, and shutters, and the furnishings, staying here will make one truly feel like a med resident.
The apartment is fully furnished including fully fitted kitchen amneties, 2 king size beds, dining table and chairs, comfort chairs, a couch which can be converted into a twin bed, and even balcony furniture for your use, when enjoying the ocean in the morning.

There are 5 sperate rooms including a main hall/entryway, 2 large bedrooms, a seperate kitchen, joint bath/wc facilities, and a dining/living area. This unique layout allows multiple residents to enjoy a sense of individual privacy, while still maintaining an open layout throughout the space.


The building is quiet, clean, and well maintained, and consists of 8 residences over 4 floors. This apartment is situated on the 3rd floor.

Area Profile: Carre dor
One of the most sought after areas of Nice, the Carre Dor (or Golden Square), is sandwiched between four of the most famous streets in Nice: Boulevard Victor Hugo, Avenue Jean Medecin, Boulevard Gambetta and the world-famous The Promenade des Anglais. This area is characterised by superb turn-of-the-century buildings.

There is a unique ambiance here that has to be felt to be understood. From Salsa bars to French Brasseries, this area gives a chic European-style terrace-living that suits those who prefer a more relaxed venue.

Aptly named streets, such as Rue de France, offer buyers a window into the French lifestyle that has lured generations of visitors keen to experience a more European way of life. The Carre D‘Or is perfect for those who want to de-stress, with a fine Bordeaux.

This property benefits greatly from its proximity to the beach. In summer, the beach is thronged with French and foreigners alike, all taking advantage of the warm yet temperate climate. There are a variety of water sports available and beach volleyball is the activity of choice of the local youth in Nice. On a fine evening, why not have dinner at one of the many restaurants directly on the beach.

Parallel to the beach, Boulevard Victor Hugo is a splendid area dissecting the two most popular areas of the city, the Quartiers Musiciens and the Carre DOr. Like most of the better areas of Nice, Victor Hugo has some tranquil parks where you can relax with a newspaper and a coffee, winter through to summer.

Summary:

Newly renovated 2 bed. apartment. Located 90 seconds from Promenade Des Anglais and 100m from the Pedestrian district. Very central location with ocean view from own balcony. Early booking discount

Facilities

Property type: Apartment

Room details

Bedrooms:

2 bedrooms, sleeps 4

Bedroom 1: 1 Double bed
Bedroom 2: 1 Double bed

Additional beds:
1 double sofa bed located in Living area
Seats:
Room for 6 in the dining area
Room for 5 in the living area
Bathrooms:
1 bathroom

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
CD player
DVD/Blu-ray player
Radio
TV Languages in Local
Heating and air con:
Air conditioning
Central heating
Household:
Clothes drier
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Dishwasher
Fridge
Freezer
Glassware
Iron / board
Kettle
Microwave
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Other:
Balcony or terrace
Outside lighting
Sea view
Extra information (balcony has views of both the ocean, and city. batthrrom has WC, vanity and shower. Television available in the main living room, furnishings include 6 person dining table, comfort chairs, 2 king size beds and couch which can double as a twin bed. climate control, AC unit, and automatic fans are also available in the apartment)

Suitability

Suitable for
Infants
Smoking
Pets (small pets are allowed. please call ahead or include details of your pet at booking)

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Cycling
Fishing
Flying
Golf
Horse Riding
Mountain Biking
Sailling
Skiing
Sports Center
Swimming
Tennis
Water Skiing
Walking
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Historic Site
Museum
Shopping
Theatre
Theme Park
Zoo
Cinema

Prices and availability

Last updated 09.01.2013


...Unavailable
...Your booking

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Discounts

Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st December 90 Days 5%
Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st January to 31st March 3 Days 10%
1st October to 31st December 3 Days 10%
Long Stay Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking is equal to or longer than x days/weeks/months Discount
1st January to 30th April 2 Months 25%
1st September to 31st December 2 Months 25%
1st January to 31st May 2 Weeks 10%
1st September to 31st December 2 Weeks 10%

Extras

Compulsory extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
more than 4 people in apartment is not reccomended, a surcharge will be applied All year Occupancy: more than 4 people £72.80 per additional person

Paid with booking

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest beach: 15km
  • Nearest restaurant: 15km
  • Nearest supermarket: 15km
  • Nice Train station (trains to monaco/italy/cannes): 1km
  • Vieux Nice (old Town): 500m
  • promenade des anglais (beach Front): 100m
  • place masséna (shops and museums): 1km

Reviews

24 out of 25 people recommend staying here

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Facilities
Communication
Area
Value for money
Verified
Stayed Sunday 07 October 2012
Everything was perfect. The property manager was there when we arrived and got us settled. The apartment was very nice and we had plenty or room. Typical street noise at night which is par for the course staying in Nice. Convienent to where the action is and really to everything. Walking distance to train for day excursions.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 01 September 2012
Spacious apartment in the heart of Nice. This property has been well renovated but with a little more thought and attention to detail would be even better.
Verified
Stayed Sunday 02 October 2011
Excellent position, lovely dining area and bedrooms, though difficult for 4 people to get comfortable in the living area. It was also a shame more than one person couldnt sit on the balcony at a time, but nice to see a view of the sea. Floor was a bit grubby but presumably this was from having the windows open all the time, though both the oven and dishwasher could have done with a bit of a clean, but didnt do any cooking and washed up the few items we used. We also had trouble with the shower leaking, we had a look at the resdients below bedroom and the floor was swimming in water, however, we couldnt get in contact the agent, so refrained from having a shower on the last day. Stairs a bit of a climb but got easier as the week went on! All in all good value for the money.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 13 August 2011
The property is in an excellent location - well placed for all requirements. It was comfortable and well-equipped apart from the expectation that two people would manage with one bath towel! Bedrooms and kitchen are everything you could wish for but the bathroom is very small. On the fifth day of our holiday the shower began to leak badly into the flat below but the excellent apartment manager did his best to sort things out. We had a good time but it would have been nice if there had been two chairs for the balcony. With just a little more forethought and care this could be a brilliant holiday let.
Owner reply:

Hi chris, thanks for your honest feedback; I have passed your comments on to the property manager, and he has already addressed the issue (i'm sure you agree, having met him, that he holds customer satisfaction as a priority). There are normally sufficient changeover services after every visitor (cleaning, linens, maintenance,etc); However, I understand that there was a customer who overstayed and left just a couple of hours before your party arrived, so unfortunately you were on the sour end of a very quick change-out. However happy I am that these issues did not cause you to enjoy your holiday any less; it does not excuse having 1 towel for 4 people. Please inform me next time you are booking in nice, and I will be happy to discount your next stay. thank you again for all of the constructive feedback.-J. Bravo (owner)

Verified
Stayed Wednesday 20 July 2011
The apartment is spacious, comfortable and perfectly situated between the shops and sea. Definitely worth taking ear plugs if using the front bedroom because it can be very noisy at night, however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and breakfast on the balcony is a must!
Verified
Stayed Friday 03 June 2011
Returned for a 2nd visit in less than a year! Appreciated the refurbished bathroom - a good improvement. Agree with a previous review that a 2nd large towel would be useful (we took our own) and perhaps a 2nd small chair for the balcony. Need to be fairly fit, 3rd floor means 60 steps to the apartment. Again enjoyed day visit to Monaco (25 mins by train, station less than 15 mins. walk from apartment). Good apartment, good location, good holiday.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 21 May 2011
We really enjoyed staying here. Its a lovely space to be in and in a superb location shops on the doorstep meet all needs, easy access to everything we wanted to do and see and a short walk to the railway station for trips elsewhere. Only small niggles were that, despite lots of handtowels, there was only one big towel, so one of us had to use a handtowel after showering all week. Also a bit disappointing that there was only one chair on the balcony one of the reasons we chose this apartment was because it had a furnished balcony- we didnt realise wed had to take it in turns to sit on it!
Verified
Stayed Tuesday 31 August 2010
Great location, worth the 6 flights of stairs to have the view from the little balcony of the street and the sea. Refurb of bathroom due October will make it perfect. Would stay again. Enjoyed day trips by train to Monaco and Canne.
Owner reply:

thanks for the review, the renovations are now complete as of December 2010, so we hope to welcome you again soon.

Verified
Stayed Friday 27 August 2010
The property was in an excellent position, close to everything. View of the ocean. Property was kept fairly clean. My one main issue was that the bathroom was in desperate need of repair. Tiles hanging off and shower head loose on wall.
Owner reply:

thanks for your honest feedback trudy.we had some problems with a few guests over the summer who decided to throw a party.the bathroom AND kitchen are being replaced as of october this year.

Verified
Stayed Monday 05 April 2010
This appartment is wonderful. Well furnished and modern equipped. The location is terrific. Beach, Promenade, shopping and market at closest possible distance. We will certainly come back, if possible.
Verified
Stayed Friday 11 September 2009
Good location, clean and confortable.
Stayed Saturday 06 June 2009
great time in nice, the city is beautiful and the weather was perfect. the apartment was centrally located, so there was no need for a car, but since we had one, we were a bit worried about parking...this was no problem as there are 3 parking garages in the area, and plenty of street parking (if you are quick.) the apartment itself was well kept, and the property manager was there at check-in to make sure of that. would stay again, especially with the value for money to consider.
Stayed Thursday 04 June 2009
lovely apartment for a small group who want to be in the center of town withoput sacrficing quality or space. was very pleased with the property, and will return again
Verified
Stayed Saturday 01 September 2007
was greeted and made to feel welcome and given any advise about property and trips. this apartment was very clean and comfortable. it was spacious for a small family like mine and had every thing you would want home from home. the only downfall is with children is it was on the fourth floor and had a small balcony, however it had charecter and opening the windows in the morning to the hussle of the french riveria was great. its a fantastic location to the beach and train/bus routes and was easy access to everything resturants and shops. will definatly come back again to this apartment. thankyou for a lovely time.
Verified
Stayed Thursday 05 July 2007
second stay at this property in December 2010. This time the new bathroom was complete, wonderful modernization. the location, in the Carre Dór, was perfect for getting around town, and the Property manager was there to help every step of the way. I am now a certified fan of this apartment and will return next time I am in Nice
Verified
This is a lovely apartment but its description is inaccurate. It says that there is air-condition in the living room, while there is only a mobile unit on which only the fan function works (the unit has the cooling functions but they do not work). The temperature was close to 40 degrees C, the apartment is close to the top of the building and it was impossible to even enter it during the day. Our 6 year old daughter got violently sick with the heat exhaustion. The owners man on the spot could not help us since the owner did not give him any instructions. The owner himself was away and did not respond to our attempt to contact him. I am also in the business of renting apartments over the internet and therefore I know how important it is to tell the truth and to fix any problem in real time. I am disappointed that this owner simply did not care.
Owner reply:

Hi mirna, sad to hear you had 40 degree weather in the apartment so late in the summer. You are the first e to have problems with the air conditioning, so that is new to us. We have had the apartment manager take another look at the unit, but he has not found a problem with it, nor have the guests whom have stayed since. We will however take your comments into consideration, and look to replace the unit if this issue returns.Thanks for your feedback

Verified
Getting to the apartment after landing at Nice is easy with the instructions given. Just get on the 98 bus (4 euro) at the airport and get off at the third stop and follow the instructions. We were met at the apartment by the agent who was very friendly and helpful by showing us on a map where the supermarkets were and where most things you would like to visit are. The apartment is large and has most things you need to self cater, including a useful dish washer. The apartment was clean and the beds were comfortable and there waas plenty of room in the bedrooms as well. We stayed for nine days which in hindsight was a bit long as there is not enough in Nice to keep you busy for that long (unless you just want to eat and drink). The only problem we had was the noise from the street which can be all hours, so either use the back bedroom or bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
Verified
Very lovely appartement, spacious and comfortable. The location is perfect. I sincerely recommend staying there when planning a vacation in Nice!
Verified
The location was excellent if you want to be in the heart of Nice, although could be a bit loud at times, but thats to be expected. The apartment was a good size and met our basic needs well. Theres no elevator so we certainly got our exercise regularly going up 6 flights of stairs! Also, theres no A/C, but plenty of fans. The floors could have been a bit cleaner. Beds were comfortable and the property manager was a lovely host and provided an excellent orientation to the city.
Verified
This place is fantastic. Helmut was already there to meet us at the apartment as we supplied our flight arrival time. He was available at any time. With two double bedrooms and a large lounge it was a great place to come back to after a days sight seeing. The balcony is a great place to people watch in the evening after enjoying a meal in one of the many restaurants close to the apartment. This apartment could not be better located for the beach, centre of Nice, bus stops to the airport, train station, local shops and some fantastic restaurants. My only negative was that we had 3 bath towels for 4 people for 4 days. Had we been bothered we could have contacted Helmut who no doubt would have got us some more..... but I was so happy with the apartment I was happy to settle for the 3 hand towels! Hope to visit again.
Verified
I stayed at the apartment with 3 friends for a girly break. The plane was late but we were still met at the apartment, by the caretaker. contact was easy. the apartment is well situated and has easy access to station and for getting to Cannes & Monaco. Also very clean. We will difintely stay there again. we came back relaxed with fond memories
Verified
the apartment is in a very good place to see anything right near bus and train stops as well the apartment is very comfortable has every think you need would stay here again
Verified
Thank you, ıt was good. We satisfied.
Verified
This is an excellent flat in a fantastic location to explore Nice and the rest of the Cote dAzur. Within Nice, you are just a block off the beach, a block off the pedestrian area for food and shopping and a short walk to old city. I have been to Nice 3 times before this visit and it does not get any better than this!! The flat has plenty of space, good furnishings and the balcony overlooking the street with a view of the sea is gorgeous. We brought DVDs so we could watch movies since most TV channels are in French. We also rented a car and explored other cities along the coast. Parking is a bit of a hassle in Nice but it was well worth it. I would definitely recommend this flat and I hope to return again and stay here in the future!
Verified
nice apartment, accurate descirption and good value for money
will return again, have already made plans to book for next year
Verified
good stay, good location, good value for money. would stay again
Property was very well furnished, and had everything we required during our stay. Perfect location for everything from visiting the beach, to going out for dinner. Everything was within walking distance from the apartment. overall a great experience
beautfitul french style apartment, with french shutters like most properties in this area, but also original ceiling frescos, tiled floors, and contemporary french iron craft furniture (surprisingly comfortable). The location of the property was ideal for us as we were only a 10 min walk from the train station, the old town, and the tram link. The beach is a 90 second walk from the front door, and the apartment is at the beginning of the pedistrian district, so it was easy to get to a bar or cafe but we didnt have the disturbance of pedistrian traffic all night. good stay, would return.
Verified
I stayed here over the christmas period with my fiance and another couple. the apratment itself was very clean, and the furnishings were modern and comfortable. I especially was impressed by some of the small details that went into the decor (french doors, tile flooring, ceiling mosiacs) the price was definitely a bargain for that area, as I have rented apartments before in nice and usually I pay considerably more to be in that part of town. we found the location excellent expecially for its proximity to the restaurant and shopping districts, and getting to and from the airport was a snap. Im sure if we had stayed during the summer, we could have enjoyed the beach a bit more,( especially seeing as though it was right on our doorstep), but still we enjoyed being able to step out on our balcony and take in the ocean views. All in all I had a lovely time, and I have already enquired with the owner to stay at this property later in the year.

Owner

About the owner
frequent holiday maker, and lover of all places sunny.
Owner score 1541
Calendar updated: 2 years ago
Last logged in: a year ago
Located in: France
Joined: January 2009