Book now

Contact owner

Overview

4 bedroom village house with private pool newly renovated in Summer 2005. Set in the peaceful village of Oupia in the heart of the Minervois vineyards, the house is a perfect base for a relaxing peaceful family holiday

The House
The ground floor has an open plan living room dining room and kitchen fully equipped with fridge/freezer, cooker, dishwasher and washing machine. The dining room opens out via double doors onto a stone patio which leads up to the 8 x 4m fenced swimming pool. The garden looks to the local vineyards and views to the black mountains.

The first floor has two twin bedrooms, a double bedroom and a family bathroom. The master bedroom has an ensuite and doors leading on to the tiled balcony overlooking the garden.

The upper floor is open plan grenier and has four single beds.

The area.
The area is surrounded by vineyards. The village has a small shop,post office and restaurant. Olonzac (3kms) has further shops and restaurants. The Canal du Midi is 10mins away and boats are available to hire at nearby Homps. There is a lake for watersports and swimming 10mins away and the Med beaches are a 40 min drive away. The walled city of Carcassonne is 40 minutes away. For those with more adventurous pursuits in mind, there is cayaking, mountain biking and climbing near by

Summary:

Renovated village house with pool in heart of Minervois, Languedoc. Sleeps 10

Facilities

Property type: Village house

Room details

Bedrooms:

4 bedrooms, sleeps 10

Bedroom 1: 1 King size bed, En Suite
Bedroom 2: 2 Single beds
Bedroom 3: 2 Single beds
Bedroom 4: 4 Single beds

Additional beds:
1 cot
Seats:
Room for 8 in the dining area
Room for 8 in the living area
Bathrooms:
1 bathroom, 2 Separate WC's

Indoor facilities

Entertainment and IT:
CD player
Computer
DVD/Blu-ray player
Internet (WI-FI)
Radio
TV Languages in English, French, Local
Household:
Cooker
Crockery
Cutlery
Dishwasher
Fridge
Freezer
Glassware
Hair dryer
Iron / board
Kettle
Microwave
Oven
Pots / pans
Toaster
Towels / linen
Washing machine

Outdoor facilities

Swimming pool:
Private: Dimensions 8m x 4m, Depth 1.4m,
Other:
Balcony or terrace
Barbecue
Outside lighting
Parking

Suitability

Suitable for
Children

Sports and activities

Boat Hire
Climbing
Cycling
Fishing
Flying
Golf
Mountain Biking
Sailling
Skiing
Swimming
Tennis
Water Skiing
Walking
Wind Surfing

Sights and attractions

Historic Site
Local Food Market
Shopping

Prices and availability

Last updated 13.03.2015


...Unavailable
...Your booking
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £836.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
  • From £627.00 per week
Changeover days and minimum stays
Arrival date range Arrival and departure days Whole weeks only
4th July 2015 to 28th August 2015 Saturday Yes
4th July 2016 to 28th August 2016 Saturday Yes
4th July 2017 to 28th August 2017 Saturday Yes

Discounts and extras

If more then one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.


Discounts

Early Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made more than x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st March to 1st June 20 Weeks 10%
1st September to 31st October 20 Weeks 10%
Late Booking Discounts
Arrival date range Booking made less then x days/weeks/months before arrival Discount
1st March to 1st June 2 Weeks 20%
1st July to 31st August 1 Weeks 15%
1st September to 31st October 2 Weeks 20%

Extras

Optional extras
Description Arrival dates Booking length or occupancy Price
linen and towels All year Occupancy: per person £10.00 per person per booking

Paid with booking

Location

This is exact location

Nearby:
  • Nearest beach: 30km
  • Nearest bar: 0.1km
  • Nearest restaurant: 100m
  • Nearest ski lift: 90km
  • Nearest supermarket: 2km
  • Béziers Vias Airport: 55.5km
  • Montpellier Airport: 80km
  • toulouse airport: 120km
  • perpignan airport: 80km
  • montpellier airport: 40km
  • gerona: 120km

Reviews

36 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Cleanliness
Check in and Out
Communication
Area
Value for money
Facilities
35 out of 36 people recommend staying here
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 August 2014 with Family
The Ivy House is a large traditional village house in a charming Languedoc village. It is spacious-we particularly liked the large kitchen/living area on the ground floor, however, it could be a lot better. The first problem is there is no parking immediately by the house, which is not mentioned at all until you get into the house and read the information in the property. The frontage is a narrow street, and formal parking is at best several hundred metres away. In fact as we learnt one can park a short distance down Rue Pampario-this would be helpful information before arriving! There were nice touches though like a bottle of the local-very enjoyable-Chateau Oupia and a welcoming card waiting for us. The next problem was that after a long hot drive to get there and looking forwards to cooling off in the pool it was initially unusable as there was an algal bloom the pool was green and the water cloudy. We could not get mobile reception in the house to call the contact given to sort it out, and were too tired to get back in the car to drive around until we could. In fairness Malcolm -the contact- turned up the next afternoon, and not only set to clearing the pool but was a mine of helpful local information. We were able to use the (now heavily chlorinated) pool later on on the Sunday, and by the Tuesday it was blue again rather than green, but it never properly cleared so that the bottom of the pool could be seen before we left. There was a corner of the downstairs living area which was awash with cobwebs, hence with the pool the low cleanliness rating. Otherwise the property was clean. The washing machine, and dishwasher were extremely tired applianced on their last legs. They did work but required cajouling, and a couple of the doors on the kitchen units had loose hinges so did not close properly (I fixed them, the units were good quality and it distressed me that with a small effort they could be fixed rather than risk being damaged). This of course reads as a quite damning review, we would, however, both consider returning ourselves and recommend it to others as in the round it was an enjoyable place to spend a holiday, and with a little effort all of these niggles could have been fully addressed.
Verified
Stayed Monday 16 September 2013 with Family
We have recently returned from The Ivy House having spent a delightful and enjoyable holiday both in the house and the area which we know very well. The only issue really was the cleanliness of the bed linen. Perhaps it was an oversight but one of the single beds still had a soiled sheet on it. New fresh smelling pillows and covers for the duvets would be a very welcome addition and would add to the overall enjoyment of the holiday. We all enjoyed the pool and appreciated the amount of space available particularly with a young baby, although the stairs were a challenge when carrying her! Overall an enjoyable and relaxing stay at The Ivy House in Oupia!
Verified
Stayed Saturday 10 August 2013 with Family
We had a very enjoyable week at the Ivy House and the surrounding village of Oupia. The house itself was as advertised and was generally clean and tidy. For such a grand property, we felt that the furniture and finish were slightly disappointing this was most noticeable around the pool and patio area. The trim for the pool itself was peeling off and the bushes around the pool were in need of a good trim. The garden furniture (including sunloungers) were cheap plastic which was a shame. The pool itself was certainly clean and heated resulting in the kids having a great time. Inside the house, the open plan area downstairs is spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. We enjoyed the welcome pack and slept well in the evenings. We did have a slight gripe about the kids beds where the slats kept collapsing and waking them up. Not good with a 3 year old! We enjoyed the Mediterranean feel of the village and had fantastic weather for all 7 days. The locals are friendly and the house enjoys an excellent location from which to explore the region. We would certainly recommend this property and thank the owners for their hospitality.
Verified
Stayed Wednesday 29 May 2013
The House is comfortable for a family. You can find there anything you need for a usual way of life in a house in a small village. We could not use the pool because of the weather but sure its fine. Would highly recommend for people who prefer rural quiet holiday in picturesque surrounding isolated from city bustle.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 04 August 2012
Beautiful house and great swimming pool. Oupia is a lovely french village with nice neightbours. The house is well located, the swimming pool is in front of a wine field, it is very quiet. We have spent two weeks in this house and we would keep great memories.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 June 2012
The property was lovely, well furnished and very comfortable. Everything was clean and well ordered with a lovely welcome pack on arrival. Wifi and freesat television were bonus. The villa is situated in the heart of a typical old French rural village with narrow streets, totally lovely with very friendly locals, including the lady that runs the local epicerie. There is a lot to see and do in the local area although we didnt venture much further than the pool and the local shops. There are steep steps up to the first floor which could be tricky for little ones although this wasnt an issue for us or our children (aged 9 and 11). I would recommend this as good place to stay.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 02 June 2012
This property gave us a relaxing family holiday in a most attractive part of France. Oupia is charming and quiet and attractions like Carcassonne, Narbonne and Canal du Midi are very easy to reach. The property itself is well-equpped although some of the kitchen appliances are idiosyncratic - pointed out in the Villa instructions. As we had a toddler in the party, a key feature for us was a lockable gate to the outside pool. The only real problem with this property was that none of us wanted to go home.
Verified
Stayed Monday 12 September 2011
A lovely property in a delightful quiet setting but easy access to beaches. The children loved the pool and bikes provided. We especially appreciated the wof food after a long journeyelcome pack
Verified
Stayed Saturday 14 August 2010
A really good family holiday home in a wonderful part of France. The house is within easy reach of the beautiful south of France beaches. It is also close to some great river beaches. The house is well furnished and we found it very comfortable for our family of 5 to stay in. The linen and towels were of good quality. The full washing machine and dishwasher were very useful. The pool is such a bonus and excellent - our children loved it and had hours of fun playing in it. The welcome pack of food on arrival was great - thanks very much for such a thoughtful touch. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and have gone home very relaxed, many thanks.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 24 July 2010
A beauriful house with a light airy atmosphere on the ground floor and just the right combination of bedrooms for my needs. Lovely small garden and excellent well maintained swimming pool. I have spent many holidays in the Languedoc and this is the best house I have rented there. Thuis was my second stay in the Ivy House and I will probably try to book it again.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 19 July 2008
Great House well situated. Well equipped and great for the kids with loads of space. Parking is fun as quite tight but a fantastic stay - would recommned highly
Verified
Stayed Saturday 28 June 2008
Wonderful house with absolutely charming patios, garden and pool. Gorgeous June sunsets from the upstairs patio (outside the master bedroom) looking across the vinyard and rest of town. Simple, but very comfortable furnishings. Would be great for a family get together, though parking for more than one vehicle in nearby Pampario Place could be an issue. The town of Oupia is limited, but charming.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 23 June 2007
A lovely house with a beautiful clean pool that kept the children occupied. The house was well furnished and well cared for. It was ideally placed for restaurants and sightseeing. We are planning to return next year
Verified
Stayed Saturday 16 June 2007
Very good facilities and in a great location
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 September 2006
A lovely house - bigger than expected with a beautiful clean pool. Slightly difficult to access if you get upgraded to a people carrier (thanks car hire people!!) Very handy for all local beaches, shops, history etc. Sadly bad weather did mean we missed having a tumble drier BUT the house had all the other mod cons we needed . Would visit again - really nice holiday dispite the weather.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 12 August 2006
Great location, great house, parking not the best but worked out ok Weather poor during our week but plenty to do locally made up for it - also nice touch supplying 2 x mountain bikes Great Pool but would need more sun beds / umbrellas if really sunny Recommended
Verified
Stayed Sunday 23 July 2006
This was a delightful area of france. The property was comfortable, well maintained and we made good use of the pool. The cookery books were an added extra
Verified
Stayed Saturday 10 June 2006
We enjoyed our holiday at the Ivy House. The pool was perfect for the children. The house was spacoius, clean and well maintained. There is lots to do in the surrounding area
Verified
Stayed Saturday 22 October 2005
Lovely setting, with spacious accomodation. A taste of real france. Appreciated the cot and high chair. Looking forward to returning again next year
Verified
Stayed Thursday 08 September 2005
lovely setting, great pool, clean and well furnished
Verified
Stayed Saturday 06 August 2005
Ivy House is in a most charming small sleepy French village. The house itself is simply furnished but well equiped and very spacious. There was everything we needed for a holiday home, together with some nice touches including books, dvds and sky tv. The garden was ideal for us as the swimming pool was near to the house and securely positioned behind a gate. The small courtyard garden was thoughfully planted with lavender, passion flower and rosemary. We had a lovely stay at Ivy House and would definitely recommend it to friends. Thank you.
Verified
Stayed Saturday 23 July 2005
A relaxing holiday with great facilities and pool
Verified
Stayed Saturday 09 July 2005
Excellent value for money, far better then I could have imagined.
Verified
We had a magical time at the Ivy House. My only hesitation in writing this review is that it will harded to find availability in the future or the rpice will go up! A stunning little village, fantastic pool and clean, comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. There is nothing not to like. Having quite good local wine on your stine patio overlooking the vineyards we will never forget. My children are already talking about going back to The Ivy House. Thanks,
Verified
Hello, We got to this house on the 11th of July after delaying by 1 day. We had selec ted this property above other properties as it said there was internet wifi available. On arriving I checked it and there was no access to the internet. Lisa called around and we mentioned it to her. We mentioned the fact that there was no shower head in the third floor, but that she had 3 days to get that sorted out. as one of the couples in our group were not due out until Friday the 15th. Lisa told us that the last renters pulled the phone socket off the wall and I said Id check that as I am an IT technician. I checked the line and it seemed to be screwed in to the correct points. We logged into the router on Friday and discovered that the internet hadnt connected since the 31st of March. The router console had a message saying that the line was working correctly and that we should contact Orange. Anyway eventually Lisa sorted out the internet after we were there for a week. Other problems we spotted with the house were: 1. Some of the sockets came away from the walls, one time my daughter was playing on the bed and I turned adound and she has the socket in her hand, very dangerous. They were only fixed to the walls with one tiny screw which was screwed directly into the plasterboard i.e. no fixings 2. The oven wasnt working right. It took us over 1 hour and 20 minutes to cook oven chips, this should only have taken 25 mins. 3. The dishwasher basket has holes in the bottom of it and so forks and knives go straight through and dont allow the rinser head to spin around, we were caught out a couple of times on this one and had to wash some loads of dishes more than once 4.The kitchen floor was dirty as we witnessed with our kids whose clothes were black after crawling around for a while. 5. The garden could do with a bit of maintenance as some of the plants are overgrown. 6. The house was not child safe at all with a narrow stairs, steps everywhere and questionnable electrical wiring In fairness the shower head was replaced a week after our booking had started! Thats all I have to say on this.
Verified
Great location, great house and well kitted out. But the beds were awful Ikea ones which had been broken making the slats slip in the night. This regularly woke members of our group. In addition to this all the pillows were dirty and smelt awful.
Owner reply:

Sorry about the bed problem, but we did have them repaired and the pillows replaced during your stay

Verified
We have visited the Ivy 3 times now for our summer holidays. The house is always well equiped for families, the pool is wonderful, and if you need to contact the owner for anything he is most helpful. I would request that if quests notice anything that is damaged or needs fixing that they do tell the owner as he will send someone round almost immediately to fix it. I am sure we will be visiting the Ivy in the future. We had a great holiday.
Verified
A spacious well-equipped house with a delightful garden/terrace and swimming pool. One of the best I have rented in this area
Verified
A beautiful property in a beautiful, quiet & tranquil area.
Verified
Beautiful gite with a fabulous pool and outside area. The upstairs dorm was a bonus with an additional shower room, which was very useful. The welcome pack left by the owners was also very thoughtful and much appreciated after a long trip to get there! We will recommend you to friends. Only negative is I think the price could be reduced slightly and also towels should be included in the overall cost.
Verified
This was a lovely house with a good pool and we had an excellent holiday. It was well equipped and maintained and very comfortable and the neighbours were very friendly. The village is beautiful and there are some excellent walks around the hills. The village restaurant was good too - but we were the only customers on both occasions. The only thing the house lacked was a visitors book, with suggestions and recommendations about places to visit/ restaurants etc and those to avoid.
Verified
Very nice home in excellent condition, clean and well equipped. Well located in a nice quiet village. On our arrival we were pleased to find a bottle of wine from the local chateau, fresh bread and cheese among other nice touches. We love cooking and the kitchen was sufficiently equipped to prepare meals. The pantry was well stocked with oils, vinegars, spices and herbs. Overall everything worked well and we were very pleaed with our stay.
Verified
Fabulous property in a great location. The property was immaculate throughout & well maintained. Great wether and plenty of good local wine completed the experience !
Verified
Very nice location in the small town of Oupia. The town people were friendly and the restaurants near by were quite good.. We really had a nice time and would recommend Ivey House to all...
Verified
We had a lovely holiday in the Ivy House. The house is in excellent condition and comfortably furnished. The garden is more of a terrace, although it is very attractive and safe for children. The pool is lovely, well maintained and again, locked by key, so very safe. The house is extremely private, rural and very quiet, despite being in a village. The village is very pleasant and well located for the nearby sites and interesting towns. A wardrobe is needed in the twin room and the top room is quite bare but we didn't need it. It could use a shaded outside area, and a couple of comfortable chairs for the balcony to take in the wonderful views. We would definitely recommend the house and felt it represented good value for money.
Verified
Booked at the very last minute and was so happy with the result, great house, very spacious.... The pool was perfect for the kids, kept them busy all day...... Down stairs toilet needs a bit of work, damp rising other than that no complaints
2 other reviews
This is a fantastic renovation, in a beautiful village surrounded by friendly locals (and a few Brits!). The external/internal presentation is only let down by inadequate and cheapy furnishings (Ikea at a guess) that have in many cases seen better days......the sunbeds are deplorable and mostly unserviceable and as you want to relax and lie down by the pool this does restrict your comfort quite a bit, there were no sunbed cushions and to use the BBQ you have to be the child of a dwarf!! In summary, for the cost of this gite, it lacked finesse. Great places around - restaurants, sites, vineayrds etc!
Owner reply:

I am sorry that you found the furniture handmade by my uncle per ikea from stockholm cheapy.

I have also replaced the three sunloungers broken by previous guests. If you had let me know thay were broken.........

The house is spacious and tastefully decorated and has a lovely pool. It is in a great location in the heart of the village.

Owner

About the owner
We bought the IvyHouse in 2005 as we had grown to love the area from previous family holidays. We aim to provide a personal service and our local agents are available by phone to sort out any problems you encounter during your stay
Owner score 1739
Calendar updated: 16 days ago
Last logged in: 14 days ago
Located in: United Kingdom
Joined: May 2005